Pennsylvania Station, also known as New York Penn Station or Penn Station, is the main intercity railroad station in New York City and the busiest in the Western Hemisphere, serving more than 630,000 passengers per weekday as of 2018. Penn Station is in Midtown Manhattan, close to Herald Square, the Empire State Building, Koreatown, and Macy's Herald Square. Entirely underground, the station is located in Midtown South beneath Madison Square Garden, between Seventh and Eighth Avenues and between 31st and 33rd Streets, with additional exits to nearby streets.
The Neue Galerie New York (German for: "New Gallery") is a museum of early twentieth-century German and Austrian art and design located in the William Starr Miller House at 86th Street and Fifth Avenue in New York City. Established in 2001, it is one of the most recent additions to New York City's famed Museum Mile, which runs from 83rd to 105th streets on Fifth Avenue in the Upper East Side of Manhattan.
The Rubin Museum of Art is a museum dedicated to the collection, display, and preservation of the art and cultures of the Himalayas, India and neighboring regions, with a permanent collection focused particularly on Tibetan art. It is located at 150 West 17th Street between the Avenue of the Americas (Sixth Avenue) and Seventh Avenue in the Chelsea neighborhood of Manhattan in New York City.
Herald Square is formed by the intersection of Broadway, Sixth Avenue (officially named Avenue of the Americas), and 34th Street in the borough of Manhattan in New York City. Named for the New York Herald, a now-defunct newspaper formerly headquartered there, it also gives its name to the surrounding area. The intersection is a typical Manhattan bow-tie square that consists of two named sections: Herald Square to the north (uptown) and Greeley Square to the south (downtown).
Union Square is a historic intersection and surrounding neighborhood in Manhattan, New York City, located where Broadway and the former Bowery Road – now Fourth Avenue – came together in the early 19th century; its name denotes that "here was the union of the two principal thoroughfares of the island". The current Union Square Park is bounded by 14th Street on the south, Union Square West on the west side, 17th Street on the north, and on the east Union Square East, which links together Broadway and Park Avenue South to Fourth Avenue and the continuation of Broadway. The park is under the aegis of the New York City Department of Parks and Recreation.
The Chelsea Art Museum (CAM) was a contemporary art museum located at 556 West 22nd Street on the corner of Eleventh Avenue in the Chelsea neighborhood of Manhattan, New York City.
The Metropolitan Museum of Art of New York City, colloquially "the Met", is the largest art museum in the United States. With 7.3 million visitors to its three locations in 2016, it was the fourth most visited art museum in the world, and the fifth most visited museum of any kind. Its permanent collection contains over two million works, divided among seventeen curatorial departments. The main building, on the eastern edge of Central Park along Museum Mile in Manhattan's Upper East Side is by area one of the world's largest art galleries. A much smaller second location, The Cloisters at Fort Tryon Park in Upper Manhattan, contains an extensive collection of art, architecture, and artifacts from Medieval Europe. On March 18, 2016, the museum opened the Met Breuer museum at Madison Avenue on the Upper East Side; it extends the museum's modern and contemporary art program.
Central Park is an urban park in Manhattan, New York City. It is located between the Upper West Side and Upper East Side, roughly bounded by Fifth Avenue on the east, Central Park West (Eighth Avenue) on the west, Central Park South (59th Street) on the south, and Central Park North (110th Street) on the north. Central Park is the most visited urban park in the United States, with 40 million visitors in 2013, and one of the most filmed locations in the world. In terms of area, Central Park is the fifth largest park in New York City, covering 843 acres (341 ha).
Barnard College is a private women's liberal arts college located in Manhattan, New York City. Founded in 1889 by Annie Nathan Meyer, who named it after Columbia University's 10th president, Frederick Barnard, it is one of the oldest women's colleges in the world. The acceptance rate of the Class of 2023 was 11.3%, the most selective and diverse class in the college's 129-year history.
The Vivian Beaumont Theater is a Broadway theater located in the Lincoln Center for the Performing Arts complex at 150 West 65th Street on the Upper West Side of Manhattan. It is New York City's only Broadway-class theater (thus making its productions eligible for the Tony Awards) that is not located in the Theater District near Times Square. The building was one of the last structures designed by Finnish-born mid-century architect Eero Saarinen, and is currently the home of Lincoln Center Theater.
The Zeckendorf Towers building, sometimes also called One Irving Place and One Union Square East, is an 89 m-tall (292 ft), 29-story, four-towered condominium enclave on the eastern side of Union Square, Manhattan, in New York City. Completed in 1987, the building is located on the former site of the bargain-priced department store S. Klein. Designed by architectural firm Davis, Brody & Associates, and named in honor of prominent American real estate developer William Zeckendorf, it was one of New York City's most important development projects of the 1980s.
The Metropolitan Opera House (also known as The Met) is an opera house located on Broadway at Lincoln Square on the Upper West Side of Manhattan in New York City. Part of Lincoln Center for the Performing Arts, the theater was designed by Wallace K. Harrison. It opened in 1966, replacing the original 1883 Metropolitan Opera House at Broadway and 39th Street. With a seating capacity of approximately 3,800, the house is the largest repertory opera house in the world. Home to the Metropolitan Opera Company, the facility also hosts the American Ballet Theatre in the summer months.
The Meatpacking District is a neighborhood in the New York City borough of Manhattan that runs roughly from West 14th Street south to Gansevoort Street, and from the Hudson River east to Hudson Street. The Meatpacking Business Improvement District extends further north to West 17th Street, east to Eighth Avenue, and south to Horatio Street.
500 Fifth Avenue, located between West 42nd and 43rd Streets in Midtown Manhattan, New York City, is a 60-floor, 697-foot (213 m), 659,132 sq ft office tower built from 1929 to 1931 and designed by the firm of Shreve, Lamb & Harmon in the Art Deco style. Constructed for Walter J. Salmon, Sr., it is adjacent to Bryant Park and the Salmon Tower Building, also built for Salmon.
Upper Manhattan denotes the most northern region of the New York City Borough of Manhattan. Its southern boundary has been variously defined, but 96th Street, the northern boundary of Central Park at 110th Street, 125th Street or 155th Street are some common usages.
The New York Stock Exchange (NYSE, nicknamed "The Big Board") is an American stock exchange located at 11 Wall Street, Lower Manhattan, New York City, New York. It is by far the world's largest stock exchange by market capitalization of its listed companies at US$30.1 trillion as of February 2018. The average daily trading value was approximately US$169 billion in 2013. The NYSE trading floor is located at 11 Wall Street and is composed of 21 rooms used for the facilitation of trading. A fifth trading room, located at 30 Broad Street, was closed in February 2007. The main building and the 11 Wall Street building were designated National Historic Landmarks in 1978.
Columbia Business School (CBS) is the business school of Columbia University in the City of New York in Manhattan, New York City. Established in 1916, Columbia Business School is one of the oldest business schools in the world. It is one of six Ivy League business schools, and has been referred to as among the most selective of top business schools.
3 World Trade Center (also known as 175 Greenwich Street) is a skyscraper constructed as part of the rebuilding of the World Trade Center in Lower Manhattan, New York City. The tower is located on the east side of Greenwich Street, on the eastern side of the World Trade Center site.
The Battery (formerly known as Battery Park) is a 25-acre (10 ha) public park located at the southern tip of Manhattan Island in New York City facing New York Harbor. It is bounded by Battery Place on the north, State Street on the east, New York Harbor to the south, and the Hudson River to the west. The park contains attractions such as an old fort named Castle Clinton; multiple monuments; and the SeaGlass Carousel. The surrounding area, known as South Ferry, contains multiple ferry terminals, including the Staten Island Ferry's Whitehall Terminal as well as boat launches to the Statue of Liberty National Monument.
The St. Nicholas Greek Orthodox Church (officially the St. Nicholas Greek Orthodox Church and National Shrine) is a church under construction as part of the World Trade Center in Manhattan, New York City. The church is being developed by the Port Authority of New York and New Jersey, and was designed by Spanish architect Santiago Calatrava. Originally scheduled to be completed in 2017, the church's construction was later stalled.
One Wall Street (originally the Irving Trust Company Building, then the Bank of New York Building after 1988, and now known as the BNY Mellon Building since 2007), is an Art-Deco-style skyscraper in Lower Manhattan, New York City. It is located in Manhattan's Financial District on the corner of Wall Street and Broadway. At 654 feet (199 m) tall, it is the 88th tallest building in New York. Up until September 30, 2015, it served as the global headquarters of The Bank of New York Mellon Corporation. In May, 2014, the bank sold the building to a joint venture led by Harry B. Macklowe's Macklowe Properties for $585 million.
The American Museum of Natural History (abbreviated as AMNH), located on the Upper West Side of Manhattan, New York City, is one of the largest natural history museums in the world. Located in Theodore Roosevelt Park across the street from Central Park, the museum complex comprises 28 interconnected buildings housing 45 permanent exhibition halls, in addition to a planetarium and a library. The museum collections contain over 33 million specimens of plants, animals, fossils, minerals, rocks, meteorites, human remains, and human cultural artifacts, of which only a small fraction can be displayed at any given time, and occupies more than 2 million square feet (0.19×106 m2). The museum has a full-time scientific staff of 225, sponsors over 120 special field expeditions each year, and averages about five million visits annually.
The New York Yacht Club is a private social club and yacht club based in New York City and Newport, Rhode Island. It was founded in 1844 by nine prominent sportsmen. The members have contributed to the sport of yachting and yacht design. As of 2001, the organization was reported to have about 3,000 members. Membership in the club is by invitation only. Its officers include a Commodore, vice-commodore, rear-commodore, secretary and treasurer.
The Austrian Cultural Forum New York is one of Austria’s two cultural representation offices in the United States; the other is in Washington, D.C. It is part of the worldwide network of Austrian Cultural Forums of the Austrian Federal Ministry for European and International Affairs.
The AXA Equitable Center (originally The Equitable Tower or Equitable Center West) is an American 752-foot (229.3 m)-tall skyscraper, located at 787 Seventh Avenue between 51st and 52nd Streets in Manhattan, New York City.
Westfield World Trade Center is a shopping center at the World Trade Center complex in Manhattan, New York, that is operated and managed by Unibail-Rodamco-Westfield. The mall opened on August 16, 2016 as the largest shopping complex in Manhattan, with 125 retail spaces. It replaces the Mall at the World Trade Center, the underground shopping mall under the original World Trade Center, which was destroyed on September 11, 2001.
African Burial Ground National Monument is a monument at Duane Street and African Burial Ground Way (Elk Street) in the Civic Center section of Lower Manhattan, New York City. Its main building is the Ted Weiss Federal Building at 290 Broadway. The site contains the remains of more than 419 Africans buried during the late 17th and 18th centuries in a portion of what was the largest colonial-era cemetery for people of African descent, some free, most enslaved. Historians estimate there may have been as many as 10,000–20,000 burials in what was called the "Negroes Burial Ground" in the 1700s. The five to six acre site's excavation and study was called "the most important historic urban archaeological project in the United States." The Burial Ground site is New York's earliest known African-American "cemetery"; studies show an estimated 15,000 African American people were buried here.
The University Settlement Society of New York is an American organization which provides educational and social services to immigrants and low-income families, located at 184 Eldridge Street (corner of Eldridge and Rivington Streets) on the Lower East Side of the Manhattan borough of New York City, New York. It provides numerous services for the mostly immigrant population of the neighborhood and has since 1886, when it was established as the first settlement house in the United States.
The Citigroup Center (formerly Citicorp Center and now known by its address, 601 Lexington Avenue) is an office tower in New York City, located at 53rd Street between Lexington Avenue and Third Avenue in midtown Manhattan. It was built in 1977 to house the headquarters of Citibank. It is 915 feet (279 m) tall, and has 59 floors with 1.3 million square feet (120,000 m²) of office space.
The Upper West Side, sometimes abbreviated UWS, is a neighborhood in the borough of Manhattan, New York City, bounded by Central Park and the Hudson River, and West 59th Street and West 110th Street.
The Church of the Transfiguration, also known as the Little Church Around the Corner, is an Episcopal parish church located at 1 East 29th Street, between Madison and Fifth Avenues in the NoMad neighborhood of Manhattan, New York City. The congregation was founded in 1848 by George Hendric Houghton and worshiped in a home at 48 East 29th Street until the church was built and consecrated in 1849.
The Upper East Side is a neighborhood in the borough of Manhattan in New York City, between Central Park/Fifth Avenue, 59th Street, the East River, and 96th Street. The area incorporates several smaller neighborhoods, including Lenox Hill, Carnegie Hill, and Yorkville. Once known as the Silk Stocking District, it is now one of the most affluent neighborhoods in New York City.
SoHo, sometimes written Soho, is a neighborhood in Lower Manhattan, New York City, which in recent history came to the public's attention for being the location of many artists' lofts and art galleries, but is now better known for its variety of shops ranging from trendy upscale boutiques to national and international chain store outlets. The area's history is an archetypal example of inner-city regeneration and gentrification, encompassing socioeconomic, cultural, political, and architectural developments.
The MetLife Building is a 59-story skyscraper at 200 Park Avenue at East 45th Street above Grand Central Terminal in Midtown Manhattan, New York City. Built in 1960–63 as the Pan Am Building, the then-headquarters of Pan American World Airways, it was designed by Emery Roth & Sons, Pietro Belluschi and Walter Gropius in the International style. The world's largest commercial office space by square footage at its opening, it remains one of the 100 tallest buildings in the United States.
The American Surety Building is a historic skyscraper located at 100 Broadway, New York City, New York, opposite Trinity Church. It has been declared a landmark as one of Manhattan's most influential early skyscrapers.
Americas Tower, also known as 1177 Avenue of the Americas, is a 50-story, 692-foot (211 m) skyscraper in Midtown Manhattan, New York City, standing at West 45th Street. It is the 70th tallest building in New York.
Serendipity 3, often written Serendipity III, is a restaurant located at 225 East 60th Street, between Second and Third avenues in New York City, founded by Stephen Bruce in 1954. The restaurant has been the scene of several films, including the 2001 romantic comedy Serendipity.
The Solow Building, located at 9 West 57th Street, is a Manhattan skyscraper built in 1974 and designed by Gordon Bunshaft of Skidmore, Owings and Merrill. It is located just west of Fifth Avenue between the 57th and 58th Street, next to the Bergdorf Goodman department store and the Plaza Hotel.
The International Center of Photography (ICP) in Manhattan, New York City, consists of a museum for photography and visual culture at 250 Bowery and a photography school in Midtown Manhattan. It was founded in 1974.
Christopher Street–Sheridan Square is a local station on the IRT Broadway–Seventh Avenue Line of the New York City Subway. Located at the intersection of Christopher Street and Seventh Avenue South in Manhattan, it is served by the 1 train at all times, and by the 2 train during late nights.
The Whitney Museum of American Art, known informally as the "Whitney", is an art museum in Manhattan. It was founded in 1930 by Gertrude Vanderbilt Whitney (1875–1942), a wealthy and prominent American socialite and art patron after whom it is named.
City Hall is a local station on the BMT Broadway Line of the New York City Subway in Tribeca and Civic Center, Manhattan. It is served by the R train at all times except late nights, when the N train takes over service. The W train also serves this station on weekdays.
145th Street is a local station on the IRT Broadway–Seventh Avenue Line of the New York City Subway. Located at the intersection of Broadway and 145th Street in Harlem and Hamilton Heights, Manhattan, it is served by the 1 train at all times.
The Village Vanguard is a jazz club at Seventh Avenue South in Greenwich Village, New York City. The club was opened on February 22, 1935, by Max Gordon. At first, the club presented folk music and beat poetry, but it became a jazz venue in 1957.
30 Rockefeller Plaza is an American Art Deco skyscraper that forms the centerpiece of Rockefeller Center in Midtown Manhattan, New York City. Formerly called the RCA Building from 1933 to 1988, and later the GE Building from 1988 to 2015, it was renamed the Comcast Building in 2015, following the transfer of ownership to new corporate owner Comcast. Its name is often shortened to 30 Rock.
The Frick Collection is an art museum located in the Henry Clay Frick House on the Upper East Side in Manhattan, New York City at 1 East 70th Street, at the northeast corner with Fifth Avenue. It houses the collection of industrialist Henry Clay Frick (1849–1919).
The W. R. Grace Building is a skyscraper in Manhattan, New York City. The building was designed principally by Gordon Bunshaft, and completed in 1974. The building was commissioned by the W.R. Grace Company, and was also used by the Deloitte & Touche, LLP.
The Art of This Century gallery was opened by Peggy Guggenheim at 30 West 57th Street in Manhattan, New York City on October 20, 1942. The gallery occupied two commercial spaces on the seventh floor of a building that was part of the midtown arts district including the Museum of Modern Art, the Museum of Non-Objective Painting, Helena Rubinstein's New Art Center, and numerous commercial galleries. The gallery exhibited important modern art until it closed in 1947, when Guggenheim returned to Europe. The gallery was designed by architect, artist, and visionary Frederick Kiesler.
26 Broadway, also known as the Standard Oil Building, is a 31-story, 520-foot-tall (160 m) landmarked office building located at Bowling Green in the Financial District of New York City. As of 2017, the structure is the 220th tallest building in New York City and the 650th tallest building in the United States. 26 Broadway was also the home address in the late 18th century of Alexander Hamilton, his wife Elizabeth Schuyler Hamilton, and their family.
Trump World Tower is a residential condominium in Midtown Manhattan, New York City. The building was developed by Donald Trump and opened in 2001. The tower is located at 845 United Nations Plaza (First Avenue between 47th and 48th Streets, Manhattan). Construction began in 1999 and concluded in 2001.
The Columbia University Graduate School of Journalism is the journalism school of Columbia University. It is located in Pulitzer Hall on Columbia's Morningside Heights campus in New York City.
Tibet House US, based in New York city is a cultural center of the Dalai Lama and was founded in 1987 by Columbia University professor Robert Thurman, actor Richard Gere and modern composer Philip Glass (among others) at the behest of the 14th Dalai Lama, Tenzin Gyatso. It was initially organized in New York City, USA, and the Tibet House US is still based there. Their current address is 22 West 15th Street, New York, NY 10011, on the 2nd floor.
Theodore Roosevelt Birthplace National Historic Site is a recreated brownstone at 28 East 20th Street, between Broadway and Park Avenue South, in the Flatiron District of Manhattan, New York City.
Steinway Hall (German: Steinway-Haus) is the name of buildings housing concert halls, showrooms and sales departments for Steinway & Sons pianos. The first Steinway Hall was opened in 1866 in New York City. Today, Steinway Halls and Steinway-Häuser are located in cities such as New York City, London, Berlin, and Vienna.
28 Liberty Street, formerly known as One Chase Manhattan Plaza, is a banking skyscraper located in the downtown Manhattan Financial District of New York City, between Pine, Liberty, Nassau, and William Streets. Construction on the building was completed in 1961. It has 60 floors, with 5 basement floors, and is 813 feet (248 m) tall, making it the 26th tallest building in New York City, the 43rd tallest in the United States, and the 200th tallest building in the world.
Bohemian National Hall (Czech: Česká národní budova) is a five-story building at 321 East 73d Street on the Upper East Side, Manhattan. The building was built between 1895 and 1897 in neo-Renaissance style by architect William C. Frohne. It was a Czech American social and culture center in New York City. From the late 1930s to the 1980s it was rented out to various organizations, including the Manhattan Theater Club, which began there. In 1994 the New York City Landmarks Preservation Commission named it a landmark.
International House New York, also known as I-House, is a private, non-profit residence and program center for graduate students, scholars engaging in research, trainees and interns. I-House's 700 resident members live in a diverse residential community that promotes mutual respect, friendship, and leadership skills across cultures and fields of study. Informal daily interaction among its residents combine with specially designed programs, facilities and residential life to foster diversity of thought and experience. International House has been known to attract prominent guest speakers through the years, from Eleanor Roosevelt and Isaac Stern to Sandra Day O'Connor and Nelson Mandela.
The Langham, New York, Fifth Avenue, or The Langham, New York, is a luxury suite hotel and skyscraper located in New York City operated by Langham Hospitality Group. It was constructed in 2010 as The Setai Fifth Avenue and took on its current name in 2013. In 2014, the 33% of the hotel was bought by Melendez International Hotels, a subsidiary of Melendez Global Inc. The tower is located at 400 Fifth Avenue in Midtown Manhattan, in close proximity to Times Square and Grand Central Terminal. It is tied with 10 East 40th Street as the 104th tallest building in New York. 400 Fifth Avenue was constructed using limestone in the 11-floor base in a somewhat art deco style. Floors five through 27 contain 234 hotel rooms.
The Red House is a 1903 apartment building on Manhattan's Upper West Side in New York City. It was built on land owned by Canadian architect R. Thomas Short of the Beaux-Arts firm, Harde & Short. He and his firm designed and built the building in a free eclectic mix of French late Gothic and English Renaissance motifs, using red brick and limestone with bold black-painted mullions in the fenestration. The center is recessed, behind a triple-arched screen.
Lincoln Correctional Facility is a minimum-security men's prison located at 31–33 West 110th Street in Manhattan, facing the north side of Central Park. Since 1991 it has been used primarily as a work-release center for drug offenders; however, around 5% of the roughly 275 inmates it houses are white collar criminals.
461 Fifth Avenue at 40th street is a 28-story skyscraper located in the Grand Central Terminal area of the Midtown Manhattan section of New York City. The building was constructed in 1988 by the Mitsui Fudosan development group and designed by Skidmore, Owings & Merrill.
Gramercy Park () is the name of both a small, fenced-in private park and the surrounding neighborhood that is referred to also as Gramercy, in the New York City borough of Manhattan in New York, United States.
The Four Seasons Hotel New York Downtown, also known as 30 Park Place, is a hotel and residential skyscraper in Tribeca, Manhattan, New York City. At 926 feet, the property is the tallest residential building downtown, offering residents panoramic views of the Midtown skyline and New York Harbor. The top floors of the 82-story building, known as the Four Seasons Private Residences New York Downtown, have 157 residences, ranging from one to six bedrooms, all reached through a dedicated residential lobby at 30 Park Place. Below is a 189-room Four Seasons Hotel, with its own lobby on Barclay Street, which opened in September 2016.
The Grand Hotel is located at 1232–1238 Broadway at the corner of West 31st Street in the NoMad neighbourhood of Manhattan, New York City. It was built in 1868 and was designed by Henry Engelbert in the Second Empire style. Englebert designed the hotel for Elias S. Higgins, a prosperous carpet manufacturer and merchant, who had also utilized Engelbert's services to put up a marble-fronted warehouse on White Street near Broadway, and would go on to employ him to design the Grand Central (later Broadway Central) Hotel as well.
The Central Park Zoo is a small 6.5-acre (2.6 ha) zoo located in Central Park in New York City. It is part of an integrated system of four zoos and the New York Aquarium managed by the Wildlife Conservation Society (WCS), and is accredited by the Association of Zoos and Aquariums.
The Old New York County Courthouse at 52 Chambers Street in Manhattan, New York City, more commonly known as the Tweed Courthouse, was built in Italianate style with Romanesque Revival interiors, using funds provided by the corrupt William M. "Boss" Tweed, whose Tammany Hall political machine controlled the city and state governments at the time.
The Civic Club building, now the New York Estonian House (Estonian: New Yorgi Eesti Maja), is a 4-story Beaux-Arts building located at 243 East 34th Street between Second and Third Avenues in the Murray Hill neighborhood of Manhattan, New York City.
The Harlem YMCA is located at 180 West 135th Street between Lenox Avenue and Adam Clayton Powell Jr. Boulevard in the Harlem neighborhood of Manhattan, New York City. Built in 1931-32, the red-brown brick building with neo-Georgian details was designed by the Architectural Bureau of the National Council of the YMCA, with James C. Mackenzie, Jr. as the architect in charge. It replaced the building from 1919 across the street. Inside the building is a mural by Aaron Douglas titled "Evolution of Negro Dance." The building was declared a National Historic Landmark in 1976, and was designated a New York City Landmark in 1998.
The James A. Burden House is a former residence located at 7 East 91st Street in the Carnegie Hill area of New York City. Today, the lower school of the Convent of the Sacred Heart is located there.
The Kitchen, Montross & Wilcox Store at 85 Leonard Street between Broadway and Church Street in the TriBeCa neighborhood of Manhattan, New York City was built in 1861 in the Italianate style for a company which dealt in dry goods. The cast iron for the building's facade came from James Bogardus' ironworks, one of the few surviving buildings for which that is the case. The building's columns are referred to as "sperm-candle style" from their resemblance to candles made from spermaceti.
Korean Methodist Church and Institute (뉴욕한인교회), also known as KMCI, is a United Methodist Church established in 1921 located in New York City. The church is located at 633 West 115th Street.
Salumeria Rosi Parmacotto is an Italian restaurant located at 903 Madison Avenue (between East 72nd Street and East 73rd Street), on the Upper East Side in Manhattan, in New York City. It opened in September 2012.
Columbia University has an extensive tunnel system connecting most buildings on campus and acting as conduits for steam, electricity, telecommunications, and other infrastructure. The oldest tunnels are from the mental asylum that existed before the Morningside Campus was built. These tunnels are small and extremely hot, and they connect to Buell/La Maison Française, the one building remaining from the asylum. The steam tunnel system between Hamilton, Kent, Philosophy, and Fayerweather connects to these old tunnels.
David Geffen Hall is a concert hall in New York City's Lincoln Center for the Performing Arts complex on Manhattan's Upper West Side. The 2,738 seat auditorium opened in 1962, and is the home of the New York Philharmonic.
14 Wall Street, originally the Bankers Trust Company Building, is a skyscraper at 14 Wall Street at the corner of Nassau Street and running through to Pine Street in the Financial District of Manhattan in New York City. It sits across Nassau Street from Federal Hall National Memorial, across Wall Street from the New York Stock Exchange and diagonally across from the original headquarters of J. P. Morgan & Company. It was built in 1910-12 and was designed by Trowbridge & Livingston in the neoclassical style as the headquarters for Bankers Trust. An addition with Art Deco detailing, designed by Shreve, Lamb & Harmon, was constructed in 1931-33. The stepped pyramid at the building's top is a noted part of the downtown skyline, and became the logo for Bankers Trust, which sold the building in 1937.
The Barclay Tower is a skyscraper located in the Tribeca neighborhood of Lower Manhattan, New York City. The residential building rises 673 feet (205 m) above street level, containing 56 floors and 441 rental units. It is tied with One Grand Central Place as the 81st tallest building in New York. Construction of the building lasted from 2005 to 2007, with the topping out ceremony happening in Fall 2006.
Battery Park City is a mainly residential 92-acre (37 ha) planned community on the west side of the southern tip of the island of Manhattan in New York City. It is bounded by the Hudson River on the west, the Hudson River shoreline on the north and south, and the West Side Highway on the east.
Kossar's Bialys (Kossar's Bialystoker Kuchen Bakery) located at 367 Grand Street (and Essex Street), on the Lower East Side in Manhattan, New York City, is the oldest bialy bakery in the United States.
The L.P. Hollander Company Building is located at 3 East 57th Street, New York City. The edifice received the 1930 gold medal of the Fifth Avenue Association for the best structure built in the Fifth Avenue district during the year. The L.P. Hollander Company Building was erected prior to the Empire State Building and 500 Fifth Avenue, which were judged for the year 1931. The Empire State Building and the Lilly Dache Building were designed by William F. Lamb of Shreve, Lamb & Harmon, architects, who was responsible for planning the L.P. Hollander Building. The Hollander Building was built by Starrett Brothers & Eken.
La Côte Basque was a New York City restaurant. It opened in the late 1950s and operated until it closed on March 7, 2004. In business for 45 years, upon its closing The New York Times called it a "former high-society temple of French cuisine at 60 West 55th Street."
Lion's Den was a music club located at 214 Sullivan Street, between Bleecker Street and West 3rd Street, in the Greenwich Village section of Manhattan in New York City. It opened in 1990 and closed in December 2007.
Rehs Galleries is an art gallery on 57th Street, Manhattan, New York City. It displays works by 19th century European Barbizon, Realist, Naturalist and Academic works of art with some Impressionism and Post-Impressionism. Mid-20th-century American artists such as Ilya Bolotowsky and Ugo Giannini are represented along with a number of contemporary artists.
The SideWalk Cafe is a music venue and restaurant/cafe in East Village, New York City founded in 1985. It has become a known venue for its underground music scene, and in particular, is known as being the center for Anti-folk in the United States. It offers an eclectic mix of local and national acts ranging from DIY, avant garde music, indie rock, and jazz to pop music and electronic music. The venue also plays host to poetry readings, comedy and live-band karaoke. The New York Times referred to the SideWalk Cafe and its music scene as a "gift to the neighborhood".
The Columbia University School of Social Work is affiliated with Columbia University as one of its graduate schools and began awarding the Master of Science (MS) degree since 1940. With an enrollment of over 900, it is one of the largest social work programs in the United States. It is also the nation’s oldest, with roots extending back to 1898, when the New York Charity Organization Society’s first summer course was announced in The New York Times. The combination of its age and size has led to the School becoming a repository for much of the reference literature in the social work field.
The Columbia University School of the Arts, also known simply as the School of the Arts or as SoA, is the graduate school of the university that offers programs in the fine arts. It offers the Master of Fine Arts (MFA) degrees in Film, Visual Arts, Theatre and Writing, as well as the Master of Arts (MA) degree in Film Studies. It works closely with the Arts Initiative at Columbia University (CUArts) and organizes the Columbia University Film Festival. Founded in 1948, the school is located in Morningside Heights, New York.
The Church of the Sacred Hearts of Jesus and Mary was a former Roman Catholic parish church, primarily serving Italian-Americans, that has been demolished. The church was located on 309-315 East 33rd Street, in the Kips Bay area of Manhattan. It has since been replaced by a chapel under the same name.
Columbia Law School (often referred to as Columbia Law or CLS) is a professional graduate school of Columbia University, a member of the Ivy League. It has always been ranked in the top five law schools in the United States by U.S. News and World Report. Columbia is especially well known for its strength in corporate law and its placement power in the nation's elite law firms.
The Iridium Jazz Club is a jazz club located on Broadway in New York City. The club hosts weekly performances by John Colianni, and also featured weekly performances by Les Paul for nearly fifteen years.
One Worldwide Plaza is the largest tower of a three-building, mixed-use commercial and residential complex completed in 1989, in the New York City borough of Manhattan, known collectively as Worldwide Plaza. One Worldwide Plaza is a commercial office tower on Eighth Avenue. Two Worldwide Plaza is a residential condominium tower west of the center of the block, and Three Worldwide Plaza is a low-rise condominium residential building with street level stores on Ninth Avenue, to the west of the towers. Skidmore, Owings & Merrill was the designer for the office complex, and the residential complex was designed by Frank Williams. The complex, whose component skyscrapers are among the list of tallest buildings in New York City, occupies an entire city block, bounded by Eighth Avenue, Ninth Avenue, 49th Street, and 50th Street. Located on the west side of Eighth Avenue, One Worldwide Plaza is built on the site of New York City's third Madison Square Garden.
4 World Trade Center (also known by its street address, 150 Greenwich Street) is a skyscraper that is part of the World Trade Center complex in New York City. It is located on the southeast corner of the 16-acre (6.5 ha) World Trade Center site, where the original nine-story 4 World Trade Center stood. Pritzker Prize-winning architect Fumihiko Maki was awarded the contract to design the 978-foot-tall (298 m) building. It houses the headquarters of the Port Authority of New York and New Jersey (PANYNJ).
Xenon was a popular New York City nightclub. Xenon was a popular disco in Manhattan in the late 1970s and early 1980s. It was located at 124 West 43rd St in the former Henry Miller Theater which prior to Xenon had been renamed Avon-at-the-Hudson and was operating as a porn house. Xenon was the only nightclub popular enough to compete with Studio 54. The site is now the Stephen Sondheim Theater.
The Kitchen is a non-profit, multi-disciplinary art and performance space located at 512 West 19th Street, between Tenth and Eleventh Avenues in the Chelsea neighborhood of Manhattan, New York City. It was founded in Greenwich Village in 1971 by Steina and Woody Vasulka, who were frustrated at the lack of an outlet for video art. The space takes its name from the original location, the kitchen of the Mercer Arts Center which was the only available place for the artists to screen their video pieces. Although first intended as a location for the exhibition of video art, The Kitchen soon expanded its mission to include other forms of art and performance. In 1974, The Kitchen relocated to a building at the corner of Wooster and Broome Streets in SoHo, and incorporated as a not-for-profit arts organization. In 1987 it moved to its current location.
The Church of the Sacred Heart of Jesus is a Roman Catholic parish church, located in Hell's Kitchen/Clinton, Manhattan, New York City. Founded in 1876, it is a parish of the Archdiocese of New York and is located at 457 West 51st Street. Sacred Heart of Jesus School is located at 456 West 52nd Street. Since 2009, the pastor has been the Rev. Gabriel Piedrahita.
The Church of the Transfiguration is a Roman Catholic parish located at 25 Mott Street on the northwest corner of Mosco Street (formerly Park Street) in the Chinatown neighborhood of Manhattan, New York City. The parish is under the authority of the Archdiocese of New York and is staffed by the Maryknoll order.
City Hall was a station on the IRT Second Avenue Line, which also served trains of the IRT Third Avenue Line. It lay along Park Row, south of the Manhattan Municipal Building. It had 2 levels. The lower level served Third Avenue trains and had two tracks with two side platforms for exiting passengers, and a center island platform for entering passengers. The upper level served Second Avenue trains and had two tracks and two side platforms for exiting passengers, and one island platform for entering passengers. Second Avenue trains served the station until June 13, 1942, and Third Avenue trains served the station until December 31, 1953. The next stop to the north was Chatham Square for all trains.
The City and Country School is a progressive independent pre-school and elementary school for children aged 2–13 that is located in the Greenwich Village section of New York City.
Classic Stage Company, or CSC, is a classical Off-Broadway theater dedicated to re-imagining the classical repertory for a contemporary American audience, presenting plays from the past that speak directly to today's issues. Founded in 1967, Classic Stage Company is one of Off-Broadway's longest-enduring theaters. Its 199-seat theatre is the former Abbey Theatre located at 136 East 13th Street between Third and Fourth Avenues in the East Village near Union Square, Manhattan, New York City.
Collect Pond, or Fresh Water Pond, was a body of fresh water in what is now Chinatown, Lower Manhattan in New York City. For the first two centuries of European settlement in Manhattan, it was the main water supply for the growing city. The former pond became the site of a jail and is now a city park, Collect Pond Park, which includes a pond evocative of its former status.
Columbia Grammar & Preparatory School ("Columbia Grammar", "Columbia Prep", "CGPS", "Columbia") is one of the oldest nonsectarian private schools in the United States, located on the Upper West Side of Manhattan (5 West 93rd Street), in New York City, New York. It was founded in 1764 by Columbia University in order to properly prepare incoming freshmen in the fields of English, Greek, and Latin grammar. By 1865, the school had grown substantially and was no longer connected to the university.
Congregation Beth Israel West Side Jewish Center is an Orthodox congregation located at 347 West 34th Street, Manhattan, New York, in the Garment District, near Penn Station. Established in 1890, it constructed its current building in 1924–1925. Rabbis have included Joseph Schick, Norman Lamm, and Solomon Kahane. As of 2019, the rabbi was Jason Herman.
Ohab Zedek, sometimes abbreviated as OZ, is an Orthodox Jewish synagogue in Manhattan, New York City noted for its lively, youthful congregation. Founded in 1873, it moved to it current location on West 95th Street in 1926. The current clergy are: Rabbi Allen Schwartz, Senior Rabbi; and Rabbi Avrohom Moshe Farber, Cantor.
Congregation Rodeph Sholom is a Reform synagogue in New York City. Founded in 1842 by immigrants from the German lands, it is one of the oldest synagogues in the United States.
The Continental Bank Building is a skyscraper located at 30 Broad Street in New York City that was completed in 1932. It is next to the New York Stock Exchange.
The Church of Corpus Christi is a Roman Catholic parish church in the Roman Catholic Archdiocese of New York, located on West 121st Street between Broadway and Amsterdam Avenue in the Morningside Heights section of Manhattan, New York City. The parish was established in 1906. The parish priest is concurrently the Catholic chaplain at the nearby Columbia University.
Cortlandt Street was an express station on the demolished IRT Ninth Avenue Line. It was built as a replacement for the original southern terminus at Dey Street. It had three tracks, one island platform and two side platforms. It was served by trains from the IRT Ninth Avenue Line. It closed on June 11, 1940. The next southbound stop for all trains was Rector Street. The next northbound local stop was Barclay Street. The next northbound express stop was Warren Street.
Corton was a New French cuisine restaurant located at 239 West Broadway (between Walker Street and White Street) in Tribeca, Manhattan, in New York City run by chef Paul Liebrandt and restaurateur Drew Nieporent. It opened in 2008 on the site of Montrachet, a restaurant Nieporent had opened in 1985. It holds two stars in the New York City Michelin Guide. It closed in July 2013 when Chef Liebrandt left to open The Elm in Brooklyn.
Crowne Plaza Times Square is a 795-room hotel situated in the Times Square area of New York City's midtown Manhattan, located at 1601 Broadway, between W48th and W49th Streets. At 480 feet (146 meters), with 46 floors, it is the 94th tallest hotel in the world, the 29th tallest hotel in the United States, and the 15th-tallest hotel in New York City. The hotel was designed by The Alan Lapidus Group, completed in 1989 and opened in 1990.
DeWitt Clinton Park is a 5.8-acre (23,000 m2) New York City public park in the Hell's Kitchen neighborhood of Manhattan, New York City, between West 52nd and West 54th Streets, and Eleventh and Twelfth Avenues.
Hogs and Heifers Saloon is a small chain of bars. The original bar opened in 1992 in the Meatpacking District of Manhattan, in New York City. A second location was opened on 1st Avenue between 95th and 96th Streets of Manhattan by early 2000. A third opened in downtown Las Vegas adjacent to the Fremont Street Experience.
The Holy Name of Jesus Roman Catholic Church is a parish church of the Roman Catholic Archdiocese of New York located at 207 West 96th Street at the corner of Amsterdam Avenue in the Morningside Heights neighborhood of Manhattan, New York City. It was built in 1900 and was designed by Thomas H. Poole in the Gothic Revival style.
The Church of the Holy Rosary is a Roman Catholic parish church under the authority of the Roman Catholic Archdiocese of New York, located at 444 East 119th Street, East Harlem, Manhattan, New York City.
Saints Kyril & Metodi Bulgarian Eastern Orthodox Diocesan Cathedral (sometimes SS. Kiril and Methodi) is the cathedral church and headquarters of the Bulgarian Orthodox Church Diocese of the United States, Canada, and Australia. The church is located at 552 West 50th Street, between Tenth and Eleventh Avenues, Hell's Kitchen / Clinton, Manhattan, New York City.:221
Seward Park is a public park and playground in the Lower East Side of the New York City borough of Manhattan, north of East Broadway, east of Essex Street. It is 3.046 acres (12,330 m2) in size and is the first municipally built playground in the United States.
The Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel is a 152.7 m (501 ft), 51-story hotel located in New York City near Times Square. It faces 7th Avenue, West 52nd Street, and West 53rd Street. It is one of the world's top 100 tallest hotels, and one of the tallest hotels in New York City.
The Langham is a luxury apartment building located at 135 Central Park West on the Upper West Side of Manhattan, New York City. After the site was unused for more than 15 years, the building was constructed between 1905 and 1907. Built at a cost of US $2 million, the structure included modern amenities, such as ice accessible from every apartment. The building was designed in the French Second Empire style by architects Clinton and Russell. It was listed as a contributing property to the federal government designated Central Park West Historic District on November 9, 1982.
The Church of the Holy Trinity is a Roman Catholic parish church in the Roman Catholic Archdiocese of New York, located at 209 West 82nd Street near Amsterdam Avenue in the Upper West Side neighborhood of Manhattan, New York City. The parish was established in 1898.
The Hotel Metropole was the first hotel in New York City that had running water in every room. Located at 147 West 43rd Street just off Times Square, the hotel, now known as the Casablanca Hotel Times Square, had a list of notable residents including Nick Arnstein and Western lawman turned sports writer Bat Masterson.
Hotel Pierrepont was an establishment located at 43 West 32nd Street between Broadway and Fifth Avenue in Manhattan, New York City. Completed in 1906, the building was twelve stories tall, made of fireproof brick and stone. It had a cellar and a subcellar. It had one hundred seventy rooms, with single rooms and suites, and ninety bathrooms. The edifice measured fifty-nine feet by ninety-eight and nine tenths feet. It was located adjacent to the Rogers Peet building. Hotel Pierrepont is important to the history of Manhattan in the early 20th century. It is memorable for its prime location.
The Australian Bar and Restaurant is an Australian pub and restaurant in New York City that hosts live performances regularly and has Australian sports shown regularly like Australian Football League, National Rugby League, Super Rugby and Cricket World Cup. The food menu offers also Australian cuisine themed food such as kangaroo burgers, steaks and homemade Meat pies and beer like Coopers.
St. Malachy Roman Catholic Church is a parish church of the Roman Catholic Archdiocese of New York, located in Manhattan on West 49th Street, between Broadway and Eighth Avenue. The parish has served the theatre community in a special way since 1920, and its parishioners have included a large number of celebrities in the field of acting, such as Bob Hope and Gregory Peck.
Dixon Place is a theater organization located in New York City dedicated to the development of works-in-progress from a broad range of performers and artists. It exists to serve the creative needs of artists—emerging, mid-career and established—who are creating new work in theater, dance, music, literature, puppetry, performance, variety and visual arts.
550 Madison Avenue (formerly known as the Sony Tower or Sony Plaza and before that the AT&T Building), is an iconic postmodern 647-foot-tall (197-meter), 37-story highrise skyscraper located at 550 Madison Avenue in Manhattan. Designed by Philip Johnson, it was formerly the headquarters of Sony Corporation of America, and is the 95th tallest building in New York. The tower was purchased by the Olayan Group and Chelsfield for $1.4 billion in 2016.
The General Motors Building is a 50-story, 705 ft (215 m) office tower at 767 Fifth Avenue in Manhattan, New York City. The building, which is bound by Fifth Avenue and Madison Avenue between 59th Street and 58th Street, is one of the few structures in Manhattan to occupy a full city block. With 1,774,000 net leasable square feet, the tower sits on the site of the former Savoy-Plaza Hotel and affords views of Central Park. It was designed in the international style by Edward Durell Stone & Associates with Emery Roth & Sons and completed in 1968. It is the 66th tallest building in New York.
The Bouwerie Lane Theatre is a former bank building which became an Off-Broadway theatre, located at 330 Bowery at Bond Street in Manhattan, New York City. It is located in the NoHo Historic District.
The Queen Elizabeth II September 11th Garden is located in Hanover Square in the Financial District of Lower Manhattan, New York City. It commemorates the 67 British victims of the September 11, 2001, attack on the World Trade Center. It was officially opened by Queen Elizabeth II on July 6, 2010.
The Schermerhorn Building at 376–380 Lafayette Street on the corner of Great Jones Street in the NoHo neighborhood of Manhattan, New York City, was built in 1888–1889 by William C. Schermerhorn on the site of the Schermerhorn mansion, and rented by him to a boys' clothing manufacturer. The Romanesque Revival loft building was designed by Henry Hardenbergh, architect of the Plaza Hotel and The Dakota. The building is constructed of brownstone, sandstone, terra-cotta and wood, and has dwarf columns made of marble.
Cornell Tech is a technology, business, law, and design campus located on Roosevelt Island in Manhattan, New York City. It is anchored by the Jacobs Technion-Cornell Institute, a joint academic venture between Cornell University and the Technion-Israel Institute of Technology.
The Decker Building—periodically referred to as the Union Building—is located at 33 Union Square West in Manhattan, New York City. Built in 1892 for the Decker Brothers piano company according to designs by the radical anarchist architect John H. Edelmann, working out of the offices of Alfred Zucker, it replaced the earlier Decker Building on the same lot, designed by Leopold Eidlitz and built in 1869. Andy Warhol had his Factory on the sixth floor of this building from 1968 through 1973. It is also where Valerie Solanas shot Warhol and art critic and curator Mario Amaya in 1968.
The James F. D. Lanier Residence, also known as the James F. D. and Harriet Lanier House is an historic house located at 123 East 35th Street between Park and Lexington Avenues in the Murray Hill neighborhood of Manhattan, New York City.
The James Weldon Johnson Residence is a historic apartment house located at 187 West 135th Street, Harlem, Manhattan, New York City, New York. It is here where James Weldon Johnson (1871-1938) lived from 1925 until his death. In addition to being a composer, songwriter, and author, he was an outspoken advocate for civil rights, working in various roles at the NAACP, including as its General Secretary during his residency here. The building was declared a National Historic Landmark in 1976.
The Titanic Memorial is a 60-foot-tall (18 m) lighthouse located at Fulton and Pearl streets in Manhattan, New York City. It was built, due in part to the instigation of Margaret Brown, to remember the people who died on the RMS Titanic on April 15, 1912. Its design incorporates the use of a time ball.
Jen Bekman Gallery is a former art gallery located at 6 Spring Street in New York City. It was established by Jen Bekman in March 2003 on Spring Street west of Bowery, and closed in August 2013. Bekman's goals were to help emerging artists become more appreciated, and to encourage a broader swath of people to feel comfortable buying art. Jen Bekman Gallery exhibited the work of artists in the mediums of photography, works on paper, paintings and mixed media.
The John M. Mossman Lock Collection is housed at the General Society of Mechanics and Tradesmen of the City of New York building, located at 20 West 44th Street in midtown Manhattan, which is listed on the National Register of Historic Places. The museum houses one of the largest collections of bank and vault locks in the world, with more than 370 locks, keys and tools dating from 4000 BC to the modern 20th-century.
The Judge Building, originally the Goelet Building, is a ten story edifice located at 110 Fifth Avenue and 16th Street. It is called the Judge building because it is where Judge Magazine was printed. It covers a site measuring 92 by 158.4 feet (28.0 by 48.3 m). Built in 1888, the structure was acquired by the New York Times Company in 1985. It was designed by McKim, Mead, and White. When purchased by the New York Times Company, the building became occupied mostly by the Times Company magazine, Family Circle.
The Church of St. Joseph in Chinatown is a former parish church of the Roman Catholic Archdiocese of New York, located at 5 Monroe Street, in the neighborhood of the Lower East Side of Manhattan in New York City.
Scandinavia House – The Nordic Center in America is the American-Scandinavian Foundation's cultural center at 58 Park Avenue (between East 37th Street and East 38th Street), in Murray Hill, Manhattan, New York, dedicated to preserving the history of the Scandinavian and Nordic countries in the United States through a wide variety of exhibits and programming. This cultural center hosts exhibitions of fine art, design as well as performing arts pieces from Nordic countries. The center also introduces the local population and guests with Scandinavian languages and customs by organizing courses.
Shopsin's General Store is a diner formerly located in New York City's Greenwich Village. It moved to Stall No. 16, 120 Essex Street, in New York City's Essex Street Market.
The Solomon Schechter School of Manhattan is a K-8 Jewish day school located in Manhattan, New York City. It is a member of the Schechter Day School Network, affiliated with the Conservative Movement, and is the only Conservative day school in Manhattan. The school adheres to a progressive or constructivist educational philosophy, which espouses the value of experiential learning and self-reflection.
The Springs Mills Building is a 21-story office tower located at 104 West 40th Street and straddles the block with a second entrance on 39th in Manhattan, New York City. The building sits on an L shaped lot that rises to a thin glass hexagonal tower. One of the earliest examples of the International Style in New York, construction occurred between 1961–63, designed by the architecture firm Harrison & Abramovitz.The building was designated by the New York City Landmarks Preservation Commission in 2010. Elisabeth de Bourbon, on behalf of the Commission, recognized it as only the eighth Modernist building given the status.
The New York Evening Post Building, also known as the New York Post Building or the Post Towers, is a historic commercial building located in Lower Manhattan, New York City, New York. The building was designed by architect Horace Trumbauer and built in 1926.
The Woodward Gallery is a contemporary fine art gallery that opened in April 1994 under the incorporation G.O.L.A, Inc. (Gallery of Living Artists). The inaugural exhibition was held in Times Square at the Roundabout Theatre Company. It is owned by John Woodward and Kristine Woodward.
Japan Society is a non-profit organization formed in 1907 to promote friendly relations between the United States and Japan. Its headquarters, the youngest landmark building in New York, was designed by Junzo Yoshimura and opened in 1971 at 333 East 47th Street near the United Nations. With a focus on promoting "arts and culture, public policy, business, language, and education," the organization has regularly held events in its many facilities, including a library, art gallery, and theater, since its opening. After suspending all activities during World War II, Japan Society expanded under the leadership of John D. Rockefeller III.
Jumble Shop East was a Manhattan, New York, restaurant which opened on June 15, 1930, at 11 Waverly Place. The twelve story apartment house inside which the eatery was located, opened in the winter of 1929. It was part of the residential development then taking place east of Washington Square. The business was operated by Frances E. Russell and Winifred J. Tucker. Their original eating establishment was Jumble Shop West. The new restaurant was designed to resemble an old English inn.
KMA Music is a recording studio located in Midtown Manhattan, just north of Times Square, in the Theater District of New York City. It was opened in 1988 by Michael Case Kissel. Until 2007, the studio's original location was 1650 Broadway at 51st street. KMA has since moved to 1619 Broadway at 49th street. Located in the Brill Building, a facility well known for its historical significance in the music industry, Shortly after moving, the studio underwent a major redesign. Consulting with Fran Manzella, a well known studio architect, KMA sought to modernize their appearance as well as music consultant Roy P. Perez to expand its major label clientele.
King's Carriage House is a New American cuisine restaurant, tea room, and wine bar located at 251 East 82nd Street (between Second Avenue and Third Avenue), on the Upper East Side in Manhattan, in New York City.
The Church of St. Charles Borromeo is a Roman Catholic parish church in the Roman Catholic Archdiocese of New York, located at 211 West 141st Street Manhattan, New York City. The parish was established in 1888.
St. George's Syrian Catholic Church is a former church located at 103 Washington Street between Rector Street and Carlisle Street in the Financial District of Manhattan, New York City. The church is the last physical reminder of the Syrian American and Lebanese American community that once lived in Little Syria.
St. Luke's is a coeducational elementary and middle school which is divided into a Lower School (Grades JK-4) and an Upper School (Grades 5-8). It is located on the block of The Church of St. Luke in the Fields in the West Village at 487 Hudson Street, Manhattan.
The David S. Brown Store at 8 Thomas Street between Broadway and Church Street in the TriBeCa neighborhood of Manhattan, New York City was built in 1875-76 for a soap manufacturer. It was designed by J. Morgan Slade in the Victorian Gothic style, as influenced by John Ruskin and French architectural theory. The building has been called "An elaborate confection of Romanesque, Venetian Gothic, brick, sandstone, granite, and cast-iron parts..."
The Center for Architecture is located in the neighborhood of Greenwich Village at 536 LaGuardia Place, between West 3rd Street and Bleecker Street in Manhattan, New York City. In recent years, the center, operated by the New York Chapter of the American Institute of Architects, has become an increasingly important cultural institution through its revolving exhibits on architecture, urban planning, urban design, and environmental planning. The center also offers an extensive calendar of seminars, public feedback forums, project unveilings, and educational programs, as well as events and changing exhibitions.
C (See)-Squat is a former squat house located at 155 Avenue C (between 9th and 10th Streets) in the Alphabet City neighborhood of Manhattan, New York City that has been home to musicians, artists and activists, among others. After a fire, it was taken into city ownership in 1978 and squatters moved in in 1989. The building was restored in 2002 and since then it has been legally owned by the occupants. Its ground-floor storefront now houses the Museum of Reclaimed Urban Space.
CBS 30th Street Studio, also known as Columbia 30th Street Studio, and nicknamed "The Church", was an American recording studio operated by Columbia Records from 1948 to 1981 located at 207 East 30th Street, between Second and Third Avenues in Manhattan, New York City.
The CBS Broadcast Center is a television and radio production facility located in New York City. It is CBS's main East Coast production center, much as CBS Television City in Los Angeles is the West Coast hub. It is also where the satire show Last Week Tonight is recorded.
Cabrini Medical Center of New York City was created in the late 20th century by a merger of two Manhattan hospitals. It closed in 2008 due to purported, but unsubstantiated financial difficulties by the Berger Commission .
The Caedmon School is an independent coeducational elementary school located on the Upper East Side of Manhattan in New York City. The school, which employs a modified Montessori curriculum, was the first Montessori school established in New York City and the second in the United States.
Cake Shop was a New York City music venue, bar, and cafe in the Lower East Side of Manhattan that opened in 2005. Located at 152 Ludlow Street between Stanton Street and Rivington Street, Cake Shop offered a full bar and records for sale, but it was best known as a rock club, hosting new and upcoming bands, as well as established acts almost nightly in its basement.
The Calhoun School is a progressive, co-educational, independent school on New York City's Upper West Side, serving students from Pre-K through 12th grade. Founded in 1896, the school currently has approximately 730 students, housed in two separate buildings.
The Carlyle Restaurant, formerly Dumonet at the Carlyle, is a Contemporary American cuisine restaurant located at 35 East 76th Street (at Madison Ave), in the back of the Carlyle Hotel, on the Upper East Side in Manhattan, in New York City. It was established in 1930.
Casa Italiana is a building of Columbia University located at 1161 Amsterdam Avenue between West 116th and 118th Streets in the Morningside Heights neighborhood of Manhattan, New York City, which houses the university's Italian Academy for Advanced Studies in America. It was built in 1926-27 and was designed by William M. Kendall of McKim, Mead & White in the Renaissance style, modeled after a 15th-century Roman palazzo. The building was restored, and the east facade completed, in 1996 by Buttrick White & Burtis with Italo Rota as associate architect.
Cassa Hotel & Residences is a 48-story building at 70 West 45th Street in Midtown Manhattan in New York City, United States. It was designed by TEN Arquitectos headed by Mexican architect Enrique Norten in collaboration with the American design firm CetraRuddy.
The Cedar Tavern (or Cedar Street Tavern) was a bar and restaurant at the eastern edge of Greenwich Village, New York City. In its heyday, known as a gathering place for avant garde writers and artists, it was located at 24 University Place, near 8th Street. It was famous in its day as a hangout of many prominent Abstract Expressionist painters and Beat writers and poets. It closed in April 1963 and reopened three blocks north in 1964, at 82 University Place, between 11th and 12th Streets.
The Church of St. Elizabeth of Hungary is a Roman Catholic parish church in the Roman Catholic Archdiocese of New York, located at 211 East 83rd Street, between Second and Third Avenues, on the Upper East Side of Manhattan, New York City.
The Stephen Van Rensselaer House at 149 Mulberry Street between Grand and Hester Streets in the Little Italy neighborhood of Manhattan, New York City, was built c.1816 in the Federal style by Stephen Van Rensselaer III. It was originally located on the northwest corner of Mulberry and Grand, but in 1841 was moved down the block to its current location. The two-story dormered house is typical of Federal-style row houses which were common at the time in Manhattan below 14th Street.
The New York Savings Bank building in Manhattan was built in 1896 by Robert Henderson Robertson with George Provot, and was added to the National Register of Historic Places on January 7, 2000. From 1992 until 2004, the building became a branch of Central Rug & Carpet Mart owned by the Longwill and Timianko family. In 2005 it became a Balducci's food market. In April 2010 The New York Savings Bank name, which had been covered over, was again visible, but by 2011 it was supplanted by the CVS pharmacy name.
The Century Association is a private club in New York City. It evolved out of an earlier organization – the Sketch Club, founded in 1829 by editor and poet William Cullen Bryant and his friends – and was established in 1847 by Bryant and others as a club to promote interest in the fine arts and literature which was open to "Artists, Literary Men, Scientists, Physicians, Officers of the Army and Navy, members of the Bench and Bar, Engineers, Clergymen, Representatives of the Press, Merchants and men of leisure." It was originally intended to have a limited membership of 100 men. Its early members included Bryant; painters Asher Durand, Winslow Homer, Jervis McEntee, and John Frederick Kensett; sculptor Paul Manship; architect Stanford White; judge Charles Patrick Daly; author Lewis Gaylord Clark; and architect Calvert Vaux, who, along with Frederick Law Olmsted, was the co-creator of Central Park. However, by the middle 1850s, the membership primarily consisted of merchants, businessmen, lawyers and doctors.
Congregation Talmud Torah Adereth El, or Adereth El for short, is an Orthodox Jewish synagogue located at 133 East 29th Street, New York City, New York USA. Founded in 1857, it claims to be the oldest synagogue in its original location with continuous services at the same location.
Manganaro's Grosseria Italiana, commonly referred to as Manganaro's, was an Italian market and deli on Ninth Avenue in the Hell's Kitchen neighborhood of Manhattan, New York City. It opened in 1893 and operated for 119 years, helping to introduce the hero sandwich to Americans. The family closed the business and put the property up for sale in 2012.
Rutherfurd Observatory is the astronomical facility maintained by Columbia University named after Lewis Morris Rutherfurd. Initially, Rutherfurd housed its telescopes and equipment in midtown Manhattan and later on the Stuyvesant Estate. When the Morningside campus was built, telescopes were kept in a "transit building" where the Interdisciplinary Science Building now stands. When Pupin Physics Laboratories were completed in 1927, the home of the observatory was moved to the top of the building. Below the Rutherfurd Observatory on the 14th floor was the site of Professor Wallace Eckert's Astronomical Laboratory, in which he constructed the first device to perform general scientific calculations automatically in 1933-34.
Manhattan Valley is a neighborhood in the northern part of Upper West Side in Manhattan, New York City. It is bounded by West 110th Street to the north, Central Park West to the east, West 96th Street to the south, and Broadway to the west. It was formerly known as the Bloomingdale District, a name still in occasional use.
The Interchurch Center is a 19-story limestone-clad office building located at 475 Riverside Drive and West 120th Street in Manhattan, New York City. It is the headquarters for the international humanitarian ministry Church World Service, and also houses a wide variety of church agencies and ecumenical and interfaith organizations as well as some nonprofit foundations and faith-related organizations. The National Council of Churches also occupied the building from its inception, but in February 2013, the NCCC consolidated its offices on Capitol Hill in Washington, DC, and vacated its New York headquarters facilities. NCCC's sister agency, Church World Service, remains a tenant in the building.
Kosciuszko Foundation is a charitable foundation based in New York City. It was created by Stephen Mizwa to fund programs that promote Polish-American intellectual and artistic exchange.
The Pierre endured a $3 million (worth $27million today) hotel robbery on January 2, 1972, by Samuel Nalo and Robert Comfort "Bobby Comfort" an associate of the Lucchese Crime Family, Christie 'the Tic' Furnari, and carried out by several of his Gang burglars. This robbery would later be listed in the Guinness Book of World Records as the largest, most successful hotel robbery in history.
The Marriott World Trade Center was a 22-story steel-framed hotel building with 825 rooms. It was also known as World Trade Center 3 (WTC 3 or 3 WTC), the World Trade Center Hotel, the Vista Hotel and the Marriott Hotel. It opened in July 1981 as the Vista International Hotel and was located at 3 World Trade Center in Manhattan, New York City, with the World Trade Center complex having its own zip code of 10048. The hotel was destroyed beyond repair as a result of the terrorist attacks of September 11, 2001, after the collapse of the Twin Towers. The hotel was not replaced as part of the new World Trade Center complex, but does share its name with the new office tower.
Eighth Street–New York University (sometimes shortened as 8th Street–NYU) is a local station on the New York City Subway's BMT Broadway Line. Located at the intersection of Eighth Street and Broadway in Greenwich Village, Manhattan, it is served by the R train at all times except late nights, the W train on weekdays, the N train during late nights and weekends and the Q train during late nights. It is so named because it is the closest stop on the Broadway Line to New York University.
The Orion is a skyscraper located at 350 West 42nd Street between Eighth and Ninth Avenues in the Hell's Kitchen or Clinton neighborhood of Manhattan, New York City, in the U.S. state of New York. The building rises 604 feet (184 m) above street level, containing 551 residential units across 58 floors, and is the 128th tallest building in New York. Despite its relatively modest height for a skyscraper, the residential building has dominated the 42nd Street landscape west of Times Square since its topout in September 2005, and the building has views of New York City in every direction.
St. Joseph's Chapel is a mission parish of St. Peter's Church, the oldest Catholic parish in New York State. Established in 1983, it is located at 385 South End Avenue, Manhattan, New York City.
The Mount Sinai Jewish Center (MSJC) is an Orthodox Jewish Ashkenazi congregation in the Washington Heights / Hudson Heights neighborhood, in the New York City borough of Manhattan.
Peretz Square is a public park in Lower Manhattan, New York City, which marks the spot where Houston Street, First Avenue, and First Street meet. Peretz Square marks the spot where the smaller grid of the Lower East Side meets the grand regularity of the Commissioners' Plan street grid of 1811.
Pianos is a two-story bar/restaurant/live music venue in the Lower East Side section of Manhattan at 158 Ludlow Street. Its stage attracts local and national alternative rock groups as well as DJs, though a more typical performance consists of smaller name local and touring acts.
The Consulate General of the Republic of Poland in New York City (Polish: Konsulat Generalny Rzeczypospolitej Polskiej w Nowym Jorku) is a consular mission of the Republic of Poland in the United States. The consulate is located in the Joseph Raphael De Lamar House at 233 Madison Avenue, New York City, New York.
The Princeton Club of New York is a private club located in Midtown Manhattan, New York City, New York. Its membership is composed almost entirely of alumni and faculty of Princeton University, which is located 40 miles (64 km) outside New York City in Princeton, New Jersey.
Public School 9, originally known as Grammar School 9, then later the John Jasper School and currently the Mickey Mantle School, is a historic school building at 466 West End Avenue at West 82nd Street in the Upper West Side neighborhood of Manhattan, New York City. It was built in 1894-96, and was designed by C. B. J. Snyder, the Superintendent of School Buildings.
Pupin Physics Laboratories , also known as Pupin Hall, is home to the physics and astronomy departments of Columbia University in New York City and a National Historic Landmark. It was built in 1925-1927 to provide more space for the Physics Department which had originally been housed in Fayerweather Hall, and named for Serbian physicist Mihajlo Idvorski Pupin, who graduated with honors in 1883 at Columbia College, after his death in 1935. The building is located on the south side of 120th Street, just east of Broadway. It has been named a National Historic Landmark for its association with experiments relating to the splitting of the atom, achieved in connection with the later Manhattan Project.
The Quad Cinema is New York City's first small four-screen multiplex theater. Located at 34 West 13th Street in Greenwich Village, it was opened by entrepreneur Maurice Kanbar, along with his younger brother Elliott S. Kanbar in October 1972. It has been described as "one of the oldest independent cinemas in the city" and "a vibrant center for art house films."
The Normandy, at 140 Riverside Drive and West 86th Street, is a luxury residential cooperative apartment building in Manhattan, New York City. It is one of the city's best Art Deco buildings, and the last of the great twin-towered apartment houses built by architect Emery Roth; it was in The Normandy that Roth chose to live in his retirement years. The AIA Guide to New York City comments on the building's "senuous curves".
The Roosevelt Hotel is a historic luxury hotel, located at 45 East 45th Street (and Madison Avenue) in Midtown Manhattan. The hotel, named in honor of President Theodore Roosevelt, opened on September 22, 1924. The hotel later closed in 1995 and reopened again in 1997 after an extensive $65 million renovation.
The Shops at Columbus Circle is an urban shopping mall in the Time Warner Center in Manhattan, New York City — a complex of skyscrapers that was completed in 2003. It is located at Columbus Circle, next to the southwestern corner of Central Park. The shopping mall includes Amazon Books, H&M, L'Occitane, Michael Kors, Hugo Boss, Tumi, Coach, Cole Haan, Thomas Pink, J.Crew and Stuart Weitzman. The mall also has several restaurants such as the Michelin 3-star Per Se, Masa (allegedly the most expensive restaurant in New York ), the East Coast flagship of Williams-Sonoma, and a Whole Foods Market. It is owned by The Related Companies.
The Hotel McAlpin is a historic hotel building on Herald Square, at the corner of Broadway and 34th Street in Manhattan, New York City. It currently operates as an apartment building known as Herald Towers.
Stage 42, formerly the Little Shubert Theatre, is a theatre in New York City on Theatre Row, about half a mile west of Broadway. Its address is 422 West 42nd Street between 9th Avenue and Dyer Avenue. It was built in 2002 and has a seating capacity of 499. It was renamed in 2015.
The Prasada at 50 Central Park West in Manhattan, a luxury apartment house built in 1905-07 by the speculative builders Franklin and Samuel Haines to designs of Charles W. Romeyn and Henry R. Wynne, is a contributing building in the Central Park West Historic District. Originally it contained only three rambling apartments per floor, an eight-room apartment at the rear and two ten-room apartments spanning the front facing Central Park. The building ranges round an open court, with stained-glass slylights that illuminate the lobby.
The Sound Factory Bar was a nightclub at 12 West 21st Street in New York City's Manhattan. The club was originally called Private Eyes which was a very popular nightspot in the late 1980s and the early 1990s that for its time had an unusually advanced state of the art video and sound system. Private Eyes catered to a variety of growing underground music scenes in its heyday.
The Spotted Pig is a gastropub located at 314 West 11th Street (at Greenwich Street) in the West Village in Manhattan in New York City. The 100-seat gastropub is owned by Ken Friedman. Mario Batali served as a primary investor. The chef is April Bloomfield, a British expatriate celebrity chef who was hired after flying to New York and interviewing with Mario Batali and Freidman. The restaurant held a single Michelin Star from about 2006 to 2016.
The World was a large nightclub in New York City, which operated from the mid-1980s until 1991 at 254 East 2nd Street, in Manhattan's East Village neighborhood. The venue, which included a secondary establishment called "The It Club," was housed in a former catering hall and theater. The World attracted a clientele that was economically, racially, and sexually diverse, and included artists, celebrities, and fashion designers, such as Keith Haring, Madonna, Brooke Shields, Prince, Stephen Sprouse, RuPaul, and Carolina Herrera, together with banjee boys and members of voguing houses
Tonic was a music venue located at 107 Norfolk Street, New York City which opened in the Spring of 1998 and closed in April 2007. It was self-described as supporting "avant garde, creative and experimental music " and known for its commitment to musical integrity. A former kosher winery, the small and unassuming building provided a sense of intimacy by setting the performers within arms length of the audience. Tonic was the location of numerous live recordings by a variety of musicians.
Rucker Park is a basketball court in Harlem, Manhattan, New York City, at 155th Street and Frederick Douglass Boulevard across the street from the former Polo Grounds site; it is geographically at the base of a large cliff named Coogan's Bluff. Many who played at the park in the Rucker Tournament achieved a level of fame for their abilities, and several have gone on to play in the National Basketball Association (NBA).
The Liz Christy Bowery Houston Garden started in 1973 is the first and oldest community garden in New York city. Located at the corner of the Bowery and Houston Street in Manhattan and running across to 2nd Avenue, LCBH is now a part of New York City Parks Department. At first named the "Bowery-Houston Community Farm and Garden" it was renamed to honor its founder in 1985. Liz Christy was a founder of the urban community garden group, Green Guerillas. She was the first Director of the Council on the Environment, in New York City's Open Space Greening Program and LCBH garden was the first winner of the American Forestry Association's 'Urban Forestry Award.' The first community garden in the five boroughs of New York it is one of the earliest community gardens in the northeastern United States and LCBH is where the tallest Dawn Redwood tree in Manhattan lives, with a habitat of native plants of north America at its feet.
Tannen's Magic Shop is the oldest operating magic shop in New York City. It was founded by Louis Tannen in 1925. The shop sponsors Tannen's Magic Camp, a summer camp for young magicians, held since 1974, Tannen's Magic Shop Jubilee convention, where the LOUIE award is given and Tannen's Magic School in New York City.
The Lotos Club was founded as a gentleman's club in New York City; it has since also admitted women as members. Its founders were primarily a young group of writers and critics. Mark Twain, an early member, called it the "Ace of Clubs". The Club took its name from the poem "The Lotos-Eaters" by Alfred, Lord Tennyson, which was then very popular. Lotos was thought to convey an idea of rest and harmony. Two lines from the poem were selected for the Club motto:
Kaufman Music Center's Lucy Moses School is a community arts school located on the Upper West Side of Manhattan in New York City. Founded in 1952 as The Hebrew Arts School for Music and Dance, it is now part of Kaufman Music Center, a performing arts complex that houses the Special Music School (P.S. 859) and Merkin Concert Hall. It is the largest community arts school in the city, and offers lessons to 3,000 children and adults annually.
The Lyric Theatre was a prominent Broadway theatre built in 1903 in Manhattan, New York City in the 42nd Street Theater District. It was one of the few New York houses having two formal entrances, at 213 West 42nd Street and 214-26 West 43rd Street. In 1934, it was converted into a movie theatre which it remained until closing in 1992. In 1996, its interior was demolished and the space was combined with that of the former Apollo Theatre to create the Ford Center, which has since taken the Lyric Theatre name. Both the 42nd and 43rd Street facades of the original Lyric were preserved and today form the front and back entrances of the modern Lyric Theatre.
Greene St. Recording was a New York City, United States (US) recording studio, located at 112 Greene St. in SoHo, until its closure in 2001. It was one of the early headquarters of hip hop music during the 1980s and 1990s.
The Henry T. Sloane House is a mansion located at 9 East 72nd Street on the Upper East Side of the borough of Manhattan, New York City. It was designed by Carrère and Hastings in the late French Renaissance style and built in 1894.
The Office of Chief Medical Examiner of the City of New York (OCME) is a department within the city government that investigates cases of persons who die within New York City from criminal violence; by casualty or by suicide; suddenly, when in apparent good health; when unattended by a physician; in a correctional facility; or in any suspicious or unusual manner. The OCME also investigates when an application is made pursuant to law for a permit to cremate the body of a deceased person.
Rolfe's Chop House is a Manhattan eating establishment located at 90 Fulton Street, established in 1848. In February 1924 the store and basement of a Fulton Street edifice were sold to Mary Drake and her son. Following extensive improvements, the restaurant was opened as Rolfe's Chop House. Located in the Financial District, Rolfe's Chop House is memorable to the history of New York City.
The Morris–Jumel Mansion (also known as the Roger and Mary Philipse Morris House, "Mount Morris" and other similar names) is a Federal style museum home in northern Manhattan with mid-Seventeenth century roots. It was built in 1765 by Roger Morris, a British military officer, and served as a headquarters for both sides in the American Revolution.
The Alexander Hamilton U.S. Custom House is a building in New York City built in 1902–1907 by the federal government to house the duty collection operations for the Port of New York. It is located at 1 Bowling Green, near the southern tip of Manhattan, roughly on the same spot as Fort Amsterdam, the original center of the settlement of New Amsterdam, and Government House, the mansion built as an official residence for the President of the United States, but which was never occupied. The Custom House was named to commemorate Alexander Hamilton, one of the Founding Fathers of the United States and its first Secretary of the Treasury.
The Lombardy Hotel is located at 111 East 56th Street (between Park Avenue and Lexington Avenue) in the Midtown East neighborhood of New York City. The building was turned into a co-op in 1957. Built in the 1920s by William Randolph Hearst for his mistress, silent film star Marion Davies, The Lombardy has been the New York residence of film stars like Elizabeth Taylor and Richard Burton.
London Terrace is an apartment building complex located in New York City, in the Chelsea section of western Manhattan. It encompasses an entire city block bounded by Ninth and Tenth Avenues, as well as by West 23rd and 24th Streets. Construction began in late 1929, at a cost of more than $25,000,000 (equivalent to $364,777,000 in 2018) on what was then to be the largest apartment building in the world.
St. Albert's Church is a former Roman Catholic parish church under the authority of the Roman Catholic Archdiocese of New York, located at 429-433 West 47th Street in Manhattan, New York City. The parish was established as the Belgian national parish in 1916 and is now closed.
St. James' Roman Catholic Church is located at 32 James Street between St. James Place and Madison Street in the Two Bridges neighborhood of Lower Manhattan, New York City. It is the second oldest Roman Catholic building in the city, built in 1835-37 of fieldstone, with a pair of Doric columns flanking the entrance. While the neo-Classical church is modeled on the published designs by Minard Lefever, and is sometimes attributed to him, there is no hard evidence of this being true. The building was once topped by a domed cupola.
Rumsey Playfield is a small venue and bandshell for concerts situated in the southeastern quadrant of Central Park, New York City. Located southwest of the intersection of Terrace and East Drives, it is also known as 'the SummerStage' for the series of free corporate-sponsored concerts of the same name involving local and national talent that take place there every summer, and is also the site of the televised Friday morning summer concert series for the ABC morning program Good Morning America.
St. Luke’s Theatre is a 174-seat Off-Broadway theatre at St. Luke's Lutheran Church at 308 West 46th Street, the Restaurant Row, just west of Eighth Avenue in Manhattan's Theater District.
Abington House (located at, and originally known as, 500 West 30th Street) is a residential building in Chelsea, in Manhattan, New York City just outside the Hudson Yards Redevelopment Project. There are 386 rental apartments at the building, located at the southwest corner of 30th Street and Tenth Avenue. Robert A.M. Stern Architects designed the building, and The Related Companies developed the building. There is about 7,200 square feet (670 m2) of rental space on the ground floor of the 33-story, 325 feet (99 m)-tall building; the building also has a pre-fabricated red brick facade. The building, the first to open in the area under the zoning of the Hudson Yards Redevelopment Project, has 78 permanent units. It started leasing in April 2014, two years after beginning construction in 2012.
15 Union Square West, on East 15th Street overlooking Union Square in Manhattan, New York City, was Tiffany & Company’s 19th century headquarters. It was refurbished and opened in 2008 as high-end apartments.
1166 Avenue of the Americas (also known as the International Paper Building) is a 600 feet (180 m) tall Class A office building located at 1166 Sixth Avenue in Midtown Manhattan, New York City. It was completed in 1974 and has 44 floors totaling approximately 1.7 million square feet. Skidmore, Owings & Merrill designed the building, which is the 132nd tallest in New York City. It is the headquarters of the Marsh & McLennan Companies, Penton and D. E. Shaw & Co. 5W Public Relations is also a tenant.
280 Broadway – also known as the A.T. Stewart Dry Goods Store, the Marble Palace, and the Sun Building – a historic building located between Chambers and Reade Streets in the Civic Center district of Manhattan, New York City, was the first commercial building in the Italianate style in New York City, and is considered the site of one of the nation's first department stores. It was designed by John B. Snook of Joseph Trench & Company, with later additions by other architects. It was built for the A. T. Stewart Company, which opened New York's first department store in it. It later housed the original New York Sun newspaper (1833-1950) and is now the central offices for the New York City Department of Buildings.
The 124 Ridge Street Gallery was a collective gallery founded in New York's Lower East Side in 1985. Founding members were Susan Bachemin, Elizabeth Evers, Jane Fine, Matthew Harrison, Michael Kaniecki, Robert McGrath, Heidi Marben, Laurie Olinder, and Joe Vinson. Subsequent members included Amy Berniker, Ruth Pomerantz, Paul Rodriguez, Roger W. Sayre, Ann Shea, Paul Villinski and Carla Weisberg.
Drumgoole Plaza is a public park that sits in the shadow of the Brooklyn Bridge in Manhattan, New York City, on Frankfort Street between Park Row and Gold Street, and next to the main building of Pace University at One Pace Plaza. Opened on November 5, 2003, the park is maintained by Pace under the management of the New York City Department of Parks and Recreation.
Theatre Row is an entertainment district of Off Broadway theatres on 42nd Street in Midtown Manhattan west of Ninth Avenue. The space originally referred to a 1977 redevelopment project to convert adult entertainment venues into theatres between 9th and Tenth Avenues on the south side of 42nd Street. However with the success of the district the name is often used to describe any theatre on either side of the street from Ninth Avenue to the Hudson River as more theatres have been built along the street.
Gilsey House is a former eight-story 300-room hotel located at 1200 Broadway at West 29th Street in the NoMad neighborhood of Manhattan, New York City. It is a New York City landmark and on the National Register of Historic Places.
Trinity Church Cemetery consists of three separate burial grounds associated with Trinity Church in New York City. The first was established in the Churchyard located at 74 Trinity Place at Wall Street and Broadway. In 1842, the church, running out of space in its churchyard, established Trinity Church Cemetery and Mausoleum in Upper Manhattan between Broadway and Riverside Drive, at the Chapel of the Intercession (now The Church of the Intercession, New York), formerly the location of John James Audubon's estate. A third burial place is the Churchyard of St. Paul's Chapel.
The Mercer Hotel, located at the corner of Mercer and Prince Streets in SoHo, Manhattan, New York City, was the second acquisition in the luxury collection of André Balazs hotels. It offers 75 guest rooms on six floors of a Romanesque revival building.
Sylvia's Restaurant of Harlem (often called "Sylvia's Soul Food" or just "Sylvia's") is a soul food restaurant located at 328 Lenox Avenue, between 126th and 127th Streets, in Harlem, Manhattan, New York City. It was founded in 1962 by Sylvia Woods. It has since expanded to a much larger space at its present location, and an adjacent building. The restaurant also sells a line of prepared foods, beauty and skin care items, cookbooks, and a children's book written by Woods. Woods purchased the original luncheonette by borrowing money from her mother, who had to mortgage her farm to provide it.
The Japanese Peace Bell is a United Nations peace symbol. Cast on November 24, 1952, it was an official gift of the Japanese people to the United Nations on June 8, 1954. The symbolic bell of peace was donated by Japan to the United Nations at a time when Japan had not yet been officially admitted to the United Nations. The Japanese Peace Bell was presented to the United Nations by the United Nations Association of Japan.
The Penguin Random House Tower, also known as the Park Imperial Apartments, is a 52-story mixed-use tower in New York City, United States, that is used as the American headquarters of book publisher Penguin Random House and a luxury apartment complex. The PRH entrance is on Broadway and goes up to 27 floors, while the apartment complex entrance is on West 56th Street. Rising to 684 ft (208 m), it is the 77th tallest building in New York.
East Side Community High School is a public school in New York City located at 420 East 12th Street in the East Village, Manhattan in New York City. Founded in 1991, it is for students from the 6th to 12th grade. Its principal is Mark Federman. Girls Prep, a charter school, is housed inside the same building. The building also housed Ross Global Academy, another charter school, until 2011.
Ellen's Stardust Diner is a retro 1950s theme restaurant located at 1650 Broadway on the southeast corner of 51st Street in Theater District, Manhattan, New York City. The diner is regarded as one of the best theme restaurants in New York owing to its singing waitstaff. The diner also contains retro-themed memorabilia such as photos of many past Miss Subways on the walls, an indoor train, a 1956 Predicta television, and a “drive-in theater” screen that showcases performances of the 1950s. It is popular among children and adults.
Founder's Hall was the first building built on the campus of The Rockefeller University (formerly The Rockefeller Institute for Medical Research ) at 66th Street and York Avenue, in Manhattan, New York City. Built between 1903 and 1906, it represents an instance of one of John D. Rockefeller's largest scale efforts at philanthropy, and housed the nation's first major biomedical research laboratory. Construction costs for Founders, which included an Animal housing facility and a powerhouse were $276,000. It was declared a National Historic Landmark in 1974. The building is now mainly used for school offices.
The former Fourth Church of Christ, Scientist, now known as the Hebrew Tabernacle of Washington Heights, is an historic domed Art Deco style building located at 551 Ft. Washington Avenue, corner of 185th Street, in the Washington Heights neighborhood of Manhattan in New York City. Designed by architects Cherry and Matz of Manhattan, it was built during the years 1929 to 1932 by Fourth Church founded in 1896 as West Side Church of Christ, Scientist, to replace its Solon Spencer Beman designed Neoclassical building at 178th Street and Fort Washington Avenue which it had sold to provide land for the George Washington Bridge. In 1973, due to the dwindling size of its congregation and increasing costs, the church sold the building to the Hebrew Tabernacle Congregation founded in 1905 in Harlem which had outgrown its 1920s building on West 161st Street between Broadway and Fort Washington Avenue. Fourth Church is no longer in existence. On August 31, 2011, the building was added to the National Register of Historic Places.
The Fourth Universalist Society in the City of New York is a congregation within the Unitarian Universalist Association located on the Upper West Side of Manhattan. It is the last surviving of seven Universalist congregations in the city, founded on the belief of universal salvation that emphasized the love of God for all people. Today, the congregation is non-creedal, welcoming a diverse range of religious beliefs and practices.
The Upright Citizens Brigade Theatre (shorter UCB Theatre) is an American improvisational theatre and training center, founded by the Upright Citizens Brigade troupe members, including Matt Besser, Amy Poehler, Ian Roberts and Matt Walsh. It has locations in the New York neighborhoods of Hell's Kitchen and the East Village as well as the Los Angeles neighborhoods of Hollywood and Sunset Boulevard. UCB was located in Chelsea West 26th St location from April 2003 until November 2017. After which the theatre moved to Hell's Kitchen, 555 W 42nd St in December 2017. The second theatre located in the East Village opened in 2011 and the Los Angeles expansion started in 2014.
The Frick Art Reference Library is a research institution affiliated with The Frick Collection. It is located at 10 East 71st Street (between Madison and Fifth Avenue) in New York City. The library is housed in a six-story building designed by the architect John Russell Pope.
The General Winfield Scott House is a historic rowhouse at 24 West 12th Street in the Greenwich Village area of lower Manhattan in New York City. Built in 1851-52, the house was home to General and unsuccessful Whig Presidential candidate Winfield Scott (1786–1866) from 1853 to 1855. Best known as the leader of the United States Army during the Mexican–American War, Scott had a significant effect on the Army for about half a century. The building was declared a National Historic Landmark in 1973.
The Gillender Building was an early 20-story skyscraper in the Financial District of Manhattan in New York City. It stood on the northwest corner of Wall Street and Nassau Street, on a narrow strip of land along Nassau Street measuring only 26 by 73 feet (7.9 m × 22.3 m). At the time of its completion in 1897, the 273 feet (83 m) tall Gillender Building was, depending on ranking methods, the fourth or the eighth tallest structure in New York.
Gotham Bar and Grill is a New American restaurant located at 12 East 12th Street (between Fifth Avenue and University Place), in Greenwich Village in Manhattan, in New York City. It opened in 1984.
Gouverneur Health (formerly Gouverneur Hospital) is a municipally owned healthcare facility affiliated with the New York University School of Medicine. It is located at 227 Madison Street in Lower Manhattan. The facility offers comprehensive healthcare services, including outpatient, specialty, and skilled nursing care. It primarily serves residents of Manhattan, Brooklyn and Queens.
Technical Career Institutes, also known as TCI College, was a private, for-profit college in New York City that offered two year associate degrees and certificates for education in technology, business, engineering, healthcare and other career paths. It was dually accredited from the New York State Board of Regents and by the Middle States Commission on Higher Education. TCI’s curricula offered training at the associate degree level taught by more than 190 faculty.
Teachers College, Columbia University (TC or Columbia University Graduate School of Education) is a graduate school of education, health and psychology in New York City. Founded in 1887, it has served as the Faculty and Department of Education of Columbia University since its affiliation in 1898. Teachers College is the oldest and largest graduate school of education in the United States.
The Temple Court Building and Annex, at 5 Beekman Street (corner of Nassau street), New York City, reopened in August 2016 as the Beekman Hotel following extensive renovations.
The Continental NYC, originally known as Tower 111, is a 53-story, 338-unit luxury rental skyscraper designed by architect Costas Kondylis in the New York City borough of Manhattan at 885 Sixth Avenue and 32nd Street in Midtown Manhattan.
The Whitby is the name of the residential property at 325 West 45th Street in New York. The Whitby was designed by architect Emery Roth and built by Bing & Bing general contractors. It was originally commissioned as a hotel by The Gresham Realty Company in 1924 and opened for business on October 1, 1924. The building was converted into a residential cooperative in 1988 by Premiere Marketing Services. The 10-story dwelling between Eighth and Ninth Avenues has 215 apartments.
Time Landscape (1965-1978-Present) is an Land artwork by American artist Alan Sonfist (1946- ). It consists of plants that were native to the New York City area in pre-colonial times. Those planted were replanted here until 1978, on a rectangular plot of 25' x 40' situated in lower Manhattan at the northeast corner of La Guardia Place and West Houston Street.
Toots Shor's Restaurant was a restaurant and lounge owned and operated by Bernard "Toots" Shor at 51 West 51st Street in Manhattan during the 1940s and 1950s. Its oversized circular bar was a New York landmark. It was frequented by celebrities, and together with the 21 Club, the Stork Club, and El Morocco was one of the places to see and be seen. Joe DiMaggio often went there to eat, and that helped make it famous. Toots was said to do personal favors for Joe as well, at no cost.
Tower 270 (also known as 270 Broadway, Arthur Levitt State Office Building, 80 Chambers Street, and 86 Chambers Street) is a 28-story mixed use building in Civic Center, New York City having 350,785 square feet (32,589.0 m2) of floor space on a plot with 50 feet (15 m) facing Broadway and 242 feet (74 m) on Chambers Street.
Trinity Evangelical Lutheran Church of Manhattan is a Lutheran church located at 164 West 100th Street just east of Amsterdam Avenue, on the Upper West Side of Manhattan in New York City. It was founded in 1888 as the German Evangelical Lutheran Church to serve German immigrants moving into the Upper West Side. It initially held services in a storefront until money had been raised to buy land and build a sanctuary.
Trump Park Avenue is a former skyscraper hotel converted to a residential condominium by Donald Trump. It is located on the southern border of Lenox Hill at 502 Park Avenue Manhattan, New York City. It contains 120 luxury condominium apartments and 8 penthouses. The building is 32 stories high. It was built in 1929 and it was designed by Goldner and Goldner. The building has had many uses over the years. It was originally the Viceroy Hotel but was renamed as the Cromwell Arms and as the Hotel Delmonico. In 1929, it was purchased by New York investor Benjamin Winter, Sr.
The Blue Condominium, also known as the Blue Tower, is located in the Lower East Side neighborhood of New York City at 105 Norfolk Street. Designed by Bernard Tschumi, it is his first residential and first high-rise structure. At 16 stories tall, it opened in 2007 with 32 condominium apartments, a ground floor commercial space occupied by the Thierry Goldberg Gallery, and a third floor roof terrace for residents. Commercial at the ground floor with residential above is a common method of programming space in urban residential projects. The tower is not LEED certified. The faceted pixelated form, a reaction to the zoning and set back requirements, is clad in a blue panel and window curtain wall system, contrasting with the low rise brick buildings that typify the neighborhood.
The American Stock Exchange Building, formerly known as the New York Curb Exchange Building, is the former headquarters of the American Stock Exchange. It is located on Trinity Place in the Financial District of Lower Manhattan, New York City. Built in 1921 and enlarged in 1929–1931, the building represents a link to the historical practices of stock trading outside the strictures of the New York Stock Exchange, which took place outside ("on the curb") prior to the construction of this building. It was designated a National Historic Landmark in 1978. The building presently stands vacant, the stock exchange having moved out after merging with the NYSE in 2008.
The Cornwall, at 255 West 90th Street, is a luxury residential cooperative apartment building on the Upper West Side of Manhattan, New York City. Located on the northwest corner of Broadway and 90th Street, it was designed by Neville & Bagge and erected in 1909. The developers were Arlington C. Hall and Harvey M. Hall. The twelve-story brick and stone building is noted for its elaborate balcony and window detail, and the "spectacular" design of its "extraordinary" ornate Art Nouveau cornice, which the AIA Guide to New York City called "a terra-cotta diadem." In 1991, the building's owner-occupants paid $600,000 to have the cornice and ornamented balconies replaced with terra cotta replicas of the originals.
The 21 Club, often simply 21, is an American traditional cuisine restaurant and former prohibition-era speakeasy, located at 21 West 52nd Street in New York City.
Playwrights Horizons is a not-for-profit Off-Broadway theater located in New York City dedicated to the support and development of contemporary American playwrights, composers, and lyricists, and to the production of their new work.
Carnegie Hill is a neighborhood within the Upper East Side, in the borough of Manhattan in New York City. Its boundaries are 86th Street on the south, Fifth Avenue (Central Park) on the west, with a northern boundary at 98th Street that continues just past Park Avenue and turns south to 96th Street and proceeds east up to, but not including, Third Avenue. The neighborhood is part of Manhattan Community Board 8. In the 2000s, the perceived northern boundary on Park Avenue has edged over 96th Street into what was traditionally Spanish Harlem, leading to that area sometimes being called Upper Carnegie Hill, especially by real-estate brokers. According to the official Carnegie Hill Neighbors website, the Carnegie Hill neighborhood extends from 86th to 98th Streets, from Fifth Avenue up to, but not including, Third Avenue.
Sugar Hill is a United States historic district in the northern part of the Hamilton Heights section of the Harlem neighborhood of Manhattan, New York City. It is roughly bounded by West 155th Street to the north, West 145th Street to the south, Edgecombe Avenue to the east, and Amsterdam Avenue to the west. The equivalent New York City Historic Districts are:
70 Pine Street – formerly known as the American International Building, 60 Wall Tower and originally as the Cities Service Building – is a 67-story, 952-foot (290 m) residential building located at the corner of Pearl Street and running to Cedar Street in the Financial District of Manhattan, New York City, New York, United States. It was built in 1931–32 by the Cities Service Company for the oil and gas baron Henry Latham Doherty, and was designed by the firm of Clinton & Russell, Holton & George in the Art Deco style.
225 Liberty Street, formerly Two World Financial Center, is one of the tallest skyscrapers in New York City, located at 225 Liberty Street in the Financial District of the New York City borough of Manhattan. Rising 645 feet (197 m), the building is the second tallest of the four buildings in the World Financial Center complex that stands in southwest Manhattan, and the 97th tallest in the city. It is similar in design to 200 Vesey Street, except that its roof is dome-shaped rather than 3 WFC's solid pyramid design. It is notably similar in design to One Canada Square in London's Canary Wharf development. Canary Wharf was, like the World Financial Center, a project by Canadian developers Olympia and York, and One Canada Square was designed by the same architects.
The City of New York Police Department, more commonly known as the New York Police Department and its initials NYPD, is the primary law enforcement and investigation agency within the City of New York, New York in the United States. Established on May 23, 1845, the NYPD is one of the oldest police departments in the United States, and is the largest police force in the United States. The NYPD headquarters is at 1 Police Plaza, located on Park Row in Lower Manhattan across the street from City Hall. The department's mission is to "enforce the laws, preserve the peace, reduce fear, and provide for a safe environment." The NYPD's regulations are compiled in title 38 of the New York City Rules. The New York City Transit Police and New York City Housing Authority Police Department were fully integrated into the NYPD in 1995 by New York City Mayor Rudolph W. Giuliani.
48 Wall Street, known at one time as the Bank of New York Building was built in 1928 on land used by the bank since 1797, on the corner of Wall Street and William Street in New York City's Financial District. It is 156 metres (512 ft) tall. In 2001 Rockefeller Group Business Center opened their offices within this historic building. Its former banking hall has been modified to house the Museum of American Finance, which moved there in October 2007.
One Astor Plaza is a high-rise office building located in the Times Square area of Midtown Manhattan, New York City. The building is 54 stories tall and stands at a height of 745 ft (227 m). It was designed by Der Scutt of Ely J. Kahn & Jacobs. It is located at 1515 Broadway between West 44th and 45th Streets and is currently the headquarters for Viacom and houses the MTV Studios, Minskoff Theatre, PlayStation Theater, and some retail outlets. The Hotel Astor had occupied the site from 1904 to 1967. Construction of the building began in 1968 and was completed in 1972. The building was the headquarters of the W. T. Grant retail chain, which leased almost 400,000 square feet (37,000 m2) of space on the building's top 14 floors, but only occupied it for four years until their 1976 liquidation.
1540 Broadway (known as the Bertelsmann Building until late 2013) is a 44-story, 733 foot (223 m) office tower at West 45th Street in Times Square in Manhattan, New York City. The building was the North American headquarters of media conglomerate Bertelsmann from 1992 until the company vacated and sold the property, of which they occupied all office-use floors, in 2004. The building housed US satellites of central functions such as Corporate Development, Corporate Communications and the Office of the Chairman and CEO, as well as serving as worldwide headquarters for the Bertelsmann Music Group and Bertelsmann Book Group (what has later taken on the umbrella brand name Random House). Current office tenants include Viacom, China Central Television, KEMP Technologies, Adobe Systems and Pillsbury Winthrop Shaw Pittman. Retail tenants are Planet Hollywood, MAC Cosmetics, Disney Store, and Forever 21.
Still Mind Zendo, a Zen meditation center formed in 1994, is in the Soto lineage of the late Taizan Maezumi Roshi and the White Plum Asanga. The founder and resident teacher of Still Mind Zendo, Sensei Janet Jiryu Abels, is a dharma successor of Roshi Robert Jinsen Kennedy as is Sensei Gregory Hosho Abels, the co-resident teacher at the center.
The Tenth Street Studio Building, constructed in New York City in 1857, was the first modern facility designed solely to serve the needs of artists. It became the center of the New York art world for the remainder of the 19th century.
The Terrain Gallery, or the Terrain, is an art gallery and educational center at 141 Greene Street in SoHo, Manhattan, New York City. It was founded in 1955 with a philosophic basis: the ideas of Aesthetic Realism and the Siegel Theory of Opposites, developed by American poet and educator Eli Siegel. Its motto is a statement by Siegel: "In reality opposites are one; art shows this."
The Chitte Building is an apartment building on the Upper West Side of Manhattan, New York City. Located at 349 Amsterdam Avenue between West 76th and 77th Streets, this five floor walk-up has twelve apartments and ground floor commercial space once occupied by the sports bar Time Out.
Murray Guy was a contemporary art gallery specializing in emerging and mid-career contemporary artists. Founded by Margaret Murray and Janice Guy in 1998, the gallery was located in the Chelsea, Manhattan gallery district at 453 West 17th Street. It closed in early 2017 after eighteen years in business.
The Tower Building was arguably New York City's first skyscraper, and the first building with a steel skeleton structure. Architect Bradford Gilbert filed plans for its construction on April 17, 1888, it was completed on September 27, 1889 and demolished beginning in 1913.
200 West Street is the global headquarters of the Goldman Sachs investment banking firm. The building is a 749-foot-tall (228 m), 44-story building located on West Street, between Vesey and Murray Streets in Lower Manhattan. It is adjacent to the World Financial Center and the Conrad Hotel, the Verizon Building to the east across West Street, and diagonally opposite the World Trade Center. It is the only office building in Battery Park City north of the World Financial Center.
111 Eighth Avenue is a full-block Art Deco multi-use building located between Eighth and Ninth Avenues, and 15th and 16th Streets in the Chelsea neighborhood of Manhattan, New York City.
The Hotel Chelsea – also called the Chelsea Hotel, or simply the Chelsea – is a historic New York City hotel and landmark built between 1883 and 1885, known primarily for the notability of its residents over the years. The 250-unit hotel is located at 222 West 23rd Street, between Seventh and Eighth Avenues, in the neighborhood of Chelsea, Manhattan. The building has been a designated New York City landmark since 1966, and on the National Register of Historic Places since 1977.
56 Leonard Street is an 821-foot-tall (250 m), 57-story skyscraper on Leonard Street in the neighborhood of Tribeca in Manhattan, New York City, United States. The building was designed by the Swiss architecture firm Herzog & de Meuron, which describes the building as "houses stacked in the sky." It is the tallest structure in Tribeca.
599 Lexington Avenue is a 653 ft (199m) tall, 50-story skyscraper in New York City, New York designed by Edward Larrabee Barnes. It was the first building constructed by Mortimer Zuckerman and his company Boston Properties in New York City. The site was acquired for $84 million in 1984, and completed in 1986.
60 Wall Street is a 47-story skyscraper (745 feet, 227 meters) on Wall Street in the heart of the Financial District in Lower Manhattan, and it currently serves as the American headquarters of Deutsche Bank. However, Deutsche Bank plans to leave the building for the Time Warner Center in 2021. It is built in the postmodern style.
The Cutting Room is a music venue in New York City that was open at 19 West 24th Street from late 1999 through January 2009 for music of all varieties and reopened at the beginning of 2013 in a new location at 44 East 32nd Street. It was co-owned since its founding by actor Chris Noth and Berklee College of Music alumnus Steve Walter.
The Cary Building at 105-107 Chambers Street, extending along Church Street to Reade Street, in the Tribeca neighborhood of Manhattan, New York City, was built in 1856-1857 and was designed by Gamaliel King and John Kellum ("King & Kellum") in the Italian Renaissance revival style, with the cast-iron facade provided by Daniel D. Badger's Architectural Iron Work. The five-story twin-facaded building was constructed for William H. Cary's Cary, Howard & Sanger, a dry goods firm.
1 Hanover Square, formerly known as the India House, is on the southern edge of Hanover Square in Lower Manhattan, New York City. Built in 1851, it was the site of the nation's first commodity futures exchange, the New York Cotton Exchange. It was designated a National Historic Landmark in 1977 in recognition of that function, and was designated a New York City Landmark in 1965.
The Lucy Drexel Dahlgren House is a historic home located at 15 East 96th Street between Fifth and Madison Avenues on the border between the Carnegie Hill and East Harlem neighborhoods of the Upper East Side of Manhattan, New York City. It was built in 1915-16, and was designed by Ogden Codman, Jr. in the French Renaissance Revival stye for Lucy Wharton Drexel Dahlgren, a daughter of financier Joseph William Drexel and his wife Lucy Wharton Drexel.
The Church of St. Stanislaus Bishop & Martyr is home to the oldest Polish Roman Catholic parish in the Roman Catholic Archdiocese of New York, It is located at 101 East 7th Street between First Avenue and Avenue A in the East Village neighborhood of Manhattan, New York City.
Church of St. Thomas the Apostle is a former Roman Catholic parish church in New York City that had been threatened with demolition was the subject of a landmarks preservation debate. The parish was established in 1889; staffed by the Salesians of Don Bosco from 1979 to 2003; and closed in 2003 because of a diminished congregation and structural problems.
Murray's Sturgeon Shop is a gourmet store and neighborhood fixture in Manhattan's Upper West Side. It is located on Broadway between 89th Street and 90th Street.
Mills House No. 1 or the Mills Hotel at 160 Bleecker Street in New York City was built as a hotel for poor men. It was funded by banker Darius Ogden Mills and designed by Ernest Flagg and opened in 1897. The building is now The Atrium.
The Church of St. Paul is a Roman Catholic parish church in the Roman Catholic Archdiocese of New York, located in the East Harlem neighborhood of Manhattan, New York City. The sixth parish established in New York City, it was designated a New York City Landmark on June 28, 2016.
The Museum of Reclaimed Urban Space (MoRUS) is a not-for profit museum dedicated to archiving the history of community gardens, squatting, and grassroots environmental activism of the Lower East Side neighborhood of Manhattan, New York City. Located in the storefront of C-Squat at 155 Avenue C, the museum documents how neighborhood residents transformed abandoned spaces and lots in the neighborhood into squats and gardens. By preserving the neighborhood’s history, the museum aims to educate and thereby empower communities and individuals to keep this form of sustainable, community-based activism alive.
Umberto's Clam House is an Italian seafood restaurant located at 132 Mulberry Street in Little Italy in Manhattan (New York City), New York, United States Umberto's became known for its "tasty dishes of calamari, scungilli, and mussels", but initially became prominent, weeks after opening, for being the site of "one of the more sensational Mafia murders in New York City in recent history". The restaurant was founded and is owned by members of the Ianniello family.
The Henry Street Settlement is a not-for-profit social service agency in the Lower East Side neighborhood of Manhattan, New York City that provides social services, arts programs and health care services to New Yorkers of all ages. It was founded under the name Nurses' Settlement in 1893 by progressive reformer and nurse Lillian Wald.
WCBS-FM (101.1 FM) is a radio station offering a classic hits format licensed to New York City and is owned and operated by Entercom. The station's studios are in the combined Entercom facility in the Hudson Square neighborhood of Manhattan, and its transmitter is located at the Empire State Building. The station is the home of the Scott Shannon in the Morning show.
The Josephine Shaw Lowell Memorial Fountain is an outdoor fountain memorial to Shaw, a social worker active in the late 19th century, designed by architect Charles A. Platt, located at Bryant Park in Manhattan, New York, dedicated in 1912.
José Bonifácio de Andrada e Silva, also known as the Andrada Monument, is an outdoor bronze sculpture of José Bonifácio de Andrada by José Otavio Correia Lima, located at Bryant Park in Manhattan, New York. It is 9 feet (2.7 m) tall and weights approximately 4,000 lbs. Lima was selected through a competition that was sponsored by the Brazilian government, which also donated $60,000 for the surrounding plaza and granite base. The sculpture was cast in 1954 and dedicated on April 22, 1955. Ceremony attendees included Manhattan Borough President Hulan Jack, Parks Commissioner Robert Moses, Brazilian Ambassador to the United States Joao Calos Muniz, Deputy Assistant Secretary of State of Inter-American Affairs Edward J. Spears, Cardinal Francis Spellman, and Mayor Robert F. Wagner, Jr. Originally located at the northwest corner of Bryant Park, it was moved to its current location along Avenue of the Americas, between 40th and 42nd Streets, in the early 1990s. Every September, the Consulate General of Brazil commemorates Andrada and Brazilian Independence Day by hosting a small ceremony at the monument.
The High School of Graphic Communication Arts (H.S.G.C.A.) is a vocational high school located in the Hell's Kitchen section of Manhattan in New York City. Founded in 1925 as the New York School of Printing, the school is divided into five academies that offer basic instruction in several fields including printing, photography, journalism, visual arts, and law enforcement.
Highbridge Park is located in Washington Heights on the banks of the Harlem River near the northernmost tip of the New York City borough of Manhattan, between 155th Street and Dyckman Street. The park is operated by the New York City Department of Parks & Recreation. The City maintains the southern half of the park, while the northern half is maintained by the non-profit New York Restoration Project.
Morgan Stanley Children's Hospital of New York-Presbyterian (MSCH or CHONY) is a pediatric hospital in New York City. Located at 3939 Broadway at West 165th Street in the Washington Heights neighborhood of Manhattan, New York City, it is a part of New York-Presbyterian Hospital and the Columbia University Medical Center. The hospital has a dedicated pediatric emergency department and is named after financial firm Morgan Stanley, which largely funded its construction through philanthropy.
The Mrs. Graham Fair Vanderbilt House is a mansion located at 60 East 93rd Street on the Upper East Side of Manhattan in New York City. It was added to the National Register of Historic Places on October 29, 1982.
Downtown Music Gallery is a long-running internationally known record store, mail-order, and performance space, in New York City, specializing in "Downtown Music", a recognized catchphrase for avant-garde jazz and contemporary composition, experimental, and improvisational music from around the world. It was founded in 1991, by Stephen Popkin and Bruce Lee Gallanter "Downtown Music Gallery, one of the few great record stores left in Manhattan and which was founded by Mr. Popkin and myself 23 years ago in May of 1991". Originally at 211 East 5th street for the first ten years of its existence, followed by seven years at 342 Bowery. It is currently located in Two Bridges, Manhattan, at 13 Monroe St. Bruce Lee Gallanter, the co-founder, and Emanuel 'MannyLunch' Maris, formerly the owner of Lunch For Your Ears, run the shop. The store also devotes an entire 700-CD display to John Zorn's Tzadik label, as it also operates the mail-fulfillment for the label. DMG features in-store live performances for free every Sunday night, and on other nights for special occasions. DMG also provides the telephone information service for The Stone performance space, founded 2005.
Gertrude Stein is an outdoor bronze sculpture of Gertrude Stein, located at Bryant Park in Manhattan, New York. The casting was installed in 1992 and is based on a model created by Jo Davidson in Paris in 1923. It neighbors the New York Public Library Main Branch, which, according to the New York City Department of Parks and Recreation, commemorates Stein's "significant literary contributions".
Mohandas Gandhi is an outdoor bronze sculpture depicting Mahatma Gandhi by Kantilal B. Patel, located at Union Square in Manhattan, New York. The statue was dedicated on October 2, 1986, the 117th anniversary of Gandhi's birth; civil rights leader Bayard Rustin delivered a keynote speech at the ceremony. It was donated by the Gandhi Memorial International Foundation and underwritten by Mohan B. Murjani of Murjani International.
The Mrs. O. H. P. Belmont House was a mansion located on 477 Madison Avenue and the northeast corner of 51st Street in Midtown Manhattan, New York City, New York, USA. The building was demolished in 1951.
The National Jazz Museum in Harlem is New York City's museum dedicated to preservation and celebration of Harlem's jazz history. The idea for the museum was conceived in 1995. The Museum was founded in 1997 by Leonard Garment, Counsel to two U.S. Presidents, and an accomplished jazz saxophonist, Abraham D. Sofaer, a former U.S. District Judge who gave the initial gift in honor of his brother-in-law Richard J. Scheuer, Jr., and matching funds from the Upper Manhattan Empowerment Zone. For more than 15 years the museum was based in East Harlem at 104 East 126th Street.
The New Era Building is an 1893 Art Nouveau commercial loft building at 495 Broadway, between Spring Street and Broome Street, in the SoHo section of Manhattan in New York City.
St. Vincent Ferrer High School is an all-girls, private, Roman Catholic high school located on the Upper East Side of Manhattan in New York City. It is located within the Roman Catholic Archdiocese of New York.
Stone Street is a short street in Manhattan's Financial District. It originally ran from Broad Street to Hanover Square, but was divided into two sections by the construction of the Goldman Sachs building at 85 Broad Street in the 1980s. Today the cluster of historic buildings along Stone, South William, Pearl Streets and Coenties Alley form the Stone Street Historic District.
The United Palace is a church and non-profit cultural and performing arts center located at 4140 Broadway between West 175th and 176th Streets in the Washington Heights neighborhood of Manhattan, New York City. A full-block building, it is bounded on the east by Wadsworth Avenue.
The United States Post Office Inwood Station is a historic post office building located at 90 Vermilyea Avenue at the corner of West 204th Street in the Inwood neighborhood of Manhattan, New York City. It was built between 1935 and 1937, and designed by consulting architect Carroll H. Pratt (1874-1958) for the Office of the Supervising Architect of the United States Department of the Treasury. It is a one-story brick building in the Colonial Revival style, with a three-bay-wide projecting entrance pavilion. It features a limestone cornice and frieze topped by a brick parapet.
The United States Post Office Old Chelsea Station, originally known as "Station O", is a historic post office building located at 217 West 18th Street in Chelsea, Manhattan, New York City. It was built in 1935, and designed by consulting architect Eric Kebbon for the Office of the Supervising Architect. The building is a seven bay wide two story brick building, trimmed in limestone in the Colonial Revival style. The main entrance features a ten light transom, Doric order pilasters, and a blind stone fanlight with carved eagles. The interior features two bas relief cast stone panels of woodland animals titled "Deer" and "Bear" executed in 1938 by artist Paul Fiene.
Veniero's Pasticceria & Caffé is an Italian bakery that was established in 1894, and is located at 342 East 11th Street (between First Avenue and Second Avenue), in the East Village neighborhood of Manhattan, New York City.
The High School for Health Professions and Human Services is a public high school in Manhattan, New York City. It is specialized for students preparing for careers in the healthcare and human resources fields.
The High School of Economics and Finance (HSEF) is a public high school in Manhattan, New York City. Located at 100 Trinity Place in the Financial District, the school's building was formerly the home of New York University's graduate business school. The school's curriculum incorporates study of corporate business and finance. College level accounting classes are offered to all students. The school cultivates business internship relationships with corporations including Deutsche Bank and Citigroup. HSEF's relationship with Citigroup is unique, since the New York City Department of Education partnered with the company to found the school in 1993.
Admiral David Glasgow Farragut, also known as the Admiral Farragut Monument, is an outdoor bronze sculpture of David Farragut by sculptor Augustus Saint-Gaudens on an exedra designed by architect Stanford White, located in Madison Square in Manhattan, New York. The statue, cast in 1880 and dedicated on May 25, 1881, is set on a Coopersberg (Pennsylvania) black granite pedestal.
The 107th Infantry Memorial is an outdoor bronze sculpture and memorial located at the intersection of East 67th Street and Fifth Avenue in Central Park, in Manhattan, New York, which honors members of the 107th Infantry who died during World War I. Created by the sculptor Karl Morningstar Illava (1896–1954), who "drew from his own experience serving as a sergeant with the 107th," according to the New York City Department of Parks & Recreation, the sculpture cost an estimated $60,000 at the time of its construction, depicts the actions of seven World War I-era soldiers, and rests on a 25-foot-wide stepped granite base designed by architects Rogers & Haneman.
Benito Juárez is an outdoor bronze sculpture of Benito Juárez by Moises Cabrera Orozco, located in Bryant Park in Manhattan, New York. Donated by the State of Oaxaca on behalf of the Mexican Government and the Mexican Trade Center, the portrait sculpture was cast in Mexico in 2002 and installed on October 9, 2004. It is the most recent statue in the park, and the first to depict a Mexican.
Bellerophon Taming Pegasus is an outdoor sculpture by Jacques Lipchitz, depicting Bellerophon and Pegasus. It was the final sculpture worked on by Lipchitz, and was completed after his death in 1973.
The Park Theatre, originally known as the New Theatre, was a playhouse in New York City, located at 21, 23, and 25 Park Row, about 200 feet (61 m) east of Ann Street and backing Theatre Alley. The location, at the north end of the city, overlooked the park that would soon house City Hall. French architect Marc Isambard Brunel collaborated with fellow émigré Joseph-François Mangin and his brother Charles on the design of the building in the 1790s. Construction costs mounted to precipitous levels, and changes were made in the design; the resulting theatre had a rather plain exterior. The doors opened in January 1798.
The Orpheum Theatre is a 299-seat Off-Broadway theatre on Second Avenue near the corner of St. Marks Place in the East Village neighborhood of lower Manhattan, New York City. It has been the home of the New York production of Stomp since it opened in 1994 with over 10,000 performances of the show having taken place there.
The Peace Fountain is a 1985 sculpture and fountain located next to the Cathedral of Saint John the Divine in the Morningside Heights section of New York City by Greg Wyatt, sculptor-in-residence at the Cathedral. The sculpture depicts the struggle of good and evil, as well as a battle between the Archangel Michael and Satan. The sculpture also contains the Sun, the Moon, and several animals. Although it is called a fountain, there is currently no water on the site. A plaque at the base contains the following inscription:
The Ethel Barrymore Theatre is a Broadway theatre located at 243 West 47th Street in the Theater District of Midtown Manhattan, New York City. It is named for acclaimed actress Ethel Barrymore.
The Eugene O'Neill Theatre is a Broadway theatre located at 230 West 49th Street in midtown Manhattan. The O’Neill Theatre, named after playwright Eugene O’Neill, is owned and operated by Jujamcyn Theaters. The house can accommodate up to 1108 guests and has been home to big hits, Big River, Spring Awakening, and the long-running 2011 Tony Award Best Musical winner, The Book of Mormon.
The Everard Baths or Everard Spa Turkish Bathhouse was a gay bathhouse at 28 West 28th Street in New York City that operated from 1888 to 1986. The venue occupied an adaptively reused church building and was the site of a deadly fire.
New York University's Fales Library and Special Collections is located on the third floor of the Elmer Holmes Bobst Library at 70 Washington Square South between LaGuardia Place and the Schwartz Plaza, in the Greenwich Village neighborhood of Manhattan, New York City. It houses nearly 200,000 volumes, and 10,000 feet (3,000 m) of archive and manuscript materials. It contains the Fales Collection of rare books and manuscripts in English and American literature, the Downtown Collection, the Food and Cookery Collection, and the general Special Collections from the NYU Libraries.
The Federal Office Building in New York City, also known as U.S. Appraisers' Warehouse, was built between 1892-99. It was listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 1974. It is a ten-story Romanesque style building bounded by Christopher, Greenwich, Barrow, and Washington Streets, about four blocks west of Sheridan Square. Architect Willoughby J. Edbrooke left his successful Chicago practice on being named supervising architect of the Treasury Department in 1891. He died before the completion of the building, but his influence and the influence of the Chicago School of Architecture is evident. The building now houses apartments and is called The Archive, after a former tenant of the building the National Archives.
The Film Center Building is a 13-story office building catering to businesses involved in film, theatre, music and audio production and exploitation. It is located at 630 Ninth Avenue between 44th and 45th Streets in the Hell's Kitchen or "Clinton" neighborhood of Manhattan, New York City. It was built in 1928–29 and was designed in Art Deco style by Ely Jacques Kahn of the firm of Buchman & Kahn. The building was listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 1984.
The Film Guild Cinema was a movie house designed by notable architectural theoretician and De Stijl member, Frederick Kiesler. It was located at 52 W. 8th St. in Greenwich Village, New York City. It was built in 1929. It was renamed the 8th Street Playhouse a year later.
Firehouse, Engine Company 33 and Ladder Company 9 is a New York City Fire Department firehouse at 42 Great Jones Street in Manhattan. It is the home of Engine Company 33 and Ladder Company 9. The building is a Beaux Arts structure built in 1899 by Ernest Flagg and W.B. Chambers.
Firehouse, Engine Company 31 is a historic fire station located at 87 Lafayette Street between Walker and White Streets in the Civic Center neighborhood of Manhattan, New York City. It was built in 1895 and designed by architects Napoleon LeBrun & Sons, who built it in the style of chateau in the Loire Valley of France from the early 16th-century.
The First Hungarian Reformed Church of New York (Hungarian: New York-i Első Magyar Református Egyház) is located on East 69th Street in the Upper East Side of the New York City borough of Manhattan. It is a stucco-faced brick building, completed in 1916 in a Hungarian vernacular architectural style, housing a congregation established in 1895.
First Houses is a public housing project in Manhattan in New York City and was one of the first public housing projects in the United States. First Houses were designated a New York City and National Historic Landmark in 1974. They are managed by the New York City Housing Authority.
First Shearith Israel Graveyard — also known as Chatham Square Cemetery — is a tiny Jewish graveyard at 55-57 St James Place in Lower Manhattan, New York City, New York. It is the oldest of three Manhattan graveyards currently maintained by Congregation Shearith Israel (Hebrew, "Remnant of Israel"), which is itself the oldest Jewish congregation in North America. (The Congregation was formed by Spanish and Portuguese Sephardic Jewish immigrants in 1654.) Today, the cemetery is a mere fragment of its original extent. Only about a hundred headstones and above ground tombs can still be seen in what remains of the old burial ground, which rises slightly above street level. It is the only remaining 17th century structure in Manhattan.
The Flatotel Hotel was a 289-room apartment-style business hotel in New York City. It opened in 1991 at 135 West 52nd Street in Midtown Manhattan, and went out of business in 2013 after being foreclosed. It is being converted to condominiums.
Florian Papp is an antiques gallery based in New York City, USA, established in 1900. One of the oldest in America, the company carries a collection of English and European antiques from the 18th through the 20th century.