3,589 items
Castle Leslie, also known as Glaslough House, is home to an Irish branch of Clan Leslie, is located on the 4 km2 (1,000-acre) Castle Leslie Estate adjacent to the village of Glaslough, 11 km (7 mi) northeast of Monaghan town in County Monaghan, Ireland.
website: https://www.castleleslie.com
Clontibret (Irish: Cluain Tiobrad, meaning 'well of the meadow') is a village and parish in County Monaghan, Ireland. The village population in the 2016 census was 172. Clontibret is also a parish in both Roman Catholic and Church of Ireland traditions. The territory of the parish also includes Annyalla and Doohamlet as well as smaller settlements such as Cremartin, Scotch Corner and Lisnagrieve.
Castleshane (Irish: Caisleán an tSiáin, meaning 'castle of the fairy mound') is a small village on the outskirts of Monaghan town in the north of County Monaghan in Ireland. The village is situated on the N2, the main road from Dublin to Derry and Letterkenny, and is located approximately 6 kilometres (3.7 mi) from Monaghan town and 17 km (11 mi) from Castleblayney. It is also located approximately 3 km (1.9 mi) away from the border with County Armagh, which is part of Northern Ireland.
Glaslough ( glas-LOKH; Irish: Glasloch, meaning 'green lake') is a village and townland in the north of County Monaghan, Ireland, on the R185 regional road 3 km (2 mi) south of the border with Northern Ireland and 10 km (6 mi) northeast of Monaghan town. Glaslough won the Irish Tidy Towns Competition in 1978 and again in 2019.
Annyalla or Annayalla (Irish: Eanaigh Gheala, meaning 'bright marshes or pools') is a small village and townland situated in the east of County Monaghan in Ireland between Castleblayney and Clontibret. As of the 2022 census, Annyalla had a population of 205. The village is located within the historical barony of Cremorne.
Glaslough railway station was on the Ulster Railway and is located in the Republic of Ireland. Upon the Partition of Ireland in 1921 it became the first station south of the border on the line.
Annaglogh was one of the larger lead mines in the Clontibret area of County Monaghan, Ireland. Annaglogh Mine is shown on the 1856 2nd edition OS map.
Lemgare Lead Mines is a mining company based in northeastern Ireland.
The Lisdrumgormley Lead Mines are a deposit in Ireland that was mined for lead as early as the 1840s. The underground workings consisted of narrow, 1.5m-wide slopes above a northwest–southeast-trending level. It was the subject of further exploration during the mid-1950s when the original shaft was reopened to a depth of 21 meters.
Tassan (Irish: An tEasán) is a townland in the parish of Clontibret in County Monaghan, Ireland.
Oram (Irish: Eoroim, meaning 'yew ridge') is a village and townland in County Monaghan, Ireland. The village is on the R182 road, about 5 kilometres (3 mi) north-east of Castleblayney. The village population was 186 at the 2016 census.
Mullyash Kerbed Cairn is a kerb cairn (bowl barrow) and National Monument located in County Monaghan, Ireland.
County Monaghan ( MON-ə-hən; Irish: Contae Mhuineacháin) is a county in Ireland. It is in the province of Ulster and is part of Border strategic planning area of the Northern and Western Region. It is named after the town of Monaghan. Monaghan County Council is the local authority for the county. The population of the county was 65,288, according to the 2022 census.
LAU (local administrative unit): IE01105, 01105; ISO 3166-2 code: IE-MN; FIPS 10-4 (countries and regions): EI22; website: https://monaghan.ie/
Monaghan ( MON-ə-hən; Irish: Muineachán [ˈmˠɪnʲəxaːnˠ]) is the county town of County Monaghan, Ireland. It also provides the name of its civil parish and Monaghan barony.
website: http://www.monaghantown.ie/
The Battle of the Yellow Ford was fought in County Armagh on 14 August 1598, during the Nine Years' War in Ireland. An English army of about 4,000, led by Henry Bagenal, was sent from the Pale to relieve the besieged Blackwater Fort. Marching from Armagh to the Blackwater, the column was routed by a Gaelic Irish army under Hugh O'Neill of Tyrone. O'Neill's forces divided the English column and a large earthwork stalled its advance. Bagenal was killed by an Irish musketeer, and scores of his men were killed and wounded when the English gunpowder wagon exploded. About 1,500 of the English army were killed and 300 deserted. After the battle, the Blackwater Fort surrendered to O'Neill. The battle marked an escalation in the war, as the English Crown greatly bolstered its military forces in Ireland, and many Irish lords who had been neutral joined O'Neill's alliance.
The Diocese of Clogher (Latin: Dioecesis Clogheriensis, Irish: Deoise Chlochair; , ) is a Latin Church diocese of the Catholic Church in Ireland. It was formed in 1111 at the Synod of Rathbreasail as the see for the Kingdom of Uí Chremthainn. It is part of the Province of Armagh.
website: http://www.clogherdiocese.ie/
Emyvale, known before the Plantation of Ulster as Scarnageeragh (Irish: Scairbh na gCaorach, meaning 'shallow ford of the sheep'), is a village and townland in the north of County Monaghan, Ireland. It is on the main Dublin to Derry and Letterkenny road, the N2, about 10 kilometres (6 mi) north of Monaghan and 8 km (5 mi) south of Aughnacloy. Its population is about 700. The village is located in the Barony of Truagh.
Newbliss (Irish: Cúil Darach, meaning 'corner of the oaktrees'), historically known as Lisdaragh (Irish: Lios Darach, meaning 'ringfort abounding in oak trees'), is a village and townland in the west of County Monaghan in Ireland. The village is 15 km south-west of Monaghan town where the R183 and R189 roads intersect.
Smithborough or Smithboro (Irish: Na Mullaí) is a village in County Monaghan, Ireland. It is within the townlands of Mullaghduff and Mullaghbrack, roughly midway between Monaghan town and Clones on the N54. Nearby villages within 6–7 km (3.7–4.3 mi) are Threemilehouse, Scotstown, Ballinode, and Newbliss all within County Monaghan and Roslea in County Fermanagh. The local football team is Éire Óg, who wear blue with a gold band.
St Tiernach's Park is the principal GAA stadium of Ulster GAA located in County Monaghan, Ireland. It is used mainly for Gaelic football.
Derryarrit (Irish: Doire Airid) is small a townland in the north of County Monaghan in Ireland. It is located to the south of Sheskin, and is 1.1 square kilometres (0.4 sq mi) in area.
Skeatry (Irish: Scéatraigh, meaning 'spewing/trickling of water') is a townland in the north of County Monaghan in Ireland. It covers an area of about 62 acres, which is approximately 0.25 square kilometers. The townland of Sheskin borders it to the North-East. It is located about 11km away from Monaghan town.
Clones Abbey is a ruined monastery that later became an Augustinian abbey in the twelfth century, and its main sights are ecclesiastical. It was formerly known as St. Tighernach Abbey, and was referred to locally as the "wee abbey". Parochial and monastic settlements were separated, and it seems likely that the building became the Abbey of St. Peter and Paul. In the Book of Armagh and Annals of Ulster the word Clones is referenced as "Clauin Auis" and "Cluain Auiss," respectively. As there is no word in standard dictionaries of Old Irish that give the form "auis" or "eois", Seosamh Ó Dufaigh has speculated that the word is a cognate of the Welsh word for point or a tip: "awch". Bearnard O'Dubhthaigh disputes this theory on the grounds that the earlier form of "awch" is "afwch". Folklore suggests that the monastic town was originally called "Cluin Innish" due to being surrounded by water.
The Clones Film Festival is a film festival in Clones, Ireland. It was launched in 2001 and is steadily growing to be the biggest event of its type in the area. Organised by Lmb Entertainments,
website: http://clonesfilmfestival.com/
Harvest Time Blues (also referred to as the Monaghan Rhythm and Blues Festival) is an annual music festival held in Monaghan town, in Ireland. Since its launch in 1990, it has been described as "one of Ireland's leading live music festivals". Performers appearing at the festival have included Van Morrison, Peter Green of Fleetwood Mac, and ex-The Rolling Stones guitarist Mick Taylor.
website: http://www.harvestblues.com
Monaghan County Museum (Irish: Músaem Chontae Mhuineacháin) is a museum which documents the history of County Monaghan.
website: http://www.monaghan.ie/en/services/museum/
Dartree (Irish: Dartraí) is a barony in County Monaghan, Ireland.
The R187 road is a regional road in Ireland, located in County Monaghan. It runs from the N54 to the border, where it continues as the B36 road to Rosslea, County Fermanagh.
The R197 road is a regional road in Ireland, located in County Cavan.
Monaghan (Irish: Muineachán) is a barony in County Monaghan, Ireland.
Truagh (; Irish: An Triúcha) is a barony in the north of County Monaghan in Ireland.
Cairnbaine, also called Tiredigan Court Tomb, is a court cairn and National Monument in County Monaghan, Ireland.
St. Davnet's Hospital (Irish: Ospidéal Naomh Damhnait) is a psychiatric hospital in Monaghan, County Monaghan, Ireland.
website: http://www.hse.ie/eng/services/list/1/LHO/CavanMonaghan/Mental_Health_Services/stdavnets/stdavnetshistory/
Clones railway station was a station on the Great Northern Railway (Ireland) that served the town of Clones, County Monaghan in the Ireland.
Gortakeegan Stadium (Irish: Gort an Chaocháin ) is an association football venue in the Republic of Ireland based in Monaghan. It has been the home ground of former League of Ireland club Monaghan United since 1988. The ground has an 528-seater covered stand and an overall capacity of 5,000. Floodlights were added in 1995 and a new stand was officially opened by Mick McCarthy in 1996.
The Market House, in Monaghan, Ireland, was designed by Colonel William Hayes of Avondale, Rathdrum, County Wicklow, and stands in the middle of Market Square. Completed in 1792, the building is of five bays in length with the centre three arches projected with a secondary pediment. The outer bays contain blank windows. The ends of the Market House have large rusticated arches flanked by round headed niches. Above all the arches are inset panels with festoons while the blank windows and niches have medallions. At the eastern end the pediment contains a carved Conygham (later Rossmore) coat of arms.
Monaghan General Hospital (Irish: Ospidéal Mhuineacháin) is a hospital in the town of Monaghan, County Monaghan, Ireland.
website: https://www.hse.ie/eng/services/list/3/acutehospitals/hospitals/cavanmonaghan/cavan-monaghan-hospital.html
Monaghan railway station was on the Ulster Railway designed by Sir John Macneil located in the Republic of Ireland. It was part of the Great Northern Railway of Ireland railway system.
Monaghan Road railway station was on the Dundalk and Enniskillen Railway in the Republic of Ireland.
Newbliss railway station was on the Dundalk and Enniskillen Railway in the Republic of Ireland. It served Newbliss.
Rossmore Castle, also known as Rossmore Park, was a castle on the outskirts of Monaghan in County Monaghan, Ireland. It was built in the Gothic style in 1827 and was the seat of the Barons Rossmore, but fell into disrepair in the 1940s when the family moved to Camla Vale, and was demolished in the 1970s.
Rossmore Forest Park is a national forest park located in County Monaghan in Ireland run by the Irish States forestry organisation, Coillte. It is situated approximately 5km outside Monaghan town and has its main entrance on the R189 Threemilehouse/Newbliss Road.
St Macartan's Cathedral is the cathedral church of the Roman Catholic Diocese of Clogher in Ireland. It is located in the townland of Latlurcan, Monaghan town in the ecclesiastical parish of Monaghan and Rackwallace. It was built between the years of 1861 and 1893 and is the only cathedral in the county.
Clones Market House (Irish: Teach an Mhargaidh Cluain Eois), also known as Clones Town Hall (Irish: Halla an Bhaile Cluain Eois) is a municipal building at The Diamond in Clones, County Monaghan, Ireland. It is currently used by Monaghan County Council as a venue for the delivery of local services.
Monaghan Town Hall (Irish: Halla an Bhaile Muineachán), is a municipal building in Dublin Street, Monaghan, County Monaghan, Ireland. The building is currently used by Monaghan County Council as local municipal offices.
Aghafin (from Irish: Achadh Fionn, meaning "White River", referring to the River Finn) is a townland in the Electoral Division of Clones Rural, in the Barony of Dartree, in County Monaghan, Ireland.
Monaghan Courthouse is a judicial facility in Monaghan, County Monaghan, Ireland
The County Offices (Irish: Oifigí an Chontae, Muineachán) is a municipal facility at Monaghan, County Monaghan, Ireland.
Natura 2000 site ID: IE0001786
Doohamlet ( doo-HAM-lit; Irish: Dúthamlacht, meaning 'black burial place'), is a village and townland on the Castleblayney–Ballybay road in County Monaghan, Ireland. It is part of a wider parish of Clontibret in the diocese of Clogher. Doohamlet village is located approximately three miles from the N2 Dublin-Derry route on the R183 road. The wider district comprises around thirty townlands.
Inniskeen, officially Inishkeen (Irish: Inis Caoin, meaning 'peaceful island'), is a small village, townland and parish in County Monaghan, Ireland, close to the County Louth and County Armagh borders. The village is located about 17 kilometres (11 mi) from Dundalk, 11 km (7 mi) from Carrickmacross, and 5 km (3 mi) from Crossmaglen. Seven townlands of this Roman Catholic Diocese of Clogher parish lie within County Louth.
Hope Castle is a historic house and demesne in Castleblayney, County Monaghan, Ireland. Originally a private home, over the course of the 20th century, Hope Castle was used as a military barracks, a hospital, convent, and was most recently used as a hotel before it was damaged by a fire in 2010.
Castleblayney (; Irish: Baile na Lorgan) is a town in County Monaghan, Ireland. The town had a population of 3,926 as of the 2022 census. Castleblayney is near the border with County Armagh in Northern Ireland, and lies on the N2 road from Dublin to Derry and Letterkenny.
Lisnadarragh Wedge Tomb is a prehistoric site, a wedge tomb about 16 kilometres (10 mi) west of Carrickmacross, in County Monaghan near the border with County Cavan, in Ireland.
The River Fane (Irish: Abhainn Átha Féan) is a river flowing from County Monaghan to Dundalk Bay in County Louth, Ireland.
Killanny (Irish: Cill Eanaigh) is a civil parish in Counties Louth and Monaghan in the mid-east of Ireland. Killanny is also a Catholic parish in the Diocese of Clogher. It is named after Saint Enda of Aran, known by the diminutive Éanna. The civil parish consists of 31 townlands in County Monaghan and 11 in County Louth. The townland of Killany, which can also be spelled Killanny or Killaney, lies within County Louth and contains the old St. Ultan's parish church and graveyard. The main Dublin–Derry road passes through Killanny. Several small lakes are to be found throughout the parish and the soil quality is superior to that of the north of Carrickmacross, reflecting the underlying limestone rock.
Farney (Irish: Fearnaigh) is a barony in County Monaghan, Ireland.
Carrickmacross railway station was on the Great Northern Railway (Ireland) in the Republic of Ireland.
Castleblayney railway station was on the Dundalk and Enniskillen Railway in the Republic of Ireland.
Culloville railway station was on the Dundalk and Enniskillen Railway in the Republic of Ireland.
Dún na Rí Forest Park is a forest park situated on the County Cavan–County Monaghan border in Ireland. The park itself borders the Shercock and Carrickmacross roads, more specifically at Magheracloone and Kingscourt. It forms a part of the old Cabra Estate.
Essexford railway station was on the Great Northern Railway (Ireland) in the Republic of Ireland.
Inniskeen railway station was on the Dundalk and Enniskillen Railway in the Republic of Ireland.
Castleblayney Hurling Club is a hurling club based in the town of Castleblayney, County Monaghan, Ireland. They are the most successful hurling club in Monaghan, having won the senior championship 34 times. It is a separate club from Castleblayney Faughs, the town's Gaelic football club.
Lough Egish (Irish: Loch Éigis, meaning 'lake of the learned man') is a rural area in County Monaghan, Ireland, which takes its name from the local lake, Lough Egish. It is situated approximately midway between Ballybay, Castleblayney and Carrickmacross.
Ballybay Pearse Brothers Gaelic Football Club is a Gaelic football club based in Ballybay, County Monaghan, Ireland.
The Kingscourt Gypsum is a geologic formation in Ireland. It preserves fossil flora dating back to the Wuchiapingian stage of the late Permian period.
The Kingscourt Sandstone is a geologic formation in Ireland. It preserves fossils dating back to the Triassic period.
Kiltybegs is a townland in County Monaghan, Ireland.
Muckno Lake (Irish: Loch Mucnú), also known as Lough Muckno, is a freshwater lake in the northeast of Ireland. It is located in County Monaghan beside the town of Castleblayney.
The R180 road is a regional road in County Monaghan, Ireland.
Cremorne (Irish: Críoch Mhúrn) is a barony in County Monaghan, Ireland.
Mannan Castle is a motte-and-bailey and National Monument located in Donaghmoyne Townland, Tullynacross, on site of the Mannan Castle Golf Club, in County Monaghan, Ireland.
Lough na Glack is a lake in County Monaghan, Ireland. It is located 1.75 kilometres (1 mi) southeast of Carrickmacross.
Castleblayney Faughs are a Gaelic football club based in the town of Castleblayney, County Monaghan, Ireland. They are the most successful club in the Monaghan Senior Football Championship, having won the competition 37 times, and have also won the Ulster Senior Club Football Championship twice. It is a separate club from Castleblayney Hurling Club, the town's hurling club.
Carrickmacross Emmets is a Gaelic football club from Carrickmacross in County Monaghan in Ireland. The club was founded in 1887. The club participates in Monaghan competitions. The club has won the Monaghan Senior Football Championship eight times and have come runner-up seven times. The club colours are green and yellow. The first club grounds played on were Athletic Grounds, then the Gaelic Grounds. In 1938, the club moved to its present grounds at Emmet Park, which was developed into one of the best venues in the county. It was officially opened in 1953 when Monaghan played Meath. In later years the club secured property on the Donaghmoyne Road and developed a full size playing pitch and a training area along with changing facilities that can cater for four teams. The site is chiefly used for training purposes for adult and juvenile teams as well as ladies and hurling teams, but games are played there when necessary.
Kingspan Group plc is a building materials company headquartered in Ireland, trading in over 80 countries with more than 273 sites employing 25,401 people as of December 2024. The company operates with six divisions; Insulated Panels, Insulation, Light & Air, Water & Energy, and, Data & Flooring, Roof & Waterproofing.
website: http://www.kingspan.com
Magheracloone Mitchells is a Gaelic Athletic Association Gaelic football club from the parish of Magheracloone in County Monaghan, Ireland. The team participate in the Monaghan Senior Football Championship. The Magheracloone Mitchells GAA club pitch is situated on the main Carrickmacross-Kingscourt Road. On the site there are two pitches (the main pitch and a training pitch), modern changing rooms as well as a community centre and a handball alley.
Street address: Carra, Newtownbutler, Co Fermanagh, BT92 6DW (from Wikidata)
The River Shannon (Irish: an tSionainn, Abhainn na Sionainne or archaic an tSionna) is the major river on the island of Ireland, and at 360 km (224 miles) in length, is the longest river in the British Isles. It drains the Shannon River Basin, which has an area of 16,900 km2 (6,525 sq mi), – approximately one fifth of the area of Ireland.
Tullyhaw (Irish: Teallach Eathach, which means 'the Territory of Eochaidh', an ancestor of the McGoverns, who lived c. 650 AD) is a Barony in County Cavan in Ireland. The area has been in constant occupation since pre-4000 BC. Located in the northwest of the county, it has been referred to as Cavan's panhandle. Tullyhaw was originally a túath within West Bréifne. It was later absorbed into East Bréifne in the sixteenth century.
The Owenmore River (Irish: Abhainn Mór, meaning "Big River") rises in the Cuilcagh Mountains, in the townland of Dunmakeever, civil parish of Kinawley, Roman Catholic parish of Glangevlin, Barony of Tullyhaw, County Cavan. It then flows in a north-west direction and ends in the River Shannon in Gowlat townland.[1] It has a fish population of brown trout. The Book of Magauran, dating to the 1350s, mentions an Abhainn Mór (Poem XV, stanza 9) but from the geographical description it probably means the Yellow River at Ballinamore rather than the Owenmore River. What cannot be disputed is the Owenmore River's claim to be the "true" headwaters of the River Shannon with the infant Shannon just a minor tributary of it. The Owenmore flows west for 14.5 km (9.0 mi) through the valley of Glangevlin before joining the Shannon about 3 km (2 mi) below the Shannon Pot at Lugnashinna, thus adding 11 km (7 mi) to the Shannon's overall length, taking it from 360 km (224 mi) to 372 km (231 mi).
Gubrawoolly or Gubrawully (Irish derived place name either Gob a Raith Bhuailidh, meaning the 'Headland of the Dairy Fort' or Gob an Mhullaigh, meaning the ‘Headland of the Summit’) is a townland in the civil parish of Kinawley, barony of Tullyhaw, County Cavan, Ireland.
The Calf House or Druid's Altar is a portal tomb or dolmen in Burren Forest, County Cavan, Ireland. It dates from Neolithic times. It is located close to the Giant's Leap wedge tomb.
Street address: Elphin Library, Main Street, Elphin, Roscommon, F45 VW27 (from Wikidata)
The River Suck (Irish: An tSuca [ənˠ ˈt̪ˠʊkə]) is a river within the Shannon River Basin in Ireland, 133 km (82.5 mi) in length. It is the main tributary of the River Shannon. It meets the Shannon a kilometre south of the village of Shannonbridge.
The R326 road is a regional road in Ireland, located in County Roscommon.
Castlerea Railway Museum, formerly known as Hells Kitchen Railway Museum, is a private railway museum on Main Street, Castlerea, County Roscommon in Ireland.
Cloonshanville High Cross is a high cross which is a National Monument in County Roscommon, Ireland.
Castlereagh (Irish: An Caisleán Riabhach) is a barony in County Roscommon, Ireland. It is named after the town of Castlerea within the barony. Its area in 1891 was 82,081 acres (33,217 ha).
Natura 2000 site ID: IE0000218
Natura 2000 site ID: IE0000597
The Cladagh River (Irish: An Chlaideach or "washing river"), Claddagh or Swanlinbar River, is a moderately large river which forms from a number of small streams rising in Commas townland on the south-eastern slopes of Cuilcagh Mountain, County Cavan, and flows through the village of Swanlinbar, before crossing the border into County Fermanagh and eventually flowing into Upper Lough Erne. It is ultra-oligotrophic upstream before gradually becoming oligotrophic and oligo-mesotrophic through its middle and lower reaches.
Is loch i gContae Mhuineacháin é Loch Éigis.
Rockcorry (Irish: Buíochar), historically known as Newtowncorry (or Cribby, from the Irish language term cré buí meaning yellow earth), is a village and townland in County Monaghan, Ireland. The village is located close to Dartrey Forest on the R188 (which links Cootehill to Monaghan town).
Scotshouse (Irish: Teach an Scotaigh) is a small agricultural village in the parish of Currin in County Monaghan, Ireland. It is roughly three miles east of where the counties of Cavan, Fermanagh and Monaghan meet. Scotshouse is about 7 kilometres (4 mi) from Clones, 18 km (11 mi) from Cavan town and 27 km (17 mi) away from Monaghan town.
The R188 road is a regional road in Ireland, located in County Cavan and County Monaghan.
The R191 road is a regional road in Ireland, located in County Cavan and County Meath.
White Lough, also known as White Lake and Bairds Shore, is a freshwater lake in the northeast of Ireland. It is located in County Monaghan in the catchment of the River Erne. The lake is also used as a raw water source for Stranooden Group Water Scheme.
Lisnagowan Ringfort is a ringfort (rath) and National Monument located in County Cavan, Ireland.
Drum (Irish: An Droim, meaning 'the ridge') is a village and townland in the west of County Monaghan in Ireland. It is one of the only Protestant-majority settlements in the Republic of Ireland.
Dartrey Forest (sometimes Dartrey Estate or Dawson Grove Estate) is a forest and estate near Rockcorry in north-west County Monaghan, Ireland. It was formerly part of the Barony of Dartrey and was the country estate of the Dawson family, who had the title Earl of Dartrey from 1866 to 1933.
The Kingdom of East Breifne or Breifne O'Reilly (Old Irish: Muintir-Maelmordha; Irish: Bréifne Uí Raghallaigh, IPA: [ˈbʲɾʲeːfʲnʲə iː ˈɾˠəil̪ˠiː]) was an historic kingdom of Ireland roughly corresponding to County Cavan that existed from 1256 to 1607. It took its present boundaries in 1579 when East Breifne was renamed Cavan, after Cavan town, and shired into Ulster.
Tullygarvey (Irish: Teallach Ghairbhíth) is one of eight Baronies in the County of Cavan. The area has been in constant occupation since pre-4000 BC. The Barony of Tullygarvey consists of the parishes of Kill and Drung and parts of Annagh, Drumgoon and Laragh.
East Cavan Gaels GAA is a Gaelic Athletic Association club located in East Cavan, Ireland. The club is primarily concerned with the game of hurling.
Corleck Hill is a low hill or drumlin in the townland of Corleck, County Cavan, Ireland. The hill was a site for Lughnasadh gatherings, a Gaelic harvest festival which continued to be celebrated until the early modern period.
Clankee (Irish: Clann Chaoich) is a barony in County Cavan, Ireland. Baronies were mainly cadastral rather than administrative units. They acquired modest local taxation and spending functions in the 19th century before being superseded by the Local Government (Ireland) Act 1898.
Loughtee Upper (Irish: Lucht Tí Uachtarach), or Upper Loughtee, is a barony in County Cavan, Ireland. Baronies were mainly cadastral rather than administrative units. They acquired modest local taxation and spending functions in the 19th century before being superseded by the Local Government (Ireland) Act 1898.
Drung (Irish: Drong, meaning 'assembly') is a civil and ecclesiastical parish in County Cavan in Ireland. It takes its name from a townland of the same name. The Catholic parish is in the Diocese of Kilmore and the Church of Ireland parish is in the Diocese of Kilmore, Elphin and Ardagh. The civil parish of Drung is within the historical barony of Tullygarvey.
Bailieboro Shamrocks Gaelic Athletic Association (also spelled Bailieborough) is a Gaelic football, camogie and ladies' Gaelic football club based in Bailieborough, County Cavan in Ireland.
Denn is a civil parish in County Cavan in the Republic of Ireland with three churches.
website: https://www.sserenewables.com/onshore-wind/ireland/bindoo/
Natura 2000 site ID: IE0000600
Natura 2000 site ID: IE0002110
Natura 2000 site ID: IE0002338
Street address: Castlerea Library, Main Street, Castlerea, Roscommon, F45 C8P7 (from Wikidata)
Cannakill is an abandoned village located in County Offaly, Ireland.
Killucan (Irish: Cill Liúcainne) is a civil parish in County Westmeath, Ireland. It is located about 14 kilometres (9 mi) east of Mullingar.
Milltownpass Bog is a peat bog in County Westmeath, Ireland. The bog is near the village of Milltownpass on the R446 regional road.
The Downs Gaelic Athletic Association (Na Dúnta Cumann Lúthchleas Gael) is a Gaelic football and ladies' Gaelic football club located in County Westmeath, Ireland.
Castlejordan (Irish: Caisleán Shiurdáin) is a civil parish in County Meath and County Offaly, Ireland. It is located to the south of Kinnegad.
Martinstown Castle is a ruined castle located in the townland of Martinstown, south of Delvin, County Westmeath, Ireland. The ruin consists of a three-story tower with an interior staircase. Due to similarities with Talbot's Castle in Trim, County Meath, the castle is believed to date back to the 15th century.
Farbill (Irish: Fir Bhile) is a barony in east County Westmeath, in Ireland. It was formed by 1672. It is bordered by County Meath to the south and east and three other baronies: Fartullagh (to the south–west), Moyashel and Magheradernon (to the north–east) and Delvin (to the north). The largest centre of population in the barony is the town of Kinnegad.
The R441 road, also called the Rhode–Edenderry Road, is a regional road in Ireland, located in County Offaly.
Warrenstown (Irish: Baile an Bhairínigh) is a barony in County Offaly (formerly King's County), Ireland.
Milltownpass GAA is a Gaelic Athletic Association club located in the town of Milltownpass in County Westmeath, Ireland. It lives in the shadow of its neighbours, St. Mary's, Rochfortridge.
Mullingar Shamrocks is a Gaelic Athletic Association club located in the town of Mullingar in County Westmeath, Ireland.
Tyrrellspass GAA is a Gaelic Athletic Association club located in the town of Tyrrellspass in County Westmeath, Ireland.
St Mary's is the Gaelic football club in the village of Rochfortbridge, Westmeath, Ireland.
The R206 road is a regional road in Ireland, located in the border region of County Cavan.
The Battle of Magh Slécht took place at Magh Slécht in Ireland in 1256. The battle was part of a wider conflict between the O'Rourke rulers of Breifne and their traditional O'Reilly vassals over control of the kingdom. Both sides were assisted by their respective allies, the O'Connor kings of Connacht and their Burke opponents. The battle marks the site at which the Kingdom of Breifne was left permanently divided, creating West Breifne (O'Rourke) and East Breifne (O'Reilly).
Natura 2000 site ID: IE0000584
Natura 2000 site ID: IE0002342
Street address: 12 Colonel Perry Street, Edenderry, Co. Offaly, Ireland (from Wikidata)
County Westmeath (; Irish: Contae na hIarmhí or simply An Iarmhí) is a county in Ireland. It is in the province of Leinster and is part of the Eastern and Midland Region. It formed part of the historic Kingdom of Meath, which was named Mide because the kingdom was located in the geographical centre of Ireland (the word Mide meaning 'middle'). Westmeath County Council is the administrative body for the county, and the county town is Mullingar. At the 2022 census, the population of the county was 95,840.
FIPS 10-4 (countries and regions): EI29; ISO 3166-2 code: IE-WH; LAU (local administrative unit): IE01204, 01204
Abbeyshrule (Irish: Mainistir Shruthla, meaning 'monastery of the river') is a village in south-east County Longford, Ireland, on the River Inny and the Royal Canal. The village is in a civil parish of the same name.
The River Brosna (Irish: An Bhrosnach) is a river within the Shannon River Basin in Ireland, flowing through County Westmeath and County Offaly.
The River Inny (Irish: An Eithne) is a river within the Shannon River Basin in Ireland. It is 88.5 kilometres (55.0 mi) in length, and has a number of lakes along its course.
Colehill (Irish: Cnoc na Góla) is a village and townland in south-east County Longford, Ireland. Its Irish name was historically anglicised as Knocknagoal and Knocknagole.
Rathconrath (Irish: Ráth Conarta) is a village in County Westmeath, Ireland. It is situated on the R392 regional road 12 km (7.5 mi) west of Mullingar.
Taghshinny, also written as Tashinny (Irish: Teach Sinche, meaning 'house of Sineach'), is a village and civil parish in south-east County Longford, Ireland, north-east of Ballymahon. It is also in a townland of the same name.
Abbeyshrule Aerodrome is a small private airfield located in south-east County Longford, Ireland, near the village of Abbeyshrule, 12 NM (22 km; 14 mi) west north-west of Mullingar and beside the River Inny and the Royal Canal.
ICAO airport code: EIAB
Coláiste Mhuire is a voluntary secondary school in Mullingar, County Westmeath, Ireland. The school officially opened its doors to students on 20 October 1856 and is the oldest post primary school in the town. It is based partly in the Hevey Institute and elsewhere in extensions which were built in the 1970s, 2005 & 2021. A further new development is planned for 2026/2027. The school is a member of the Edmund Rice Schools Trust which is a network of Catholic secondary schools in Ireland, and is located adjacent to St Mary's Primary School and the Cathedral of Christ the King.
website: https://www.cbsmullingar.ie/
Farra School or Farragh College was established in 1758 as a charter school located near Bunbrosna, County Westmeath, Ireland.
Templeoran (Irish: Teampall Odhráin, meaning 'Oran's church') is a civil parish in County Westmeath, Ireland. It is located about 8 km (5 mi) north‑west of Mullingar.
Fartullagh (Irish: Fir Thulach), previously Tyrrells country, is a barony in south–east County Westmeath, in Ireland. It was formed by 1542. It is bordered by County Offaly to the south and three other baronies: Moycashel (to the west), Moyashel and Magheradernon (to the north) and Farbill (to the north–east).
Moyashel and Magheradernon (Irish: Maigh Asail agus Machaire Ó dTiarnáin) is a barony in the centre of County Westmeath, in Ireland, formed by 1672. It is bordered by eight other baronies: Corkaree and Fore (to the north), Delvin and Farbill (to the east), Fartullagh and Moycashel (to the south) and Rathconrath and Moygoish (to the west).
Moycashel (Irish: Maigh Chaisil), previously the barony of Rossaughe, and before that, Delamares country, is a barony in south County Westmeath, in Ireland. It was formed by 1542. It is bordered by three other baronies: Clonlonan to the west, Rathconrath to the north, Moyashel and Magheradernon to the north-east and Fartullagh to the west. The largest population centre is Kilbeggan.
The R389 road is a regional road in Ireland, located in County Westmeath.
Rathconrath (Irish: Ráth Conarta), previously the barony of Rathcomyrta, before that Daltons country, is a barony in the west of County Westmeath, in Ireland. It was formed by 1542. It is bordered by County Longford to the north–west and five other Westmeath baronies: Moygoish to the north, Moyashel and Magheradernon to the east, Moycashel and Clonlonan to the south and Kilkenny West to the west. The village of Rathconrath is not synonymous with the barony of the same name.
Wattstown Barrows are two tumuli (barrows) which form a National Monument in County Westmeath, Ireland.
Tudenham Park House (Irish: Teach Tudenham), originally called Rochfort House, is an 18th-century Palladian limestone country house located in Tudenham Park on the Rochfort Demesne near Belvedere House and Gardens beside Lough Ennell, County Westmeath, Ireland.
Castlelost Castle (Irish: Caisleán Loiste, meaning 'castle of the losset') is a ruined motte-and-bailey castle located in the townland of Castlelost, just north of Rochfortbridge in County Westmeath, Ireland. The castle dates to the Norman invasion of Ireland, with some sources dating its construction to the late 12th century and associating it with Hugh Tyrrel (died 1199). The castle remained within the Tyrrel family through the 16th century. During the 17th century, the castle and surrounding lands were lost by the Tyrrels during the Irish Rebellion of 1641 and subsequent Cromwellian conquest of Ireland.The only visible features still on the site are the ruined tower house as well as a small nearby motte. The castle, its motte and the remnants of a nearby bailey (courtyard) are listed on the Record of Monuments and Places for County Westmeath.
The Dublin–Galway Greenway is a partially completed 'coast-to-coast' greenway and partial rail trail, in Ireland, funded by the Department of Transport, which is due to become the western section of EuroVelo EV2, a cycle route from Galway, Ireland, crossing Europe and ending in Moscow, Russia. The 276 kilometres (171 mi) route was planned to be completed by 2020. It is due to be the fourth greenway in Ireland, after the Great Southern Trail, the Great Western Greenway and the Waterford Greenway.
Columb Barracks (Irish: Dún Cholumb) was a military installation at Mullingar in Ireland.
Ballynegall House (sometimes spelled "Ballynagall") is a ruined Regency-style country house in Ballynagall townland, County Westmeath, Ireland. The house was constructed around 1808 and was designed by the architect Francis Johnston.
Kilbixy (Irish: Cill Bhiscí) is a civil parish in County Westmeath, Ireland. It is located about 13 km (8 mi) north‑west of Mullingar. The village of Ballynacarrigy is the largest settlement in the parish.
Kilcoursey (Irish: Cill Chuairsí) is a barony in County Offaly (formerly King's County), Ireland.
Mullingar Town Park is a public park situated in the centre of Mullingar, a town in County Westmeath, Ireland. Originally opened in the 1960s, the park includes several playgrounds, a swimming pool and a large pond near the centre. Annebrook House Hotel is located within the park.
Raheenmore Bog is a raised bog north-west of Daingean, County Offaly, in Ireland. Since the 1980s the greater part of the bog has been maintained as a 162 hectare Nature Reserve, which is currently managed by the National Parks and Wildlife Service. A Special Area of Conservation covers 182 ha, including some land in private ownership.
Tristernagh Abbey (Irish: Mainistir Thriostarnaí, IPA: ˈmˠanʲəʃtʲəɾʲˈhɾʲɪsˠt̪ˠəɾˠn̪ˠiː), also known as the Priory of Kilbixy or Kilbisky, Tristernagh Priory, or the priory of the Blessed Virgin Mary of Tristernagh, is a ruined Augustinian monastery in the townland of Tristernagh in the barony of Kilbixy in County Westmeath, Ireland. It is situated on the shores of Lough Iron, about 3 kilometres (1.9 mi) north east of the village of Ballynacargy.
Tyrrellspass Castle is a medieval castle in Tyrrellspass, County Westmeath, Ireland. Dating back to circa 1411, it is the only remaining castle of the Tyrrells who came to Ireland around the time of the Norman Invasion.
Irish (Standard Irish: Gaeilge), also known as Irish Gaelic (Gaeilge na hÉireann) or simply Gaelic ( GAY-lik), is a Celtic language within the Indo-European language family native to the Irish people and indigenous to the island of Ireland. It was the first language of the majority of the population until the 19th century, when English gradually became dominant, particularly in the last decades of the century, in what is sometimes characterised as a result of linguistic imperialism.
Fr. Dalton's Hurling Club is a hurling club based in Ballymore, County Westmeath, Ireland.
Cloncrow Bog (New Forest) is a peat bog in County Westmeath, Ireland. The bog is near the village of Tyrrellspass on the R446 regional road.
Meedin (Irish: Mídín), also Meedian, is a village and townland in County Westmeath, Ireland. It is located in the south of the county on the N52 road, to the north of Tyrrellspass and Rochfortbridge and to the south of Mullingar.
County Buildings is a municipal facility in Mullingar, County Westmeath, Ireland.
Dalystown (Irish: Baile Uí Dhálaigh) is a village in Carrick, County Westmeath, Ireland. It is located in the south of the county on the N52 road, to the north of Tyrrellspass and Rochfortbridge.
Dysart (Irish: An Díseart, meaning 'the hermitage') is a village in County Westmeath, Ireland. It is located on the R391 road, to the west of Mullingar. Lough Ennell is located to the east.
Glencara is a village in County Westmeath, Ireland. It is 15 km west of Mullingar, at the crossroads of the R389 and the L5342 roads.
Shandonagh (Irish: Seandomhnach), also Shanonagh, is a village in County Westmeath, Ireland. It is located on the R392 road, to the west of Mullingar.
Ballinagore GAA is a Gaelic Athletic Association club in County Westmeath, Ireland. The club is affiliated to the Westmeath county board.
Natura 2000 site ID: IE0000582
Natura 2000 site ID: IE0001831
Carrickmacross (Irish: Carraig Mhachaire Rois, meaning 'rock of the wooded plain') is a town in County Monaghan, Ireland. The population was 5,745 at the 2022 census, making it the second-largest town in the county. Carrickmacross is a market town which developed around a castle built by the Earl of Essex in 1630. The town is 20km west of Dundalk and 75km north-north-west of Dublin city centre and 106km south west of Belfast. Carrickmacross won the European Entente Florale Silver Medal Award in 1998.
website: http://www.carrickmacross.ie/
Arvagh (Irish: Árṁaċ/Ármhach, meaning 'division or place of slaughter'), or Arva, is a town in County Cavan, Ireland, on the shores of Garty Lough and overlooked by Bruse Mountain. It is located on the junction of the R198 and R203 regional roads.
Belturbet (; Irish: Béal Tairbirt, meaning 'mouth of the isthmus') is a town in County Cavan, Ireland. It lies on the N3 road, around 14 km (8.7 mi) north of Cavan town and 123 km (76 mi) from Dublin. It is also located around 4 km (2.5 mi) south of the border with County Fermanagh, part of Northern Ireland, and is 36 km (22 mi) from Enniskillen. As of the 2022 census, the population was 1,610.
The Killycluggin Stone is a large decorated stone dated probably from the second half of the first millenium BC, during what prehistorians call the Iron Age. The Killyclugin stone was found in the townland of Killycluggin, County Cavan, in Ireland. Dating roughly from when the first Celtic peoples arrived in Ireland. Celtic style culture of this period is called La Tene La Tène designs, it was discovered broken in several pieces, partly buried close to a stone circle, inside which it probably once stood. The original stone is preserveed inside in the Cavan County Museum, while an imperfect replica copy stands near the road about 300 metres from the original site.
Crossdoney (Irish: Cros Domhnaigh, meaning 'cross of the church') is a village and townland in County Cavan, Ireland. The village is on the R154 regional road where it terminates at a junction with the R198. Peculiarly, all buildings in the village sit on one side of the road, and this gives rise to the widely used local expression: "All to one side like Crossdoney".
LAU (local administrative unit): IE32054, 32054
Killeshandra or Killashandra (Irish: Cill na Seanrátha, meaning 'church of the old rath or ring-fort') is a small town or village and civil parish in County Cavan, Ireland. It is located 20 kilometres (12 mi) west of Cavan Town. Killeshandra town has a long record of participation in the National Tidy Towns competition and has won several awards.
The Diocese of Kilmore (Latin: Dioecesis Kilmorensis; Irish: Deoise na Cille Móire) is a Latin Catholic diocese which is mainly in the Republic of Ireland although a few parishes are in Northern Ireland. It is one of eight suffragan dioceses which are subject to the Metropolitan Archdiocese of Armagh.
website: http://www.kilmorediocese.ie/
Aghavoher (from Irish Achadh an Mhothair, meaning 'field of the trees or mound') is small a townland in the civil parish of Tomregan, County Cavan, Ireland. It is approximately 0.9 square kilometres (0.35 sq mi) in area and lies in the former barony of Loughtee Lower.
Cloncollow (Irish: Cluain Colbhaigh, IPA: [ˌklˠuənʲ ˈkɔlˠəwiː]) is a townland in the Parish of Tomregan, Barony of Loughtee Lower, County Cavan, Ireland.
Fartrin is a townland in the parish of Tomregan, barony of Loughtee Lower, County Cavan, Ireland. It is 3 km south of Ballyconnell.
Cranaghan is a townland in the Parish of Tomregan, Barony of Loughtee Lower, County Cavan, Ireland.
Mullynagolman is a townland in the Parish of Tomregan, Barony of Loughtee Lower, County Cavan, Ireland.
Drumlane (Irish: Droim Leathan, meaning 'Broad Ridge') is a townland near the village of Milltown in County Cavan, Ireland. The area of Drumlane is approximately 85.76 hectares (211.93 acres). Drumlane is also the name of the civil parish in which the townland is situated. Christianity was introduced to Drumlane in 555 by Saint Columba, and Saint Máedóc of Ferns, known locally as Saint Mogue, founded an early Drumlane monastery. Saint Mogue made the Connachta nobleman Faircheallaigh the first Abbot of Drumlane at the end of the sixth century, and his Ó Faircheallaigh descendants were historically the Abbots of Drumlane. The name Drumlane denotes the drumlin region of low hilly ribbed moraines formed over a limestone bedrock created by the movement of glacial ice and melt water during the last ice age. Several townlands in the neighbourhood are prefixed with the word 'Drum' (Droim), while several others are prefixed with the word 'Derry' (Doire), which is Irish for oak.
Slievebrickan is a townland in the Parish of Tomregan, Barony of Loughtee Lower, County Cavan, Ireland.
Kildallan is a civil parish in the historical barony of Tullyhunco, County Cavan, Ireland.
Belturbet Town Hall (Irish: Halla an Bhaile Béal Tairbirt) is a municipal building in The Diamond in Belturbet, County Cavan, Ireland. It is currently used as a community centre and as a library.
Erne Palais Ballroom was a ballroom in Belturbet, County Cavan.
Aghaweenagh (Irish derived place name, either Achadh an Bhuí Eanaigh meaning 'The Field of the Yellow Bog' or Achadh Mhuimhneach meaning 'The Field of the Munstermen'.) is a townland in the civil parish of Kildallan, barony of Tullyhunco, County Cavan, Ireland.
Ardlougher (from Irish Ard Luachar, meaning 'rushy height') is a townland in the civil parish of Kildallan, barony of Tullyhunco, County Cavan, Ireland.
Bellaheady (Irish derived place name, either Béal Átha Héide meaning 'The Entrance to the Ford of Éadach' or Béal Átha an Fheadha meaning 'The Entrance to the Ford of the Wood'. Also called Rossbressal = Ros Breasail = Breasal’s Wood ) is a townland in the civil parish of Templeport, barony of Tullyhunco, County Cavan, Ireland.
Callaghs (Irish derived place name, either Calaí, meaning 'The River Meadows', or Cealldrach, meaning 'An Old Burial Place') is a townland in the civil parish of Kildallan, barony of Tullyhunco, County Cavan, Ireland. The locals pronounce the name as The Callas.
Clonkeen (Irish-derived place name, Cluain Caoin meaning 'The Beautiful Meadow') is a townland in the civil parish of Kildallan, barony of Tullyhunco, County Cavan, Ireland.
Clontygrigny (Irish derived place name, either Cluainte Gruigne meaning 'The Lawns of the Inhospitable People' or Cluainte Uí Ghrignigh meaning 'Grigney's Meadows'.) is a townland in the civil parish of Kildallan, barony of Tullyhunco, County Cavan, Ireland.
Cornacrum (Irish derived place name, Corr na Croma meaning 'The Round Hill of the Plague or the Stooping'.) is a townland in the civil parish of Kildallan, barony of Tullyhunco, County Cavan, Ireland.
Cornahaia (Irish derived place name, Corr na hÁithe meaning 'The Round Hill of the Lime-Kiln') is a townland in the civil parish of Kildallan, barony of Tullyhunco, County Cavan, Ireland.
Derrinlester (Irish derived place name, Doire na Leastar meaning 'The Oakwood of the Wooden Vessels'.) is a townland in the civil parish of Kildallan, barony of Tullyhunco, County Cavan, Ireland.
Doogary (from the Irish An Dúgharraí meaning 'the black garden' or Dúbhgaire meaning 'the black weir') is a townland in the civil parish of Kildallan, barony of Tullyhunco, County Cavan, Ireland.
Dring (from Irish Druing, meaning 'a company' or 'crowd') is a small townland in the civil parish of Kildallan, barony of Tullyhunco, County Cavan, Ireland.
Drumlarah (Irish derived place name, either Droim Leath Rátha meaning 'The Hill-Ridge of the Half-Fort' or Droim Láthrach meaning 'The Hill-Ridge of the House-Site' or Droim Lárach meaning 'The Hill-Ridge of the Mare'.) is a townland in the civil parish of Kildallan, barony of Tullyhunco, County Cavan, Ireland.
Drumminnion (Irish derived place name, Droim Mionnáin meaning 'The Hill-Ridge of the Kid-Goat') is a townland in the civil parish of Kildallan, barony of Tullyhunco, County Cavan, Ireland.
Evlagh Beg (Irish derived place name, Aibhleach Beag meaning 'The Small Place of Fires' (possibly from lime-burning).) is a townland in the civil parish of Kildallan, barony of Tullyhunco, County Cavan, Ireland.
Evlagh More (Irish derived place name, Aibhleach Mór meaning 'The Big Place of Fires' (possibly from lime-burning).) is a townland in the civil parish of Kildallan, barony of Tullyhunco, County Cavan, Ireland.
Greaghacholea (Irish derived place name, Gréach an Chuaille meaning 'The Moorland of the Tall Leafless Tree'.) is a townland in the civil parish of Kildallan, barony of Tullyhunco, County Cavan, Ireland. The townland is also known as Coraghmuck (Irish derived place name, Currach Muc meaning The Moorland of the Pigs).
Killarah (Irish derived place name either Coill an Rátha meaning 'The Wood of the Fort' or Coill Leath Ráth = 'The Wood of the Half-Fort' or Coill Áth Ráth meaning 'The Wood of the Ford of the Rath') is a townland in the civil parish of Kildallan, barony of Tullyhunco, County Cavan, Ireland.
Killygorman (Irish derived place name, Coill Uí Ghormáin meaning 'The Wood of O’Gorman') is a townland in the civil parish of Kildallan, barony of Tullyhunco, County Cavan, Ireland.
Kiltynaskellan (Irish derived place name, Coillte na Sceallán meaning 'The Wood of the Small Acorns'.) is a townland in the civil parish of Kildallan, barony of Tullyhunco, County Cavan, Ireland.
Mullaghdoo (Irish derived place name, Mullach Dubh meaning 'The Black Summit') is a townland in the civil parish of Kildallan, barony of Tullyhunco, County Cavan, Ireland.
Mullaghmore, Tullyhunco (Irish derived place name, Mullach Mór meaning 'The Big Summit'.) is a townland in the civil parish of Kildallan, barony of Tullyhunco, County Cavan, Ireland.
Raleagh (Irish-derived place name, either Ráth Liath meaning 'The Grey Fort' or Ráth Liadhach meaning 'The Fort of the Grey People') is a townland in the civil parish of Kildallan, barony of Tullyhunco, County Cavan, Ireland. The townland is also called Derrinaherk (Irish-derived place name Doire na Thoirc meaning 'the Oakwood of the Wild Boars'), according to the Tithe Applotment Books 1823–1837.
Tullynabeherny (Irish derived place name, Tulaigh na Beithearnaí meaning 'The Hill of the Birchland'.) is a townland in the civil parish of Kildallan, barony of Tullyhunco, County Cavan, Ireland.
Breandrum (Irish derived place name, either Brea an Droim meaning 'The Fine Hill-Ridge' or Bréan Droim meaning 'The Filthy Hill-Ridge'.) is a townland in the civil parish of Kildallan, barony of Tullyhunco, County Cavan, Ireland.
Carn (Irish derived place name, Carn meaning 'A cairn of stones or a burial-mound'.) is a townland in the civil parish of Kildallan, barony of Tullyhunco, County Cavan, Ireland.
Killygreagh (Irish derived place name, Coill an Ghréich meaning 'The Wood of the Bog'.) is a townland in the civil parish of Kildallan, barony of Tullyhunco, County Cavan, Ireland.
Kilnacross (Irish derived place name, Coill na Croise meaning 'The Wood of the Crosses') is a townland in the civil parish of Kildallan, barony of Tullyhunco, County Cavan, Ireland.
Listiernan (Irish derived place name, Lios Tighearnán meaning 'The Fort of Tighearnán mac Maenuigh', after whom the McKiernan Clan is named and who lived in the fort, c. 1080-1120.) is a townland in the civil parish of Kildallan, barony of Tullyhunco, County Cavan, Ireland.
Tonaloy (Irish derived place name, Tóin na Láí meaning 'The Low-Lying Meadow of the Spades'.) is a townland in the civil parish of Kildallan, barony of Tullyhunco, County Cavan, Ireland.
Aghabane (Irish derived place name, Achadh Bán meaning 'The White Field'.) is a townland in the civil parish of Kildallan, barony of Tullyhunco, County Cavan, Ireland.
Drummany (Irish derived place name, either Droim Eanaigh meaning 'The Hill-Ridge of the Marsh' or Droim Manaigh meaning 'The Hill-Ridge of the Monk'.) is a townland in the civil parish of Kildallan, electoral district of Diamond, barony of Tullyhunco, County Cavan, Ireland.
Keilagh (Irish derived place name, Caol Achadh meaning 'The Narrow Field'.) is a townland in the civil parish of Kildallan, barony of Tullyhunco, County Cavan, Ireland. It is sometimes confused with the nearby townland of Keelagh in which the town of Killeshandra is situate.
Laheen (Irish derived place name, Loch Caoin meaning 'The Beautiful Lake' (referring to Patterson’s Lough in the townland).) is a townland in the civil parish of Killashandra, barony of Tullyhunco, County Cavan, Ireland.
Mackan (Irish derived place name, Meacan meaning 'The Field of Carrots'.) is a townland in the civil parish of Kildallan, barony of Tullyhunco, County Cavan, Ireland.
website: http://www.scoilmhuirecbs.ie/
The Great Famine, also known as the Great Hunger (Irish: an Gorta Mór [ənˠ ˈɡɔɾˠt̪ˠə ˈmˠoːɾˠ]), the Famine and the Irish Potato Famine, was a period of mass starvation and disease in Ireland from 1845 to 1852. It constituted a historical social crisis and had a major impact on Irish society and history as a whole. The most severely affected areas were in the western and southern parts of Ireland—where the Irish language was dominant—hence, in Irish, the period was contemporaneously known as an Drochshaol, which translates to "the bad life" and loosely translates to "the hard times". Debate exists regarding nomenclature for the event, whether to use the term "Famine", "Potato Famine" or "Great Hunger".
The Midland Region (coded IE063) is a NUTS Level III statistical region of Ireland. It consists of the territory of the counties of Laois, Offaly, Westmeath and Longford. The Midland Region spans 6,652 km2, 9.5% of the total area of the state and, according to the 2022 census, had a population of 317,999.
Rindoon (Irish: Rinn Dúin) is an abandoned village located in County Roscommon, Ireland.
The Fenian Rising (Irish: Éirí Amach na bhFíníní, IPA: [ˈeːɾʲiː əˈmˠax n̪ˠə ˈvʲiːnʲiːnʲiː]) was a rebellion against British rule in Ireland organised by the Irish Republican Brotherhood (IRB). After the suppression of the Irish People newspaper in September 1865, disaffection among Irish radical nationalists continued to smoulder, and during the later part of 1866, IRB leader James Stephens endeavoured to raise funds in the United States for a fresh rising planned for the following year.
Tang (Irish: An Teanga, meaning 'the tongue') is a village and a 'half-parish' in County Westmeath, on the N55 national secondary road between Athlone and Ballymahon, County Longford. Tang forms part of the ecclesiastical parish of Drumraney. It is in County Westmeath but on the border with County Longford from which it is separated by the Dungorman River which flows into Lough Ree 3 km downstream via the River Inny. The village is 15 km north-east of Athlone
The siege of Athlone was part of the Williamite War in Ireland between the supporters of King James II, who were known as Jacobites, and the supporters of King William of Orange. The siege began on 17 July 1690, when Williamite Lieutenant-General James Douglas arrived outside the Jacobite held city of Athlone with ten regiments of foot and five regiments of horse for a total force of 12,000. The Governor of Athlone, Colonel Richard Grace decided to defend the western part of the city. The Jacobite troops destroyed the bridge over the Shannon River that connected the eastern and western parts of the city, before the Williamite Army arrived. The city's garrison consisted of three regiments of foot and eleven troops of horse for a total force of about 4,500.
Ballymahon (Irish: Baile Uí Mhatháin, meaning 'Mahon's town') on the River Inny is a town in the southern part of County Longford, Ireland. It is 19 km north-east of Athlone, at the junction of the N55 and R392 roads.
Ballinahown (Irish: Buaile na hAbhann), also spelled Ballynahown, is a village in County Westmeath in Ireland. On the N62 road, it is 10 km (6.2 mi) south of Athlone and 5 km (3.1 mi) east of the River Shannon. It contains the Roman Catholic St. Colmcilles Church, completed in 1902 to a design in the Early English Gothic-style by William Hague.
Bellanamullia or Bealnamulla (Irish: Béal Átha na Muille, meaning 'mouth of the mill ford') is a village in County Roscommon, Ireland. It lies 4 km (2.5 mi) from the centre of Athlone, just beyond the urban boundary, on the R362 regional road.
Glassan or Glasson (Irish: Glasán) is a small village in rural County Westmeath, Ireland. It is 10 km (6.2 mi) north of Athlone, on the N55 national secondary road, not far from the shores of Lough Ree. As of the 2022 census, Glassan had a population of 218.
Coosan (Irish: Cuasán, meaning 'cavern" or "grotto') is a townland and suburb north of Athlone, County Westmeath in Ireland. Coosan, which is situated on the shores of Lough Ree, is surrounded by water on three sides and bordered by Athlone on the fourth.
Forgney (Irish: Forgnaí) is a civil parish and townland in County Longford, Ireland. Evidence of ancient settlement in the area include a number of ringfort and holy well sites in Forgney townland. The townland, which has an area of approximately 3.1 square kilometres (1.2 mi2), had a population of 77 people as of the 2011 census.
The Geographical Centre of Ireland, according to an investigation and calculation carried out by the Official Irish Government Mapping Agency, Ordnance Survey Ireland (OSI) published on the official OSI website on 24 February 2022 is near the village of Castletown Geoghegan, County Westmeath.
Killinure Point is a peninsula at the south-eastern end of Lough Ree in County Westmeath, Ireland on the River Shannon. Surrounded on three sides by water, it is the south-western peninsula of the Killinure electoral division. Killinure Point is on the mouth of the Inner Lakes namely Killinure Lough, Coosan Lough and Ballykeeran Lough. It is roughly 0.2 km from Coosan Point (by line of sight), which is the opposite side of the narrow waterway forming the mouth of the Inner Lakes.
Ireland is an island in the North Atlantic Ocean, in Northwestern Europe. Geopolitically, the island is divided between the Republic of Ireland (officially named Ireland – a sovereign state covering five-sixths of the island) and Northern Ireland (part of the United Kingdom – covering the remaining sixth). It is separated from Great Britain to its east by the North Channel, the Irish Sea, and St George's Channel. Ireland is the second-largest island of the British Isles, the third-largest in Europe, and the twentieth-largest in the world. As of 2022, the population of the entire island is just over 7 million, with 5.1 million in the Republic of Ireland and 1.9 million in Northern Ireland, ranking it the second-most populous island in Europe after Great Britain.
The Church of Saints Peter and Paul is a prominent Roman Catholic parish church located in Athlone, County Westmeath in Ireland. Situated on the western bank of the River Shannon, directly opposite Athlone Castle, the church serves as a significant landmark in the town. Dean John Crowe led the fundraising efforts for the church from the 1930's until his death in 1955.
website: https://www.sspeterandpaulsparishathlone.com/
IRA Memorial may refer to a number of memorials associated with organisations known as the Irish Republican Army, including:
Cookanamuck (Irish: Cnocán na Muc) is a small uninhabited island (isthmus) in County Westmeath, Ireland. It is located near Friars Island in Lough Ree. It is in the civil parish of St. Mary's.
Coláiste Chiaráin is a co-educational Catholic voluntary secondary school in Summerhill on the western side of Athlone, County Roscommon, Ireland. The school was established in 2017 following the amalgamation of St Joseph's Convent Summerhill, and St. Aloysius College, Athlone, and operates under the trusteeship of the Diocese of Elphin. Its purpose-built three-storey campus at Summerhill came into use in 2020 and was officially opened in May 2023. As of 2023 it catered for about 770 students from Athlone and surrounding areas.
The Batteries is a neighbourhood on the western side of Athlone near the River Shannon. The name derives from a group of Napoleonic-era artillery batteries constructed to defend Athlone as a strategically important river crossing.
The Athlone Institute of Technology (AIT; Irish: Institiúid Teicneolaíochta Bhaile Átha Luain) was an institute of technology, located in Athlone, Ireland. Established in 1970, the institute's campus was located on University Road.
Street address: University Road, Athlone, Leinster, N37 HD68 (from Wikidata)
website: https://www.ait.ie
Athlone was besieged twice during the Williamite War in Ireland (1689–91). The town is situated in the centre of Ireland on the River Shannon and commanded the bridge crossing the river into the Jacobite-held province of Connacht. For this reason, it was of key strategic importance.
Doory Hall is an estate and now-ruined historic building in County Longford, Ireland. While some parts of the estate (including a number of its outbuildings) are included on Longford County Council's Record of Protected Structures, the 19th century manor house itself is now a largely empty "shell".
St. Aloysius College (Irish: Coláiste Naomh Aloysius) was a secondary school in Athlone, County Westmeath, Ireland. It was primarily a school for boys, though its Leaving Certificate Repeat Programme was open to all students.
website: http://staloysiuscollege.ie/
Shrule (Irish: Sruthail), sometimes called Abbeyshrule, is a barony in County Longford, Ireland.
St. Mary's is a civil parish in County Westmeath, Ireland. It is located about 40 km (25 mi) west–south–west of Mullingar.
Clonlonan (Irish: Cluain Lonáin) is a barony in south–west County Westmeath, Ireland. It was formed by 1672. It is bordered by County Offaly to the south and a small part of County Roscommon at Long Island on the River Shannon to the west. It also borders four other Westmeath baronies: Kilkenny West and Rathconrath (to the north), Moycashel (to the north–east) and Brawny (to the west). The largest centre of population in the barony is the town of Moate.
Inchcleraun (Irish: Inis Cloithrinn), also called Quaker Island, is an island situated in Lough Ree on the River Shannon, in central Ireland.
Brawny (Irish: Breámhaine) is a barony in south–west County Westmeath, Ireland. It was formed by 1672. It is bordered by County Roscommon to the west. It also borders two other Westmeath baronies: Kilkenny West (to the north–east) and Clonlonan (to the south-east). The largest centre of population in the barony is the town of Athlone.
Kilkenny West (Irish: Cill Chainnigh Thiar), previously Maherquirke or Dillons country, is a barony in west County Westmeath, Ireland. It was formed by 1542. It is bordered by County Longford to the west; it is also bordered by three other Westmeath baronies: Rathconrath (to the east), Brawny (to the south-west) and Clonlonan (to the south-east). The largest centre of population in the barony is the village of Glassan.
The Meehambee Dolmen, also known as the Mihanboy Portal Tomb, is a Neolithic portal tomb located in the townland of Mihanboy, near Athlone in County Roscommon, Ireland. The monument is dated to around 3500 BC and is listed as a Recorded Monument under the National Monuments Acts.
Portlick Castle is a late medieval tower house castle near the village of Glasson, County Westmeath, Ireland. It is located approximately 6 miles from Athlone on the shores of Lough Ree. It comprises a square late medieval 4-storey stone tower with an attached 2-storey Georgian wing and Victorian tower.
St Mel's Park was an association football ground in Athlone and the former home of Athlone Town F.C. The club, who played at the venue until 2007, later vacated the ground when they moved into the Athlone Town Stadium. Built in 1929, St Mel's Park was named after Mél of Ardagh, a nephew of Saint Patrick. The stadium hosted the 1975–76 UEFA Cup tie between Athlone and AC Milan, which attracted 9,000 spectators and set the venue's record attendance.
Is baile suite i gContae na hIarmhí é Tobar Chláir.
Lough Ree Lifeboat Station is situated at Coosan Point, on the eastern shore of Lough Ree, the second largest lake on the River Shannon, located in the centre of Ireland in County Westmeath.
website: https://rnli.org/find-my-nearest/lifeboat-stations/lough-ree-lifeboat-station
Athlone GAA is the Gaelic football club in the town of Athlone in County Westmeath, Ireland. Athlone is Westmeath GAA's most successful football club, having won the Westmeath Senior Football Championship on 19 occasions. The local hurling club is called Southern Gaels.
Ballymore GAA is a Gaelic Athletic Association club located in the town of Ballymore in County Westmeath, Ireland.
Clann na nGael is a Gaelic Athletic Association club based in the southern end of County Roscommon, Ireland. The area comprises the two half parishes of Drum and Clonown, the parish being St Peter and Paul, Athlone. The club is the most successful in Roscommon in terms of titles won, with 21 Roscommon Senior Football titles, with the most recent in 2018.
Garrycastle is a Gaelic football club from the town of Athlone in County Westmeath, Ireland.
St Brigid's GAA Club (Naomh Bríd) is a Gaelic football club located in the parishes of Kiltoom and Cam in County Roscommon, Ireland. The club was founded in 1944 and is a member of the Roscommon GAA branch of the Gaelic Athletic Association. As well as senior, intermediate and junior teams, the club fields underage teams from under-8 to under-21 and caters for ladies' Gaelic football at all ages.
Natura 2000 site ID: IE0001776
Claraghpottle Glebe (Irish and English derived place name, Clárach Poitéil meaning 'The Level Place of the Quarter Townland' and Glebe meaning 'Land for the Upkeep of the Church'.) is a townland in the civil parish of Kildallan, barony of Tullyhunco, County Cavan, Ireland.
Loughtee Lower (Irish: Lucht Tí Íochtarach), or Lower Loughtee, is a barony in County Cavan, Ireland. Baronies were mainly cadastral rather than administrative units. They acquired modest local taxation and spending functions in the 19th century before being superseded by the Local Government (Ireland) Act 1898.
The River Blackwater (Irish: Abhainn Dubh) rises in the Cuilcagh Mountains, in the townland of Gowlan, Parish of Killinagh, Barony of Tullyhaw, County Cavan. It then flows in a south-east direction and ends in Ballymagauran Lough.[1] It has a fish population of brown trout, pike and perch.[2] The earliest mention of the river is in poems in the Book of Magauran dating to the 1350s.
Tullyhunco (Irish: Teallach Dhúnchadha) is a barony in County Cavan, Ireland. It comprises the civil parishes of Kildallan, Killeshandra and Scrabby.
The Belturbet bombing occurred on 28 December 1972 when a car bomb planted by Loyalist paramilitaries exploded in the main street in the border town of Belturbet in County Cavan, Ireland. The bomb killed two teenagers Geraldine O'Reilly (15) and Patrick Stanley (16). Nobody claimed responsibility for the bombing but security services believe the Ulster Volunteer Force (UVF) carried out the attack. The attack happened just a few weeks after two people were killed and 127 injured when two car bombs exploded in the centre of Dublin, Ireland on 1 December 1972. On the same day as the Belturbet bombing, two other bombs exploded in border counties, the first in Clones, County Monaghan which injured two people and the second in Pettigo in County Donegal which caused injury to a single female victim. The three bombs all exploded within 49 minutes of each other, all three bombings were believed to be part of a co-ordinated attack attributed to a single organization.
The Rag River is a river in County Cavan, Ireland. It rises in Mullaghdoo Lough, in the townland of Aghnacreevy, parish of Kildallan, and flows in a north-easterly direction through the lakes of Clonty Lough, Togher Lough, Lough Rud, Aghavoher Lough, Killywilly Lough, Cuillaghan Lough, Tomkinroad Lough, Lough Tee Lower and Corraback Lough. It discharges into the Shannon–Erne Waterway in the townland of Corraback. It has a fish population of pike, bream, rudd, roach, gudgeon and perch. Archaeological finds in the river include dugout canoes, socketed bronze axes and Irish elk antlers. The structures of interest along the river include Ardlougher Bridge, Greenville Corn Mill, Togher Bridge, Cranaghan Bridge, Killywilly Cavan & Leitrim Railway Level Crossing, Killywilly Corn Mill [1], Killywilly Bleach Mill, Killywilly Bridge, Tomkinroad Cavan & Leitrim Railway Bridge, Tomkinroad Cavan & Leitrim Railway Station & Level Crossing, Tomkinroad Creamery, Drumrush Corn Mill & Weir, Droghill Bridge, Feedarragh Bridge & Stepping Stones.
Agharaskilly (from Irish Achadh Ros Cille, meaning 'Field of the Church's Wood') is a townland in the civil parish of Tomregan, County Cavan, Ireland. It lies within the former barony of Loughtee Lower.
Arva Road railway station in County Cavan, Ireland was a former station on the Killashandra branch of the Midland Great Western Railway, Ireland.
Belturbet was the former terminus station of both the 4¼ mile Ballyhaise to Belturbet branch of the Great Northern Railway (Ireland) line and of the Cavan and Leitrim Railway. For many years the station was somewhat derelict but it is now fully restored and houses a museum. The platform remains extant too and a small length of track has been reinstated together with some rolling stock.
Berrymount is a townland in the Parish of Tomregan, Barony of Loughtee Lower, County Cavan, Ireland.
Castle Saunderson (Irish: Caisleán Shandarsan) is a castle near Belturbet in County Cavan, Ireland. It was the former family seat of the Saunderson family, and is now in ruins. The Finn River flows along the north-eastern edge of the Castle Saunderson Demesne, where the river enters a narrow channel of Upper Lough Erne. The castle is about a half a mile west from Wattlebridge, a small hamlet in the south-south-east of County Fermanagh.
The Cavan Orphanage fire occurred on the night of 23 February 1943 at St Joseph's Orphanage in Cavan, Ireland. 35 children and one adult employee died as a result. All of the lay teachers and nuns survived the fire. Much of the attention after the fire surrounded the role of the Poor Clares, the order of nuns who ran the orphanage, and the local fire service.
Cormeen (from Irish Cor Mín, meaning 'The Smooth Round Hill') is a townland in the civil parish of Kildallan, County Cavan, Ireland. It forms part of the barony of Tullyhunco.
Crossdoney railway station was a station on the Inny Junction to Cavan branch of the Midland Great Western Railway, Ireland 3/4 mile from the village of Crossdoney County Cavan. It was also the junction for the branch line to Killashandra, the only intermediate station being Arva Road. The line opened in 1856 after the well known architect George Wilkinson designed the station building in the modest Italianate style. The line closed to passenger traffic in 1947 and finally to goods traffic in January 1960. The previous station along the dismantled branch was Drumhawnagh whereas the next station along the branch is Cavan.
Drumbess is a townland in the civil parish of Killeshandra in County Cavan, Ireland. It is approximately 2.4 square kilometres (0.9 sq mi) in area. As of the 2011 census, it had a population of 59 people in 17 houses.
Finn Bridge, also known as Annaghmullin Bridge, is a bridge built in 1856 that connects County Monaghan in the Republic of Ireland to County Fermanagh in Northern Ireland. It spans the Finn River (a tributary of the River Erne which is not to be confused with the River Finn in County Donegal). The bridge is close to Laurel Hill, a crossroads in the west of County Monaghan that is near the villages of Scotshouse (in County Monaghan) and Redhills (in County Cavan).
Gartnanoul is a megalithic court tomb located in Killykeen Forest Park, Loughtee Upper, County Cavan, Ireland.
Killashandra railway station in County Cavan, Ireland was the terminus station at the end of the Midland Great Western Railway seven mile branch from Crossdoney.
Milltown (Irish: Baile an Mhuilinn) is a population centre and townland in County Cavan, Ireland. The Milltown catchment area, including Milltown Electoral Division, comprises several neighboring townlands within the historical barony of Loughtee Lower and the civil parish of Drumlane. Milltown lies approximately 9 kilometres (6 mi) from the town of Killeshandra on the R201 road.
Ballyhugh is a townland in the civil parish of Drumlane, Barony of Loughtee Lower, County Cavan, Ireland.
Camalier is a townland in the civil parish of Drumlane, Barony of Loughtee Lower, County Cavan, Ireland.
Cuillaghan is a townland in the civil parish of Drumlane, Barony of Loughtee Lower, County Cavan, Ireland.
Drumcartagh (Irish derived place name, either Droim Cartha meaning 'The Hill-Ridge of the Standing Stone' or Droim Cartach meaning the 'Hill-Ridge of the Carts'.) is a townland in the civil parish of Kildallan, barony of Tullyhunco, County Cavan, Ireland. It is also called Diamondhill.
Killywilly is a townland in the civil parish of Drumlane, Barony of Loughtee Lower, County Cavan, Ireland.
Tomassan is a townland in the civil parish of Drumlane, Barony of Loughtee Lower, County Cavan, Ireland.
Tomkinroad is a townland in the civil parish of Drumlane, Barony of Loughtee Lower, County Cavan, Ireland.
Ture is a townland in the civil parish of Drumlane, Barony of Loughtee Lower, County Cavan, Ireland.
Greaghrahan is a townland in the civil parish of Drumlane, Barony of Loughtee Lower, County Cavan, Ireland.
Ardue is a townland in the civil parish of Drumlane, Barony of Loughtee Lower, County Cavan, Ireland.
Rockfield Lake (Irish: Loch Pháirc na Carraige, meaning 'Lough of the Field of Rocks'), also known as Rockfield Lough, is a lake or lough situated between Carrigallen and Killeshandra, two small towns on the northern edge of the Midlands in Ireland.
Arva St Patrick's is a Gaelic football club based in Arvagh, County Cavan, Ireland.
Carrigan is a townland in the Parish of Tomregan, Barony of Loughtee Lower, County Cavan, Ireland.
Bocade Glebe (Irish and English derived place name, 'Both Céad' meaning 'The Hut of the Land Division' and Glebe meaning 'Land for the Upkeep of the Church'.) is a townland in the civil parish of Kildallan, barony of Tullyhunco, County Cavan, Ireland.
Cloncose (Irish derived place name, Cluain Cuas meaning 'The Meadow of the Hollows'). is a townland in the civil parish of Kildallan, barony of Tullyhunco, County Cavan, Ireland. It has a sub-division called Crockanroe (Irish derived place name, Cnocan Rua meaning 'The Small Red Hill') on the northern end.
Clooneen (Irish derived place name, Cluainín meaning 'The Little Meadow'.) is a townland in the civil parish of Kildallan, barony of Tullyhunco, County Cavan, Ireland.
Coolnashinny (Irish: Cúl na Sionnach; The Corner of the Foxes) is a townland in the civil parish of Kildallan in the barony of Tullyhunco, County Cavan, Ireland. It is also known as Croaghan (Irish: Cruachán, resembling hay). The townland was besieged during the Irish Rebellion of 1641.
Coragh (Irish derived place name, Currach meaning ‘The Moor’.) is a townland in the civil parish of Kildallan, barony of Tullyhunco, County Cavan, Ireland.
Cornaclea (Irish derived place name, Corr na Cléithe meaning 'The Round-Hill of the Palisade'.) is a townland in the civil parish of Kildallan, barony of Tullyhunco, County Cavan, Ireland. It is also called Tawlagh (Irish derived place name, Tamhlacht meaning ‘The Plague-Grave’).
Cornasker (Irish language derived place name, Corr na Sceire meaning 'The Round Hill of the Jagged Rock'.) is a townland in the civil parish of Kildallan, barony of Tullyhunco, County Cavan, Ireland.
Disert (from Irish Diseart 'The Hermitage') is a townland in the civil parish of Kildallan, barony of Tullyhunco, County Cavan, Ireland.
Drumbagh (Irish derived place name, Droim Beach meaning ‘The Hill-Ridge of the Bees’.) is a townland in the civil parish of Kildallan, barony of Tullyhunco, County Cavan, Ireland.
Drumbinnis (Irish derived place name, Droim Binnis meaning either ‘The Pleasant Hill-Ridge’ or ‘The Hill-Ridge of Melody’ or Droim Bainis meaning ‘The Hill-Ridge of the Banquet’.) is a townland in the civil parish of Kildallan, barony of Tullyhunco, County Cavan, Ireland.
Drumcanon (Irish derived place name, Droim Ceann Fhionn meaning 'The Hill-Ridge of the White Top'.) is a townland in the civil parish of Kildallan, barony of Tullyhunco, County Cavan, Ireland.
Drumcase (Irish derived place name, Droim Catha meaning 'The Hill-Ridge of the Battle'.) is a townland in the civil parish of Kildallan, barony of Tullyhunco, County Cavan, Ireland. It is also called Drumrath (Irish derived place name, Droim Ráth meaning 'The Hill-Ridge of the Fort’).
Drumerdannan (Irish derived place name, either Droim Eadar Dhá n-Abhainn meaning 'The Hill-Ridge between the Two Rivers’ or Droim ar Daingean meaning 'The Hill-Ridge of the Fort’.) is a townland in the civil parish of Kildallan, barony of Tullyhunco, County Cavan, Ireland.
Drumgoohy' (Irish derived place name, either Droim gCuaiche meaning 'The Hill-Ridge of the Cuckoo' or Droim Guthaidhe meaning 'The Hill-Ridge of the Voices'.) is a townland in the civil parish of Kildallan, barony of Tullyhunco, County Cavan, Ireland.
Drummully East (Irish and English derived place name, Droim Mullaigh meaning ‘The Hill-Ridge of the Summit’, East meaning the eastern part of the original Drummully townland before it was sub-divided.) is a townland in the civil parish of Kildallan, barony of Tullyhunco, County Cavan, Ireland.
Drummully West (Irish and English derived place name, Droim Mullaigh meaning ‘The Hill-Ridge of the Summit’, West meaning the western part of the original Drummully townland before it was sub-divided.) is a townland in the civil parish of Kildallan, barony of Tullyhunco, County Cavan, Ireland.
Glasstown (Irish or English derived place name, Glas meaning 'Green' in Irish or Glaise meaning 'A Stream', Town is an Anglicisation of the Irish 'Tún', meaning "Bottom-lands" (i.e. the lowest level of the land), so the probable meaning is either "The Green Bottom-Lands" or 'The Bottom-Lands along the Stream', or possibly a 'Glass Factory' according to local tradition, but unlikely.) is a townland in the civil parish of Kildallan, barony of Tullyhunco, County Cavan, Ireland. It is also called Port (Irish derived place name, Port meaning 'The Landing-Place’).
Gorteen (Irish derived place name, Goirtín meaning 'The Little Field'.) is a townland in the civil parish of Kildallan, barony of Tullyhunco, County Cavan, Ireland. It is also called Gorteenagarry (Irish derived place name, Goirtín an Gharraí meaning 'The Little Field of the Garden').
Gortnacleigh (Irish derived place name, either Gort na Cléithe meaning 'The Field of the Palisade’ or Gort na Cloiche meaning 'The Field of the Stone'.) is a townland in the civil parish of Kildallan, barony of Tullyhunco, County Cavan, Ireland.
Kildallan (from Irish Cill Dalláin, meaning 'church of Dallán Forgaill ') is a townland in the civil parish of Kildallan, barony of Tullyhunco, County Cavan, Ireland.
Killygowan (Irish derived place name, Coill Uí Ghabhann meaning either ‘The Wood of O’Gowan’ or ‘The Wood of the Blacksmith’.) is a townland in the civil parish of Kildallan, barony of Tullyhunco, County Cavan, Ireland.
Makief (Irish derived place name, Magh Caoimh meaning ‘The Beautiful Plain’.) is a townland in the civil parish of Kildallan, barony of Tullyhunco, County Cavan, Ireland. It is also called Hill or ‘The Hill’.
Mullaghmullan (Irish derived place name, Mullach Maoiláin meaning either ‘The Summit of the Hillock’ or ‘The Summit of Maolán’) is a townland in the civil parish of Kildallan, barony of Tullyhunco, County Cavan, Ireland.
Ned (Irish derived place name, Nead meaning 'A Nest'.) is a townland in the civil parish of Killeshandra, barony of Tullyhunco, County Cavan, Ireland.
Mullahoran GAA is a Gaelic games club from County Cavan in Ireland. Founded in 1888, it is affiliated to Cavan GAA. The club's nickname is the Dreadnoughts. It is a rural club located in the parish of Mullahoran in south Cavan, approximately 10 miles from Cavan town. Gaelic football, rounders, hurling and handball are played at the club and numerous county and national honours have been won in the past in these codes.
Natura 2000 site ID: IE0000007
Natura 2000 site ID: IE0004049
The Castlestrange stone is located in the grounds of "Castlestrange House" near Athleague in County Roscommon, Ireland. It is a granite boulder decorated with flowing spirals in the La Tène style, dating from the Iron Age period between 300 BC and 100 AD.
Curraghboy (Irish: An Currach Buí, meaning 'the yellow marsh') is a rural village in County Roscommon, Ireland. It lies 14 km (8.7 mi) northwest of Athlone on the R362 regional road. It has one public house and two grocery shops. It also has an indoor handball alley, Roman Catholic church and a national (primary) school.
The Killeglan Grassland (Irish: Féarach Chill Fhiagláin) Special Area of Conservation or SAC is a designated Natura 2000 site in south County Roscommon, near the town of Ballinasloe in County Galway, Ireland. Killeglan Grassland is designated as a Special Area of Conservation under the qualifying interest: semi-natural dry grasslands and scrubland facies on calcareous substrates (Festuco-Brometalia) (* important orchid sites).
Dunamon is a civil parish in County Galway, Ireland. The main land-owning family in the locality were the Caulfeilds.
The Four Roads Turlough (Irish: Turlach Thigh Srathra) Special Area of Conservation (or SAC) is a Natura 2000 site based at the village of Four Roads, Ireland, close to Roscommon town, in County Roscommon, Ireland. The Four Roads Turlough is one of a number of seasonal lakes, or turloughs, found in the karst areas of Ireland, west of the River Shannon.
Athleague Hurling Club is a hurling club located in Athleague, County Roscommon, Ireland. They were founded in 1901; soon after, they challenged a team from Athlone.
Athlone South (Irish: Baile Átha Luain Theas), also called South Athlone, is a barony in County Roscommon, Ireland. Baronies were mainly cadastral rather than administrative units. They acquired modest local taxation and spending functions in the 19th century before being superseded by the Local Government (Ireland) Act 1898.
Athlone North (Irish: Baile Átha Luain Thuaidh), also called North Athlone, is a barony in County Roscommon, Ireland. Baronies were mainly cadastral rather than administrative units. They acquired modest local taxation and spending functions in the 19th century before being superseded by the Local Government (Ireland) Act 1898.
Scregg House is an 18th-century house in the townland of Scregg, south of Knockcroghery, in County Roscommon, Ireland. It was built in 1769 and occupied by J.E. Kelly in 1837 and Eliza Kelly in the 1850s. In a sale rental document of 1856, the house is described as a "respectable mansion, 3 stories high with basement and attic stories and a view of the Shannon River". Occupied in 1906 by the representatives of Henry Potts, the house is extant but no longer occupied. It is included on Roscommon County Council's Record of Protected Structures. Between 2007 and 2009, the Irish Georgian Society provided grant funding for repairs to the house's roof and windows.
Woodmount is a village in the civil parish of Creagh in south County Roscommon, Ireland. It is approximately 3.5 miles east of the town of Ballinasloe, County Galway, and approximately 800 metres north of the old N6 Athlone to Ballinasloe road. The village is in the townlands of Tonalig and Clooneen. The clubhouse and playing fields of Padraig Pearses GAA Roscommon club have been situated in Woodmount since 1983.
Tremane Hurling Club (Irish: Tromán, Tromaún) is a hurling club based in Knockadanagan, east of Athleague, County Roscommon, Ireland. In 1976, the club won the Connacht Senior Club Hurling Championship.
Padraig Pearses GAA Club (Irish: CLG Padraig Mac Phiarsaigh) is a Gaelic Athletic Association club located in the parishes of Moore, Taughmaconnell and Creagh in County Roscommon, Ireland. They play in red and white colours and their home pitch is at Woodmount (Ton na lig), Creagh.
Natura 2000 site ID: IE0000588
Natura 2000 site ID: IE0000609
Natura 2000 site ID: IE0000610
Natura 2000 site ID: IE0000611
Natura 2000 site ID: IE0001625
Natura 2000 site ID: IE0001637
Natura 2000 site ID: IE0002214
Natura 2000 site ID: IE0002339
Natura 2000 site ID: IE0004097
Natura 2000 site ID: IE0004139
Natura 2000 site ID: IE0004140
Croghan Hill (Irish: Cnoc Cruacháin or Brí Éile) is a hill with a height of 234 metres (768 ft) in County Offaly, Ireland. The remains of an extinct volcano, it rises from the Bog of Allen and dominates the surrounding plains. It is composed of basalt, diorite, and volcanic ash. Historically known as Brí Éile, it is mentioned in Irish mythology and is traditionally seen as a sacred hill. On the summit is an ancient burial mound with panoramic views, which reputedly became the inauguration site of the kings of Uí Failghe. On the eastern slope is an old graveyard and the remains of a medieval church, while at the western foot of the hill are the remains of a medieval settlement, church, and castle. An ancient bog body, Old Croghan Man, was found nearby. The village of Croghan is at the southern foot of the hill.
The Irish Parachute Club (IPC) is an air sports club, located in Clonbullogue, County Offaly, in Ireland.
website: http://www.skydive.ie/
New Inn is a hamlet in County Laois, Ireland. It is near Emo on the R445 regional road just off the M7 motorway. New Inn lies within the townland of Cappakeel (Irish: Ceapach Chaol), also called Ballymulrony (Baile Uí Mhaoilruanaidh).
Edenderry Power Station is a large biomass-fired power station at the Cushaling river near Edenderry, County Offaly, Ireland. The station is capable of generating up to 120 MWe of power. It has been owned by Bord na Móna since 2006 and is part of the Powergen Division, having been purchased from E.ON in December 2005.
Sarsfields LFC Laois is a Ladies' Gaelic Football Association club based in Mountmellick in County Laois. It fields teams in Ladies' football from juvenile up to adult.
Portnahinch or Portnehinch (Irish: Port na hInse is a barony in County Laois (formerly called Queen's County or County Leix), Ireland.
Coolestown (Irish: Baile an Chúlaígh) is a barony in County Offaly (formerly King's (Tyler Amin) County), Ireland.
The R424 road is a regional road in Ireland, located in County Laois and County Kildare.
The R442 road is a regional road in Ireland, located in County Offaly.
Upper Philipstown (Irish: An Daingean Uachtarach) is a barony in County Offaly (formerly King's County), Ireland.
The River Triogue (Irish: An Trióg) is a river that flows through the county of Laois in Ireland. It is a tributary of the River Barrow.
Emo GAA is a Gaelic Athletic Association gaelic football club in Emo, County Laois, Ireland.
Natura 2000 site ID: IE0000925
Street address: Main Street, Portarlington, Co. Laois, Ireland (from Wikidata)
Street address: 21 Fitzwilliam Square South, Dublin 2, D02 RD28; Canal House, Station Road, Portarlington, R32 AP23 (from Wikidata)
website: https://www.dataprotection.ie/
Rosenallis (historically Rossinallis, from Irish: Ros Fhionnghlaise, meaning 'wood of the clear stream') is a village in north County Laois, Ireland. It is in the foothills of the Slieve Bloom Mountains on the R422 Mountmellick to Birr road, 6 km north-west of Mountmellick. The village is in a townland and civil parish of the same name.
Mountmellick or Mountmellic (Irish: Móinteach Mílic) is a town in the north of County Laois, Ireland. It is on the N80 road, 6 km north of Portlaoise. The town is within Mountmellick Roman Catholic parish.
website: http://www.mountmellick.net/
Clonaslee (Irish: Cluain na Slí) is a village in north County Laois, Ireland, situated in the foothills of the Slieve Bloom Mountains on the R422 Mountmellick to Birr road. Clonaslee is approximately 100 km west of Dublin, and is close to the towns of Portlaoise and Tullamore.
Tullamore Dew, rendered in most branding as Tullamore D.E.W. (typically with the dots de-emphasised using colour and font size), is a brand of Irish whiskey produced by William Grant & Sons. It is the second-largest-selling brand of Irish whiskey globally, with sales of over 1,500,000 cases per annum as of 2020.
website: http://www.tullamoredew.com
The Old Tullamore Distillery was an Irish whiskey distillery which was established in Tullamore, County Offaly, Ireland, in 1829. The original home of Tullamore Dew Irish whiskey, the distillery closed in 1954, having endured financial difficulties for many years, like many Irish whiskey distilleries of the early 20th century.
The Slieve Bloom Mountains (Irish: Sliabh Bladhma; Latin: Bladinae montes) is a mountain range in Ireland. They rise from the central plain of Ireland to a height of 527 metres (1,729 ft). While not very high, they are extensive by local standards. The highest points are Arderin (527 m (1,729 ft)) (Irish: Ard Éireann) at the southwestern end of the range and Baunreaghcong (509 m (1,670 ft)) at the end of the Ridge of Capard.
O'Connor Park (Irish: Páirc Uí Chonchúir) is a GAA stadium in Tullamore, County Offaly, Ireland. It is one of the principal grounds of the Offaly GAA Gaelic football and hurling teams. It is known for sponsorship reasons as Glenisk O’Connor Park.
Cloghan (Irish: An Clochán, meaning 'stepping stones" or "stone structure') is a town in County Offaly, Ireland. It is located, in the civil parish of Gallen, at the intersection of the N62 National secondary road and the R356 and R357 regional roads. As of the 2022 census, Cloghan had a population of 654 people.
Tullamore railway station serves the town of Tullamore in County Offaly, Ireland.
IBNR ID: 6000094
Ballyhuppahane, also spelt Ballyhuppahaun, (Irish: Baile Shopacháin) is a townland in County Laois, Ireland.
On 12 January 2022, Ashling Murphy, a 23‑year‑old Irish primary school teacher, traditional musician, and camogie player, was murdered while walking along the Grand Canal towpath near Tullamore, County Offaly. Her murder prompted widespread public grief and outrage, and tens of thousands attended vigils across Ireland and internationally. President Michael D. Higgins, Taoiseach Micheál Martin, and other government ministers attended her funeral.
Clodiagh Gaels is a Gaelic Athletic Association club located in Killeigh, County Offaly, Ireland. The club fields teams in both hurling and Gaelic football.
Mountmellick, is a Catholic parish in Tinnahinch, County Laois within the Diocese of Kildare and Leighlin in Ireland.
Tullamore Town Hall (Irish: Halla an Bhaile Tulach Mhór), is a municipal building in Cormac Street, Tullamore, County Offaly, Ireland. The building currently accommodates the local offices of Offaly County Council.
Tinnahinch (Irish: Tigh na hInse) is a barony in County Laois (formerly called Queen's County or County Leix), in Ireland.
Áras an Chontae (English: County House) is a municipal facility in Tullamore, County Offaly, Ireland.
The Anngrove Stud is a horse breeding stud of approximately 350 acres established about 1970 near Mountmellick, County Laois, Ireland.
Leah Victoria Park is an Irish football ground situated in Tullamore, County Offaly. It is the home of Tullamore Town F.C. The ground has three pitches in total, two which are of international standard and an all-weather pitch.
Ballyboy (Irish: Baile Átha Buí) is a barony in County Offaly (formerly King's County), Ireland.
Ballycowan or Ballycowen (Irish: Baile Mhic Comhainn) is a barony in County Offaly (formerly King's County), Ireland.
Geashill (, Irish: Géisill) is a barony in County Offaly (formerly King's County), Ireland.
Lower Philipstown (Irish: An Daingean Íochtarach) is a barony in County Offaly (formerly King's County), Ireland.
The Owenass River (Irish: An Abhainn Easa) is a river that flows through the county of Laois in Ireland. It is a tributary of the River Barrow.
The Tullamore Distillery is an Irish whiskey distillery located in Tullamore, County Offaly, Ireland, established in 2014 and owned by William Grant & Sons. It is the first new distillery to have been constructed on a greenfield site in Ireland in over 100 years, and the first to operate in Tullamore since 1954.
Clara Bog is one of the largest relatively intact raised bogs remaining in Ireland. It lies southeast of the R436 regional road between the village of Ballycumber and the town of Clara, in County Offaly. Much of the bog is state-owned and managed as a nature reserve covering some 460 ha. A Special Area of Conservation covers 836 ha.
Natura 2000 site ID: IE0000572
Killeigh (Irish: Cill Aichidh, meaning "church of the field") is a village in County Offaly, Ireland. It is located around 8 kilometres (5 mi) south of the county town of Tullamore, on the N80 national secondary road; the Slieve Bloom Mountains lie to the south. The village of Killeigh, which lies within the civil parish of Geashill, had a population of 183 in 2022.
Baunreaghcong (Irish: Bán Riabhach Conga, meaning 'narrow brindled pasture') is a mountain in County Laois, Ireland. Baunreaghcong stands at a height of 509 metres (1,670 feet).
Castleconor (Irish: Caisleán Uí Chonchúir) is a mountain in County Laois, Ireland. Castleconor's summit is at an altitude of 407 metres (1,335 feet) making it the fourth-highest point in Laois, the ninth-highest point in the Slieve Bloom Mountains and the 907th-highest summit in Ireland.
Clonaghadoo is a village in County Laois, Ireland, located 6 km (3.7 mi) north of Mountmellick just off the N80 national secondary road. The Slieve Bloom Mountains lie southwest of the village. The village is part of the Roman Catholic parish Mountmellick.
The Midland Regional Hospital, Tullamore (Irish: Ospidéal Réigiúnach Lár Tíre, An Tulach Mhór) is a public hospital located in Tullamore, County Offaly, Ireland. It is managed by Dublin Midlands Hospital Group.
website: http://www.hse.ie/eng/services/list/3/acutehospitals/hospitals/Tullamore/
Ridge of Capard (Irish: Droim na Ceapaí Airde) is a mountain in County Laois, Ireland. Ridge of Capard's summit is at an altitude of 483 metres (1,585 ft), making it the third-highest point in Laois, the sixth-highest in the Slieve Bloom Mountains and the 615th-highest summit in Ireland.
Stillbrook Hill is a mountain in County Offaly, Ireland. With a height of 514 metres (1,686 ft) it is the second highest mountain in the Slieve Bloom Mountains after Arderin and the 520th highest summit in Ireland. It is the second highest mountain in County Offaly.
Wolftrap Mountain (Irish: Sliabh Ghaiste na Mac Tíre) is a mountain in counties Laois and Offaly, Ireland. The mountain is 487 metres (1,598 ft) high, making it the third-highest summit in Offaly, the fourth-highest mountain in the Slieve Bloom Mountains and the 602nd-highest summit in Ireland. It is the most northerly summit of the Slieve Bloom range.
Ballyfin GAA is a Gaelic Athletic Association hurling and gaelic football club located in the village of Ballyfin in County Laois, Ireland.The club colours are green and white. The club grounds are at Cappinrush, beside Ballyfin's Roman Catholic church.
Clonaslee St Manman's GAA is a Gaelic Athletic Association hurling and Gaelic football club in the village of Clonaslee, County Laois, Ireland.
Kilcavan GAA is a Gaelic Athletic Association club in County Laois, Ireland. It fields Gaelic football teams in competitions organised by Laois GAA.
Rosenallis Gaelic Athletic Association club is a hurling and Gaelic football club in the village of Rosenallis in County Laois, Ireland.
Tinnahinch GAA was a hurling club in County Laois, Ireland.
Tullamore GAA is a Gaelic Athletic Association club located in the town of Tullamore, County Offaly, Ireland. The club is concerned with both hurling and Gaelic football and competes in Offaly GAA competitions.
website: http://www.tullamore.gaa.ie
Natura 2000 site ID: IE0000412
Natura 2000 site ID: IE0000571
Natura 2000 site ID: IE0000859
Natura 2000 site ID: IE0004160
website: http://mountmellickcs.ie
website: http://moynecs.ie/
Corlough (Irish: Corlach) is a Roman Catholic parish situated in the historical barony of Tullyhaw, County Cavan, Ireland. It derives its name from Corlough townland, in which the parish church is situate. It formed part of the larger parish of Templeport until 1877 when Corlough was made a separate parish. Birthplace of Francis “Frankie” Curran. Irish Musician for over 50 years in the United States. An ambassador of Irish music supporting to keeping the tradition alive, and aiding to establish East Durham, New York as the “33rd county”.
The Clonfinlough Stone is a piece of rock art and National Monument located near Kinnitty, County Offaly, Ireland.
The Leviathan of Parsonstown, or Rosse six-foot telescope, is a historic reflecting telescope of 72 inches (1.83 m) aperture, which was the largest telescope in the world from 1845 until the construction of the 100-inch (2.5 m) Hooker Telescope in California in 1917. The Rosse six-foot telescope was built by William Parsons, 3rd Earl of Rosse on his estate, Birr Castle, at Parsonstown (now Birr) in Ireland.
website: https://birrcastle.com/telescope-astronomy/
The Sculpture in the Parklands is a 50-acre (200,000 m2) land and environmental sculpture park located in Lough Boora, County Offaly, Ireland. The park is open to the public 365 days of the year and admission is free. Sculpture in the Parklands was founded by sculptor Kevin O'Dwyer in partnership with Bord na Mona, Lough Boora Parklands Group, Offaly County Council and the Arts Council.
In Ireland, vehicle registration plates (commonly known as "number plates" or "registration plates") are the visual indications of motor vehicle registration which has been mandatory since 1903 to display on most motor vehicles used on public roads in Ireland. The alphanumeric marks (or "registration numbers", officially termed "identification marks") themselves are issued by the local authority in which a vehicle is first registered. A vehicle's number plate is determined when it is first registered, the county/city code is taken from the first owner's postal address. Registration remains fixed on one vehicle until it is de-registered (exported, destroyed, etc.), and cannot be transferred to other vehicles.
Riverstown (Irish: Baile Uí Lachnáin, meaning 'town of O'Loughnin') is a small village straddling the border between Counties Tipperary and Offaly on the outskirts of Birr in Ireland. It is mostly within the townland of Ballyloughnane, on the Tipperary side of the river.
The Derrinlough briquette factory was a briquette manufacturing facility in County Offaly, Ireland, opened in 1960. It ceased production on 26 May 2023.
Mongan Bog is a peat bog in County Offaly, Ireland. The bog is located east of Clonmacnoise, a monastic site on the river Shannon. A nature reserve covering about 120 ha protects part of the bog.
Birr Distillery was an Irish whiskey distillery built in 1805 in County Offaly (previously known as King's County) in Ireland.
Saighir (Seir Kieran; also named Seirkieran, in Irish Saighir Chiaráin), is a monastic site in Clareen, County Offaly, founded by Ciarán of Saigir sometime before the year 489.
Birr Barracks (Irish: Dún Bhiorra) also known as Crinkill Barracks (Irish: Dún Chríonchoill) was a military installation in Crinkill, near Birr, County Offaly in Ireland.
Ballybritt (Irish: Baile an Bhriotaigh) is a barony in County Offaly (formerly King's County), Ireland.
Garrycastle (Irish: Garraí an Chaisleáin) is a barony in County Offaly (formerly King's County), Ireland.
Kinnitty Cross is a high cross and National Monument located near Kinnitty, County Offaly, Ireland.
Boora Bog (Irish Portach na Buaraí) is a cutaway peat bog situated in County Offaly, Ireland. Peat was harvested for fuel between the 1950s and 1970s, and the land is now being reclaimed for agricultural and eco-tourism use. There was a lake called Lough Boora (Loch na Buaraí), which was drained by Bord na Móna, but was not used for peat production: this area is now maintained as a nature reserve by the Irish Wildlife Trust. There are two angling lakes.
The Offaly Way (Irish: Slí Uíbh Fhailí) is a long-distance trail in County Offaly, Ireland. It is 37 kilometres (23 miles) long and begins in Cadamstown and ends at Lemanaghan, on the R436 road between the towns of Clara and Ferbane. It is typically completed in two days. It is designated as a National Waymarked Trail by the National Trails Office of the Irish Sports Council and is managed by Offaly County Council, Bord na Mona and the Offaly Integrated Development Company. The trail provides a link between the Slieve Bloom Way and the Grand Canal Way.
The West Offaly Power Station was a large peat-fired 135 MW power station in Shannonbridge from 2005 to 2020, in Ireland. The station was capable of generating up to 153 MWe of power, thus ranking as the largest peat-fired power station in the country. The power station was constructed adjacent to (and as a replacement of) the ageing 125 MWe peat Shannonbridge Power Station, which operated in stages from 1965 to 2003, and demolished in 2005.
Birr GAA is a Gaelic Athletic Association club in Birr, County Offaly, Ireland. The club is affiliated to the Offaly Cork Board and is primarily concerned with the game of hurling, but also fields teams in Gaelic football.
Buffers Alley is a Gaelic Athletic Association club based in the villages of Kilmuckridge and Monamolin in County Wexford, Ireland. The club fields teams in Intermediate hurling, Gaelic football and camogie. It competes in Wexford competitions.
Coolderry GAA is a Gaelic Athletic Association club located in the town of Coolderry in County Offaly, Ireland. The club is the most successful side in the Offaly Senior Hurling Championship with a record 31 titles. Its facilities include a clubhouse with four dressing rooms, floodlights, ball wall, two pitches, a running track and a gym. Its most recent win was 2018 beating Kilcormac Kiloughey.
St Rynagh's (Irish: Naomh Raghnach) is the name of two Gaelic Athletic Association sister clubs that encompass the towns of Cloghan and Banagher in County Offaly, in Ireland. The St Rynagh's Football Club is based in Cloghan and wear green and white hooped jerseys; the St Rynagh's Hurling Club is based in Banagher and wear blue and gold jerseys.
Natura 2000 site ID: IE0000216
Natura 2000 site ID: IE0000566
Natura 2000 site ID: IE0000576
Natura 2000 site ID: IE0000919
Natura 2000 site ID: IE0004096
Natura 2000 site ID: IE0004103
Natura 2000 site ID: IE0004137
The Battle of Curlew Pass was fought on 15 August 1599 during the campaign of the Earl of Essex in the Nine Years' War, between an English force under Sir Conyers Clifford and a rebel Irish force led by Hugh Roe O'Donnell. The English were ambushed and routed while marching through a pass in the Curlew Mountains, near the town of Boyle, in the west of Ireland. The English forces suffered heavy casualties. Losses by allied Irish forces were not recorded but were probably minimal.
The Boyle River is a river in Ireland. Forming part of the Shannon River Basin, it flows from Lough Gara on the Sligo/Roscommon county border and thence through the town of Boyle to Lough Key. From there is continues eastwards through the village of Knockvicar to the River Shannon at Lough Drumharlow, near Carrick-on-Shannon. The length of the Boyle River (from its source in County Mayo to the Shannon) is 64.4 km (40 mi). The area of its basin is 725 km2.
Seltannasaggart (from Irish Sailtean na Sagart, meaning 'willow plantation of the priests'), also called Corry Mountain, is a low mountain near Lough Allen on the border of County Roscommon and County Leitrim in Ireland; it is the highest point in Roscommon.
Boyle (Irish: Mainistir na Búille) is a barony in the far north of County Roscommon in Ireland.
Frenchpark (Irish: Dún Gar) is a barony in County Roscommon, Ireland.
Croghan (Irish: Cruachán, meaning 'a round natural hill' ), is a townland and village in County Roscommon, Ireland. It is situated centrally between the towns of Boyle, Elphin and Carrick on Shannon.
Cath Áth an Chip, meaning the Battle of Ath an Chip, alias the "Battle of Connacht", was fought in 1270 between the Anglo-Irish and the Irish of Connacht in County Leitrim in Ireland. The result was a decisive Irish victory. "Athanchip", then a ford marked by a tree-stump", is today the place called "Battle Bridge". The battle site is probably Drumhierney townland and Leitrim village.
The Curlew Mountains (Irish: An Corrshliabh, meaning 'the rough or rugged mountain') are a range of low-lying hills situated between Boyle and Castlebaldwin in northeastern Connacht.
The R370 road is a regional road in Ireland, located in County Roscommon.
Ardcarn Mound is a mound and ringfort and National Monument located in County Roscommon, Ireland.
Boyle GAA (Irish: CLG Mainistir na Búille) is a Gaelic Athletic Association club based in Boyle, County Roscommon. The club was founded in 1889 and plays in maroon and white.
Mainistir i gContae Ros Comáin is ea Mainistir Chill Rónáin.
website: http://www.gallencs.com/
Moycarn (Irish: Maigh Charnáin; also Moycarnon, Moycarnanan or Moycarne ) is a barony in County Roscommon, Ireland.
Meelick Martello Tower is a Martello tower constructed on Moran Island in the River Shannon between Meelick, County Galway and Clonahenoge, County Offaly. The tower was built about 1811 to protect the river at Meelick rapids where there is a fording opportunity. It was feared at the time that the French would invade Ireland from the west coast. Unusually the tower is cam-shaped with three gun emplacements. It reinforced the existing defences at Keelogue Battery on Incherky Island.
Ballickmoyler or Ballicmoyler (Irish: Baile Mhic Mhaoilir, meaning 'the town of the son of Maoilir') is a village and townland in County Laois, Ireland. It lies 30 km (19 mi) southeast of Portlaoise, at the junction of the N80 national secondary road and the R429 regional road.
Killeshin (Irish: Cill Uisean, meaning 'church of [the glen of] Uise') is a village in County Laois, Ireland on the R430 regional road. Killeshin is a small rural community situated five kilometres west of Carlow town and overlooks the picturesque Barrow Valley. The church at the foot of Slievemargy, the hill above Killeshin, is the site of an early Christian monastery. The village is in a townland and civil parish of the same name.
Arles or Arless (historically Ardlisse, from Irish: Ard Lios, meaning 'high ringfort') is a village in County Laois, Ireland. It lies 2 kilometres (1.2 mi) northwest of Ballickmoyler and 10 km (6 mi) northwest of Carlow, on the N80 national secondary road.
Vicarstown, historically known as Ballynevicar, Ballyvicar and Ballyvicary (Irish: Baile an Bhiocáire, meaning 'town of the vicar'), is a village in County Laois, Ireland. It stands at the point where the R427 regional road crosses the Grand Canal.
Stradbally (Irish: An Sráidbhaile, meaning 'the (one) street town') is a town in County Laois, Ireland.
Ballyhide (Irish: Baile an Hídigh, meaning 'town of An tÍdeach (de la Hyde)') is a rural townland and village in the extreme south eastern corner of County Laois, Ireland at the border with County Carlow. The nearest urban centre is Carlow town which is 3 kilometres to the north east. It is located in the Luggacurren Local Electoral District.
Newtown or Newtown Cross (Irish: Baile Nua) is a village in County Laois, Ireland. It is within the townlands of Clonbrock (Cluain Broc) and Doonane (Dúnán).
Coorlaghan Ringfort ( or ) is a ringfort (rath) and National Monument located in County Laois, Ireland.
Killeshin Church is a 12th-century Romanesque church and National Monument located in County Laois, Ireland.
The R428 road, also called the Athy Road, is a regional road in Ireland, located in County Kildare and County Laois.
The R429 road is a regional road in Ireland, located in County Laois and County Kildare.
The R431 road is a regional road in Ireland, located in County Laois.
Sleaty Church is a medieval church and National Monument located in County Laois, Ireland.
The Stradbally Woodland Railway is a 1km (0.62 mile) long single-track 3 ft (914 mm) narrow-gauge railway line at Stradbally Hall in Stradbally, County Laois in Ireland. The railway is operated by the Irish Steam Preservation Society.
website: http://stradballyrailway.webs.com/
Laois County Infirmary (Irish: Otharlann Chontae Laoise) was a hospital in Portlaoise, County Laois, Ireland.
Swan or The Swan (Irish: an Eala) is a small village in County Laois, Ireland. Around 20 km south-east of Portlaoise, it lies near the County Kilkenny border where the R430 regional road crosses the R426. The village lies within the townland of Slatt (Lower), in the civil parish of Rathaspick.
Oughaval (An Nuachabháil), sometimes called Oakvale, is a townland in the civil parish of Stradbally, County Laois, in Ireland. It is the site of a sixth-century monastic settlement.
Sletty, Sleaty, or Slatey (Sléibhte, 'mountains', in Irish), is a civil parish in County Laois, Ireland. It is situated some 2 km north-north-west of the town of Carlow. It was once the see of a bishopric, founded by Saint Fiacc in the fifth century, but this was later transferred to Leighlin. It was at Sletty, according to James Joyce in his novel Ulysses, that Cormac mac Airt 'suffocated by imperfect deglutition of aliment', i.e. that he choked on a fishbone.
St Mary's Knockbeg College (Irish: Coláiste Muire Cnoc Beag) is a Roman Catholic, all-boys secondary school located on the Laois/Carlow border in Ireland, approximately 3 km from both Carlow town and Graiguecullen, County Laois. A former seminary school for the diocese of Kildare and Leighlin, it was founded in 1793. Exclusively a boarding school until the 1980s, it now accommodates only day-pupils; the boarding school having closed down in June 2011. Knockbeg College celebrated its bicentenary in 1993.
website: http://www.knockbegcollege.ie
Stradbally is a large house in Stradbally, County Laois, Ireland. It is owned by the Cosby family and is positioned in the heart of Stradbally, around ten minutes from Portlaoise on the N80. The estate has hosted the Electric Picnic boutique arts and music festival since it began in 2004, hosts other events such as the National Steam Rally, and was the venue for an Irish Scout Jamboree in July/August 2018. The Stradbally Woodland Railway operates a short narrow gauge track on the grounds.
Timahoe Esker is a national nature reserve of approximately 33.4 acres (0.135 km2) located in County Laois, Ireland. It is managed by the Irish National Parks & Wildlife Service.
The River Dinan, Deen or Dinin is a river in Ireland, flowing through County Kilkenny and County Laois.
The Crooked River rises in Loughan Macmartin at the top of Slieve Rushen Mountain, in the townland of Carrowmore, Parish of Tomregan, Barony of Tullyhaw, County Cavan, Ireland. It then flows in a southerly direction and discharges into the Shannon–Erne Waterway in the townland of Derryginny. It has a fish population of brown trout, pike, minnows, stoneloach and perch.
Stradbally (Irish: An Sráidbhaile) is a barony in County Laois (formerly called Queen's County or County Leix), Ireland.
Ballyadams (Irish: Baile Adaim) is a barony in County Laois (formerly called Queen's County or County Leix), Ireland.
Cullenagh or Cullinagh (Irish: Cuileannach) is a barony in County Laois (formerly called Queen's County or County Leix), Ireland.
Maryborough East or East Maryborough (Irish: Port Laoise Thoir) is a barony in County Laois (formerly called Queen's County or County Leix), Ireland.
Slievemargy (Irish: Sliabh Mairge, IPA: [ʃlʲiə mˠaɾ.ɟə]) is a barony in County Laois (formerly called Queen's County or County Leix), Ireland.
County Hall (Irish: Áras an Chontae, Port Laoise) is a municipal facility in Portlaoise, County Laois, Ireland.
The Ballyprior Grassland (Irish: Féarach Bhaile an Phrióra) Special Area of Conservation or SAC is a designated Natura 2000 site in County Laois, near the town of Stradbally, Ireland.
Annanough GAA is a Gaelic football club in Vicarstown, County Laois, Ireland.
Arles–Kilcruise GAA Gaelic Athletic Association Club is a gaelic football club in County Laois, Ireland.
Arles–Killeen GAA is a Gaelic football club in County Laois, Ireland.
Ballyroan Abbey GAA is a Gaelic Athletic Association gaelic football club in County Laois, Ireland.
Barrowhouse GAA is a Gaelic Athletic Association club in County Laois located in the townland of Barrowhouse which is close to the border with County Kildare near the town of Athy in the Republic of Ireland.
Crettyard GAA is a Gaelic Athletic Association gaelic football club in Crettyard near Newtown in County Laois, Ireland.
Graiguecullen GFC are a Gaelic Athletic Association club from County Laois, Ireland. The club played in Carlow for many years but in 1926 they were suspended. The club then chose to play in Laois and have been doing so ever since.
website: http://www.graiguecullengaa.com/
Killeshin GAA is a Gaelic Athletic Association football club in the village of Killeshin, County Laois, Ireland.
Park–Ratheniska GAA is a Gaelic Athletic Association gaelic football and hurling club in County Laois, Ireland.
Spink Gaelic Athletic Association Club is a gaelic football club in Spink, County Laois, Ireland.
Stradbally GAA is a Gaelic football club in Stradbally, County Laois, Ireland.
Is mainistir suite i gContae Ros Comáin í Mainistir Dhroim Connaidh.
Street address: Boyle Library, King House, Boyle, Roscommon, F52 HN50 (from Wikidata)
The Lung is a river in Ireland flowing through counties Mayo and Roscommon. It runs in a generally north-easterly direction mainly through Mayo but also forms the border between the two counties in three places until it reaches Lough Gara near the town of Ballaghaderreen in County Roscommon. The river and its lakes provides facilities for anglers to fish.
The Diocese of Achonry (Irish: Deoise Achadh Conaire) is a Latin Church diocese of the Catholic Church in the western part of Ireland. It is one of the five suffragan sees of the Archdiocese of Tuam. The diocese was often called the "bishopric of Luighne" in the Irish annals. It was not established at the Synod of Rathbreasail, but Máel Ruanaid Ua Ruadáin signed as "bishop of Luighne" at the Synod of Kells.
website: http://www.achonrydiocese.org/
Natura 2000 site ID: IE0002354
Is é an aidhm atá ag an gCoimisiún Forbartha an Iarthair (CFI) tacú le forbairt shóisialta agus gheilleagrach i Réigiún an Iarthair. Is comhlacht reachtúil é an CFI a bunaíodh sa bhliain 1997 chun tacú le forbairt sna contaetha seo a leanas – Dún na nGall, Liatroim, Sligeach, Maigh Eo, Ros Comáin, Gaillimh agus An Clár).
website: http://www.wdc.ie/
Is abhainn í Abhainn na Loinge. Tá sí suite i gCoistealaigh, i gContae Mhaigh Eo.
Castlepollard (Irish: Baile na gCros or Cionn Toirc) is a small town in north County Westmeath, Ireland. It lies west of Lough Lene and northeast of Lough Derravaragh and Mullingar. As of the 2022 census, Castlepollard had a population of 1,349 people.
Crookedwood (Irish: Tigh Munna) is a small village in County Westmeath on the R394 regional road. Historically it was called Taghmon (Irish: Tigh Munna), after the townland it occupies.
Randoon (Randún) is a Turgesius Viking fortress located southwest of Lough Lene in Ireland. The fortress is situated upon a hill in Ranaghan, dominating by its height all other ringforts in the area, and overlooking Lough Lene between the towns of Castlepollard and Collinstown. The locally used term fort refers to any of the multitude of ringforts, many of which have been overgrown by vegetation. These remain today as historical relics Early Medieval Period of Ireland and Western Europe; they protected by Irish national heritage law.
Clonmellon (Irish: Ráistín, but also attested to originally have been Cluain Miolain) is a small village officially in County Westmeath although on the border with County Meath, Ireland. It is situated on the N52 road between Kells in County Meath and Delvin in County Westmeath.
Fore (Irish: Baile Fhobhair, meaning 'Townland of the Spring') is a village, next to the old Benedictine Abbey ruin of Fore Abbey, situated to the north of Lough Lene in County Westmeath, in Ireland.
The principal island on Lough Lene is named after Turgesius who was a Viking leader who is said to have conquered Dublin.
Delvin (Irish: Dealbhna) is a barony in north-east County Westmeath, in Ireland. It was formed by 1672. It is bordered by County Meath to the east and three other baronies: Fore (to the north–west), Moyashel and Magheradernon (to the south–west) and Farbill (to the south). The largest centre of population is Delvin.
Cavan County Museum (Irish: Músaem Chontae an Chabháin) is a museum dedicated to the history of County Cavan. The museum is housed in the former Convent of St Clare in Ballyjamesduff.
website: http://www.cavanmuseum.ie
Knockeyon (Irish: Cnoc Eóin) is a hill in County Westmeath, Ireland in the townland of Streamstown.
Drumcree (Irish: Droim Cria or Druim Criadh) is a small village in County Westmeath in Ireland on the R395 regional road. This village is part of St Mary's Parish, Collinstown, and a sister parish of St Feichin's, Fore.
Hill of Ben is a rising hill situated in the Westmeath Hills, Ireland. The Hill of Ben dominates the valley where Fore Abbey resides. It rises sharply among the other surrounding hills that interlace with the many loughs of Westmeath to an elevation of 627'. Local legend has it that Saint Patrick's successor, named Benigne, is said to have preached from the hill to bring the gospel to local communities.
Brownstown Hurling Club is a Gaelic Athletic Association club in Archerstown, County Westmeath, Ireland. The club is exclusively concerned with the game of hurling.
The Dungummin Ogham Stone, also known as the Clonkeiffy standing stone, is an ancient monument found on a field near a crossroads on the R194 road, south of Ballyjamesduff, County Cavan, in Ireland.
Castlerahan (Irish: Caisleán Raithin) is a barony in County Cavan, Ireland. Baronies were mainly cadastral rather than administrative units. They acquired modest local taxation and spending functions in the 19th century before being superseded by the Local Government (Ireland) Act 1898.
Lough Lene Gaels (Irish: Gaeil Loch Léinn) is a Gaelic Athletic Association club, based in Collinstown, County Westmeath, Ireland.
Natura 2000 site ID: IE0000006
Natura 2000 site ID: IE0001810
Natura 2000 site ID: IE0002120
Street address: Church Street, Portlaoise, Co. Laois, Ireland (from Wikidata)
Street address: Church Street, Portlaoise, Co. Laois, Ireland (from Wikidata)
Mountrath Community School (Irish: Pobalscoil Maighean Rátha) is a secondary school in Mountrath, County Laois in Ireland.
website: https://mountrathcs.ie/
Mountrath (Irish: Maighean Rátha, meaning 'homestead of the ringfort') is a town in County Laois, Ireland. The town lies on the R445 midway between Dublin and Limerick, exactly 96.5 km (60 mi) from both cities. The town was bypassed by the M7 motorway in 2010, leading to a significant easing of traffic congestion in the town.
Ballyfin (Irish: (An) Baile Fionn, meaning 'the fair/white town' or alternatively "town of Fionn") is a village and parish in the Slieve Bloom Mountains in County Laois, Ireland. It is around 8 km west of Portlaoise, on the L21121 local road which joins the R423 regional road between Mountrath and Mountmellick.
Arderin (Irish: Ard Éireann, meaning 'Ireland's height') is a mountain on the border between counties Laois and Offaly in Ireland. With a height of 527 metres (1,729 ft) it is the highest point in the Slieve Bloom Mountains, and is the highest point in both counties.
Castletown (Irish: Baile an Chaisleáin) is a village and also an ecclesiastical parish in County Laois in Ireland.
County Laois ( LEESH; Irish: Contae Laoise) is a county in Ireland. It is part of the Eastern and Midland Region and in the province of Leinster. It was known as Queen's County from 1556 to 1922. The modern county takes its name from Loígis, a medieval kingdom. Historically, it has also been known as County Leix.
ISO 3166-2 code: IE-LS; website: http://www.laois.ie; LAU (local administrative unit): IE01201, 01201; FIPS 10-4 (countries and regions): EI15
Coolacurragh Wood is a national nature reserve of approximately 21 acres (0.085 km2) located in County Laois, Ireland. It is managed by the Irish National Parks & Wildlife Service.
Clarmallagh (Irish: Clár Maí Locha) is a barony in County Laois (formerly called Queen's County or County Leix), Ireland.
Maryborough West or West Maryborough (Irish: Port Laoise Thiar) is a barony in County Laois (formerly called Queen's County or County Leix), Ireland.
Upper Woods or Upperwoods (Irish: An Choill Uachtarach) is a barony in County Laois (formerly called Queen's County or County Leix), Ireland.
Clough (Irish: An Chloch) is a village in the civil parish of Bordwell in County Laois. It lies at a point where several townlands and two civil parishes meet.
Abbeyleix railway station served the town of Abbeyleix in County Laois, Ireland.
Coolrain (Irish: Cúil Ruáin), is a village in County Laois, Ireland. It is situated near the Slieve Bloom Mountains. The nearest town is Mountrath, and the closest village is Camross.
Kilbricken, officially Kilbrickan (Irish: Cill Bhriocáin, meaning 'Briocán's church'), is a hamlet in County Laois, Ireland, on the Dublin-Cork railway line.
Raheen (Irish: An Ráithín, meaning 'little ringfort') is a small village south of Portlaoise in County Laois, Ireland.
Shanahoe (Irish: Seanchua) is a small village in County Laois, Ireland, situated in the centre of the county, 8 km west of Abbeyleix and 7 km south of Mountrath.
Attanagh railway station served the village of Attanagh in County Laois, Ireland.
Coolkerry (Irish: Cúil Chéire, Ceir's nook) is a civil parish in the barony of Clarmallagh in County Laois. It is separated into two disjoint areas by an arm of Aghaboe civil parish.
St. Canice is a Church of Ireland church in the hamlet of Aghaboe in County Laois and is named after St Canice, the founder of the Abbey of Aghaboe, whose ruins are adjacent. It belongs to the parish of Rathdowney in the Diocese of Cashel and Ossory. The building retains 13th century pieces from the adjacent ruins of the Augustinian abbey and, according to the website of the diocese, dates from the 19th century; however, the website of Laois county council says that it dates from the 1700s.
Camross GAA is a Gaelic Athletic Association hurling and Gaelic football club based near Coolrain in County Laois, Ireland. As of 2023, the club had won 27 Laois Senior Hurling Championship titles and has also won a number of provincial titles in hurling and camogie.
Castletown GAA is a Gaelic Athletic Association hurling club in County Laois, Ireland. The club colours are blue and white.
Clough–Ballacolla is a Gaelic Athletic Association club in County Laois, Ireland. The colour of the club jersey is all blue with a gold band.
Errill GAA is a Gaelic Athletic Association gaelic football club in Errill in County Laois, Ireland.
Kilcotton GAA is a Gaelic Athletic Association hurling club in County Laois, Ireland.
Rathdowney GAA is a Gaelic Athletic Association gaelic football club in Rathdowney, County Laois, Ireland.
Shanahoe GAA is a Gaelic Athletic Association hurling and gaelic football club in the village of Shanahoe, County Laois, Ireland, with pitches about two kilometres away.
Slieve Bloom GAA is a Gaelic Athletic Association hurling club in County Laois, Ireland.
Colt GAA is a Gaelic football and hurling club in County Laois, Ireland.
St Fintan's, Mountrath is a hurling and Gaelic football club in Mountrath, County Laois, Ireland. They play at St Fintan's GAA Grounds.
Trumera GAA is a hurling and Gaelic football club in County Laois, Ireland.
Abbeylara (Irish: Mainistir Leathrátha, meaning 'abbey of the half rath or little rath') is a village in County Longford, Ireland. It is at the eastern end of the county, three kilometres east of Granard, on the R396 road. The village is in a townland and civil parish of the same name.
Granard (Irish: Gránard) is a town in the north of County Longford, Ireland, and has a traceable history going back to 236 CE. It is situated just south of the boundary between the watersheds of the Shannon and the Erne, at the point where the N55 national secondary road and the R194 regional road meet. It is 20 km north-east of Longford town. The barony of Granard is named for the town. The town is also in the civil parish of Granard.
Ardagh (Irish: Ardach) is a barony in County Longford, Ireland.
Edgeworthstown or Mostrim (Irish: Meathas Troim, meaning 'frontier of the elder tree') is a small town in County Longford, Ireland. The town is in the east of the county, near the border with County Westmeath. Nearby towns are Longford 12 km to the west, Mullingar 26 km to the east, Athlone 40 km to the south and Cavan 42 km to the north. The N4 and N55 roads meet in the town. The town is in the townland of Edgeworthstown and in the civil parish of Mostrim.
Mullinalaghta (; Irish Mullach na Leachta), also officially referred to as Mullanalaghta, is a half-parish in the north-eastern part of County Longford, Ireland, located about eight kilometres north of Granard.
Lough Gowna (Irish: Loch Gamhna, meaning 'calf lake') is a fresh water lake which is the uppermost lake on the River Erne. It is located on the border between County Longford and County Cavan, with the largest part of the lake being in County Longford.
Edgeworthstown railway station serves the town of Edgeworthstown (Mostrim) in County Longford, Ireland.
IBNR ID: 6010019; station code: ETOWN
Ballinalee (Irish: Béal Átha na Lao), sometimes known as Saint Johnstown, is a village in north County Longford, Ireland. It is situated on the River Camlin, and falls within the civil parish of Clonbroney. The village is 10 km northeast of Longford town (12 km by road). As of the 2016 census, it had a population of 347 people.
Lisryan (Irish: Lios Riain, meaning 'Rian's ringfort') is a village in County Longford, Ireland.
Finnea (Irish: Fiodh an Átha, meaning 'wood of the ford'), also Finea, is a small village in County Westmeath, Ireland. It is on the border with County Cavan, on the R394 road. The village is very roughly 25 km from each of Mullingar, Cavan town and Longford town.
Ballywillan Railway Station in County Longford was a former station on the Inny Junction to Cavan branch of the Midland Great Western Railway, Ireland. It opened in 1856 and closed in 1947. It is now a private residence.
Drumhawnagh (Drumhowna) Railway Station near Loughduff in County Cavan, Ireland was a former station on the Inny Junction to Cavan branch of the Midland Great Western Railway, Ireland. It opened in 1877 and closed in 1947. The previous station along the dismantled branch was Ballywillan whereas the next station along the dismantled branch to Cavan is Crossdoney.
Float Railway Station was a former station on the Inny Junction to Cavan branch of the Midland Great Western Railway, Ireland. It opened in 1856 and closed in 1947. Due to the fuel shortage caused by World War Two, the station was closed for over a year and a half in 1944–1945.
The River Camlin (Irish An Chamlinn - Crooked Pool) is a tributary of the River Shannon. Rising near Granard, it flows through Clonbroney, Ballinalee, Killoe and Longford Town before its two branch distributaries enter the Shannon.
Fore (Irish: Baile Fhobhair) is a barony in northern County Westmeath, Ireland. It was formed by 1672.
Granard (Irish: Gránard) is a barony in County Longford, Ireland.
Rathgarve (Irish: Ráth Garbh meaning "rough ringfort"), is a civil, religious parish, and townland, in County Westmeath, Ireland, located about 19 km (12 mi) north of Mullingar. It takes in parts of the modern town of Castlepollard (the townlands of Kinturk Desmesne and Townparks), and it forms part of the religious parish of St. Michael's Parish, Castlepollard. Historically it has been linked to the 8th century monk Dicuil, according to Monasticon Hibernicum. However, he is also associated with Rathgar ( also in Irish: Ráth Garbh, again meaning "rough ringfort"), in Dublin, which may indicate a misassociation with one of these sites.
Coolamber Hall-House is an Anglo-Norman ruin in County Longford, Ireland that is dated to the early 13th century. Possibly the residence of Thomas Nugent, 4th Earl of Westmeath, one of the commissioners for Plantation of Longford in 1620. Described by Samuel Lewis as ‘the ruins of an old castle, which was besieged by Oliver Cromwell, it formed the boundary of the English Pale’. Hall-houses of this type consist of two-storey buildings with the entrance doorway on the first floor. The entrance was accessed via an external staircase of wood or stone. The main feature of the building was the large first floor hall which was open up to the roof. The ground floor was accessed via a trapdoor or internal staircase and was probably used as a storage area. Many hall-houses like that at Coolamber have been rebuilt or altered considerably.
Corkaree (Irish: Corca Raoi) is a barony in north County Westmeath, Ireland. It was formed by 1672. It is bordered by three other baronies: Fore (to the north), Moyashel and Magheradernon (to the south) and Moygoish (to the west).
Moygoish (Irish: Uí Mhac gCuais) is a barony in north County Westmeath, in Ireland, formed by 1672. It is bordered by County Longford to the west and four other Westmeath baronies: Corkaree (to the east), Fore (to the north–east), Moyashel and Magheradernon (to the south–east) and Rathconrath to the south–west.
The R396 road is a regional road in Ireland, located in County Longford and County Westmeath.
Granard Motte is the remains of a motte-and-bailey castle and National Monument in Granard, County Longford, Ireland.
Street address: Church Street, Granard, County Longford in Ireland (from Wikidata)
The Aghaward fort is a ringfort (rath) and national monument located in County Longford, Ireland.
Larkfield fort is a ringfort (rath) and National Monument located in County Longford, Ireland. On the Record of Monuments and Places it bears the code LF006-021----.
Mullahoran (Irish: Mhullach Odhráin – Hilltop of Odhrán) is a townland in the south-west of County Cavan, bordering County Longford, on the northern edge of the Midlands in Ireland. It is also the name of a Roman Catholic parish. It is a constituent part of the electoral division and civil parish of Drumlumman.
Colmcille GFC (Gaelic Football Club) is a Gaelic Football and Ladies Gaelic Football club based in Aughnacliffe, County Longford, Ireland. Colmcille most recently won the Longford Senior Football Championship in 2022 defeating Mullinalaghta by a scoreline of 1-07 to 0-08.
Sonnagh fort is a ringfort (rath) and National Monument located in County Longford, Ireland.
Aughnacliffe, officially Aghnacliff (Irish: Achadh na Cloiche, meaning 'field of the stones'), is a village in County Longford, Ireland. It is located close to Lough Gowna and the border with County Cavan.
Legan (Irish: An Liagán, meaning 'the standing stone') is a village in County Longford, Ireland. As of the 2016 census, the village population was 215.
Wolfe Tones GAA is a Gaelic Athletic Association club located in Edgeworthstown, County Longford, Ireland. The club is solely concerned with the game of hurling.
Clanmahon (Irish: Clann Mhathúna) is a barony in County Cavan, Ireland. Baronies were mainly cadastral rather than administrative units. They acquired modest local taxation and spending functions in the 19th century before being superseded by the Local Government (Ireland) Act 1898.
Abbeylara Gaelic Football Club is a Gaelic football club based in Abbeylara, County Longford, Ireland.
Multyfarnham GAA is a Gaelic Athletic Association club based in the village of Multyfarnham in the north of County Westmeath. They compete in the Westmeath Intermediate Football Championship. They won the Westmeath Junior Championship in 2022. They won the 2017 Westmeath Junior Championship, and subsequently won the 2017 Leinster Junior Club Football Championship before being runners-up in the 2018 All-Ireland Junior Club Football Championship, losing the final to Knocknagree of Cork. They are the only team from Westmeath to reach this stage.
Natura 2000 site ID: IE0002340
Natura 2000 site ID: IE0002341
Natura 2000 site ID: IE0004043
Natura 2000 site ID: IE0004061
Is baile fearainn é Baile Mhaí (nó Baile Mhuighe Móire) i gContae Laoise. Tá sé suite idir an tsráidbhaile Buiríos Mór Osraí agus Maighean Rátha i lár an chontae. Níl ach cúpla céad daoine ina gcónaí ann.
Is barúntacht suite i gContae Laoise é Clann Donncha.
Shinrone (Irish: Suí an Róin, meaning 'Róin's seat/retreat') is a village in County Offaly, Ireland. It is in the southernmost part of the county, situated very close to the border with County Tipperary. It lies at the junction of the R491 regional road between Nenagh and Roscrea with the R492 to Sharavogue. At the 2016 census, the village population was 645. The village is in a townland and civil parish of the same name.
Brosna (Irish: An Bhrosnach) is a small village and townland in County Offaly, Ireland. 7 km north-west of Roscrea, it lies in the valley of the Little Brosna River near the N62 road. The area takes its name from the Little Brosna River, which flows along the north-eastern edge of the townland. As of the 2011 census, Brosna townland had a population of 31 people.
Cistercian College, Roscrea (CCR; also called Roscrea College) is a private boarding school in Ireland. It is a Roman Catholic seven-day and five-day boarding and day school for boys, founded in 1905. Its pupil population is primarily made up of boarding students with some day students also attending. In May 2025 it was announced that from 2026 the school will become co-educational.
website: http://ccr.ie/
Coolderry (Irish: Cúl Doire) is a small roadside village in southern County Offaly, Ireland. It is located 8 kilometres north of Roscrea and 11 kilometres south of Birr. The village lies close to the Slieve Bloom Mountains.
Farbreague (Irish: Fear Bréige, meaning 'false man') is a mountain (Marilyn) in County Offaly, Ireland. It is a popular walking destination in the county. At 430 metres (1,410 ft) high, it is the county's sixth-highest mountain, the eighth-highest mountain in the Slieve Bloom Mountains and the 798th-highest summit in Ireland.
Garraunbaun is a mountain in County Laois, Ireland. Garraunbaun's summit is at an elevation of 406 metres (1,332 feet), making it the fifth highest point in Laois, the tenth-highest point in the Slieve Bloom Mountains and the 911th-highest summit in Ireland.
Clonlisk (Irish: Cluain Leisc) is a barony in County Offaly (formerly King's County), Ireland.
Busherstown House is a country house in Busherstown, on the Offaly/Tipperary border, Republic of Ireland. It was built by Humphrey Minchin in 1740 and rebuilt in c.1810 following a fire. It was then that the house was given its fine gothic revival frontage, including terminating towers and a parapet to the West front. The house was owned by the Minchin family up until it was sold for the first time in 1973.
Kyle GAA is a Gaelic Athletic Association hurling club in County Laois, Ireland.
Natura 2000 site ID: IE0000585
County Longford (Irish: Contae an Longfoirt) is a county in Ireland. It is in the province of Leinster. It is named after the town of Longford. Longford County Council is the local authority for the county. The population of the county was 46,634 at the 2022 census. The county is based on the historic Gaelic territory of Annaly (Anghaile), formerly known as Teffia (Teathbha).
ISO 3166-2 code: IE-LD; FIPS 10-4 (countries and regions): EI18; website: http://www.longford.ie/; LAU (local administrative unit): IE01202, 01202
The Cathedral Church of St Mel is the cathedral church of the Roman Catholic Diocese of Ardagh and Clonmacnoise, located in the town of Longford in Ireland. Built between 1840 and 1856, with the belfry and portico as later additions, it has been considered the "flagship cathedral" of the Irish midlands region, Longford's "landmark building" and "one of the finest Catholic churches in Ireland". The cathedral is dedicated to Saint Mél (died 488), who came to Ireland with Saint Patrick and who was ordained bishop at Ardagh, County Longford.
The Corlea Trackway (Irish: Bóthar Chorr Liath) is an Iron Age trackway, or togher, near the village of Keenagh, south of Longford, County Longford, in Ireland. It was known locally as the Danes' Road. It was constructed from oak planks in 148–147 BC, making it contemporary with the Siege of Carthage.
Ardagh (Irish: Ardach, older version Irish: Ardachadh, meaning 'high field') is a village in County Longford, Ireland. Ardagh is located towards the south of County Longford, 10 kilometres (6.2 mi) southwest of Longford town, located off the N4 road. Originally a site of pre-Christian worship, Ardagh became a site of Christian settlement with the arrival of Saint Patrick sometime between 434 and 435. The bulk of the village was laid-out in the mid-19th century. The barony of Ardagh is named for the village. There is also a civil parish of the same name.
Longford (Irish: An Longfort) is the county town of County Longford in Ireland. It had a population of 10,952 at the 2022 census. It is the biggest town in the county and about one third of the county's population lives there. Longford lies at the meeting of Ireland's N4 and N5 roads, which means that traffic travelling between Dublin and County Mayo, or north County Roscommon passes around the town. Longford railway station, on the Dublin-Sligo line, is used heavily by commuters.
website: http://www.longfordcoco.ie
Strokestown Road, currently known as Bishopsgate for sponsorship purposes, is a football stadium in Longford, Ireland which is the home of League of Ireland club Longford Town.
website: http://ltfc.ie/index.php/stadium-info-4/
Longford Railway Station serves the town of Longford in County Longford, Ireland.
station code: LFORD; IBNR ID: 6000066
Killoe (Irish: Cill Eo, meaning 'church of the yew') is a rural community and parish in County Longford, Ireland, located approximately 6 miles north of Longford Town. It is home to Cairn Hill (locally known as Cornhill or Corn Hill) or Carn Clonhugh - the highest peak in County Longford.
The Battle of Ballinamuck (8 September 1798) marked the defeat of the main force of the French incursion during the 1798 Rebellion in Ireland.
Cloondara (Irish: Cluain Dá Ráth, meaning 'pasture of two ringforts') is a small village in County Longford, Ireland. It is situated just off the N5 road near Termonbarry, where the Royal Canal terminates at the River Shannon. It lies 7 km (4.3 mi) west of Longford Town. The Royal Canal is being upgraded so that canal boats can once again travel along it. The village of Termonbarry lies to the west of the village, on the opposite bank of the River Shannon.
Kilcommock is a civil parish and townland in County Longford, Ireland.
Templemichael (Irish: Teampall Mhichíl) is a civil parish in County Longford, Ireland. It is approximately 40 square kilometres (15.4 sq mi) in area. Templemichael is also a Church of Ireland parish in the Diocese of Kilmore, Elphin and Ardagh. Churches within this Anglican parish include Saint John's Church (Templemichael) in Longford town.
Killoe Young Emmets (Irish: Emmet Óg Cill Eo) is a Gaelic Football and Ladies Gaelic Football club based in Killoe, County Longford, Ireland. Killoe are the 2025 Longford Senior and Junior Football champions. The club is also referred to by the Irish 'Emmet Óg' or by 'Killoe Emmet Óg'. Organised Gaelic Games in the Parish of Killoe can trace its origins back to 1889 and the formation of the Killoe Erins Pride GAA club.
County Hall (Irish: Áras an Chontae, Longfoirt) is a municipal facility in Longford, County Longford, Ireland.
Longford Courthouse is a judicial facility in Main Street, Longford, County Longford, Ireland.
Castle Forbes is a gothic revival castellated house and demesne in Newtownforbes, County Longford, Ireland. The castle is the ancestral home of the eponymous Forbes family and still remains the seat of the Earl of Granard as of 2025.
Moydow (Irish: Maigh Dumha) is a barony in County Longford, Ireland.
Rathcline (; Irish: Ráth Claon) is a barony in County Longford, Ireland.
The Cathedral of Saint Mell is the name given to the ruins of a small, Early Medieval church in the village of Ardagh, County Longford in Ireland, not to be confused with St Mel's Cathedral in the town of Longford. Church reform in the 12th century made Saint Mel's Cathedral in Ardagh the centre of the Diocese of Ardagh and Clonmacnoise, demonstrating the importance of the site as a Cathedral and bishopric see. Although known as Saint Mel's Cathedral, the ruined church dates from three centuries after the saint's death, and predates the introduction of a diocesan system in Ireland.
The Cairn Hill transmission site is a radio and television broadcasting facility located on a 277 metre hill (Carn Clonhugh) at Dernacross, 10 km northeast of Longford town in County Longford, Ireland.
Lough Forbes (Irish: Loch Foirbis) is a lake and Special Area of Conservation in Ireland. It is on the border of counties Longford and Roscommon, west of the village of Newtownforbes.
The R398 road is a regional road in Ireland, located in County Longford.
Connolly Barracks (Irish: Dún Ó Conghalaigh), previously known as the Longford Cavalry Barracks, is a former military installation in Longford, Ireland. The barracks was closed in 2009 and was purchased by Longford County Council in 2012.
Longford Greyhound Stadium was a greyhound racing track located on the south side of Longford, County Longford, Ireland.
Longford (Irish: An Longfort) is a barony in County Longford, Ireland.
Ballintober North (Irish: Baile an Tobair Thuaidh), also called Ballintober East, is a barony in County Roscommon, Ireland.
Lanesborough–Ballyleague (Irish: Béal Átha Liag), more commonly known simply as Lanesborough, is a town in the midlands of Ireland. Lanesborough is on the County Longford (east) side and Ballyleague on the County Roscommon (west) side of the River Shannon, at the northern tip of Lough Ree.
Newtown Forbes (Irish: an Lios Breac, meaning 'the speckled ringfort') is a large village in County Longford, Ireland. It was historically called Lisbrack, an anglicisation of the Irish name. As of the 2022 census, Newtownforbes had a population of 851 people.
Pearse Park is a GAA stadium in Longford, Ireland. It is the main grounds of Longford's Gaelic football and hurling teams. In December 2011, the stadium was renamed Glennon Brothers Pearse Park, due to sponsorship with Glennon Brothers, a local timber firm. The ground originally had a capacity of 18,000, however in November 2011, this was cut to 8,000 for health and safety reasons. Following completion of works in recent years, the capacity currently sits at 10,000.
Ballinamuck (Irish: Béal Átha na Muc, meaning 'mouth of the pig's ford') is a village in the north of County Longford in the Midlands of Ireland. It is around 15 km north of Longford Town.
Drumlish (Irish: Droim Lis, meaning 'fort of the ridge') is a village in County Longford, Ireland. It is on the R198 road 10 km (6 mi) north of Longford town, close to the border with County Leitrim. The population of the village increased markedly between the 2002 and 2022 censuses, growing from 277 to 1,124 inhabitants in that 20-year period.
Keenagh or Kenagh (Irish: Caonach, meaning 'mossy place') is a village in County Longford, Ireland. 14 km (9 mi) south of Longford town, it is on the R397 near the Royal Canal.
Killashee (Irish: Cill na Sí) is a village in County Longford, Ireland. It is situated on the N63 midway between Lanesborough and Longford, near the Royal Canal and 8 km (5.0 mi) east of the River Shannon. The village is in a townland and civil parish of the same name.
Moydow (Irish: Maigh Dumha, meaning 'plain of the mound') is a village on the outskirts of Longford town in County Longford, Ireland.
Clonguish GAA is a Gaelic football and hurling club in Newtownforbes, County Longford, Ireland. The club was formed on 20 October 1889 and was originally called Clonguish Gallowglasses. Situated in the west of County Longford, it is bordered by four parishes in County Longford, Drumlish, Killoe, Killashee and Templemichael (Longford) – the parish also shares a common boundary with the Province of Connacht in that it adjoins the parishes of Bornacoola and Gortletteragh in County Leitrim and Tarmonbarry in County Roscommon. The Irish for Clonguish is Cluain Geis which means 'The Meadow of the Swans'.
Lough Ree Power Station was a large peat-fired power station in Lanesborough, in Ireland. The station generated up 100 MWe of power, ranking as the third largest peat-fired power station in the country after West Offaly Power Station at 150 MWe and Edenderry Power Station at 120 MWe. The power station was constructed as a replacement to the ageing 85 MWe Lanesborough power station. The plant closed on 18 December 2020.
The Irish Society for Prevention of Cruelty to Animals (Irish: Cumann na hÉireann um Fhóirithint ar Ainmhithe), most commonly known as and referred to as the ISPCA, is a charity operating in the Republic of Ireland which promotes animal welfare. Founded in 1949, it is the main animal protection charity in Ireland known for their charitable work amongst the animal world. The ISPCA's main role is to prevent cruelty to animals, to promote animal welfare and to relieve animal suffering in Ireland. The ISPCA believes that animals "have the right to live their lives free from needless suffering". The organisation's aims include the goal to "rescue, rehabilitate and responsibly re-home" any animals which have been neglected or treated cruely.
Longford Slashers is a Gaelic Athletic Association club located in Longford, County Longford, Ireland. The club is based at Michael Fay Park in Longford Town.
The Diocese of Ardagh and Clonmacnoise (Latin: Dioecesis Ardachadensis et Cluanensis; Irish: Deoise Ardach agus Chluain Mhic Nóis) is a Latin Church diocese of the Catholic Church in Ireland.
website: http://www.ardaghdiocese.org/
Natura 2000 site ID: IE0000448
Natura 2000 site ID: IE0001818
Natura 2000 site ID: IE0002202
Natura 2000 site ID: IE0004101
Is portach agus baile fearainn i Longfort é An tEanach Rua (Béarla: the Brown Bog). Tá an portach faoi Rialacháin an Aontais Eorpaigh um Ghnáthóga is Limistéar Caomhantais Speisialta.
County Roscommon (Irish: Contae Ros Comáin) is a county in Ireland. It is part of the province of Connacht and the Northern and Western Region. It is the 11th largest Irish county by area and 26th most populous. Its county town and largest town is Roscommon. Roscommon County Council is the local authority for the county. The population of the county was 70,259 as of the 2022 census.
FIPS 10-4 (countries and regions): EI24; ISO 3166-2 code: IE-RN; LAU (local administrative unit): IE01304, 01304; website: http://www.roscommoncoco.ie/en/
Dr. Hyde Park (Páirc de hÍde in Irish) is a Gaelic Athletic Association (GAA) stadium in Roscommon, Ireland. Built in 1969 and officially opened in 1971, it is the home of the Roscommon county football team, with Athleague being the traditional home for the Roscommon county hurling team. Named after Gaelic scholar and first President of Ireland, Douglas Hyde, the ground previously had a capacity of about 33,612, which was reduced to 18,500 after a nationwide inspection of facilities by the GAA in 2011. Remedial works were planned to raise the capacity to 25,000. At present, the capacity is 25,000. At the start of 2023, a refurbishment project began, which saw the ground's capacity increase to 25,000.
website: https://www.roscommongaels.ie/dr-hyde-park.html
The Bellanagare Bog (Irish: Portach Baile an Turlaigh) Special Area of Conservation (or SAC) is a Natura 2000 site in County Roscommon, Ireland. The qualifying interests by which it is protected as an SAC are the presence of three habitat types: the presence of active raised bog (priority habitat), the presence of degraded raised bogs still capable of natural regeneration, and the presence of depressions on peat substrates of Rhynchosporion vegetation.
The Cloonchambers (Irish: Portach Chluain Sheamhair) Special Area of Conservation (or SAC) is a Natura 2000 site based close to the town of Castlerea in County Roscommon, Ireland. The qualifying interests by which it is protected as an SAC are the presence of three habitat types: the presence of active raised bogs (priority habitat), the presence of degraded raised bogs still capable of natural regeneration, and the presence of depressions on peat substrates of Rhynchosporion vegetation.
County Hall (Irish: Áras an Chontae, Ros Comáin) is a municipal facility in Roscommon, County Roscommon, Ireland.
Roscommon County Museum (Irish: Músaem Chontae Ros Comáin) is a museum dedicated to the history of County Roscommon, and is run by the County Roscommon Historical and Archaeological Society. The museum is housed in a former Presbyterian church in Roscommon town.
Ballintober South (Irish: Baile an Tobair Theas), also called Ballintober West, is a barony in County Roscommon, Ireland.
Roscommon (Irish: Ros Comáin) is a barony in County Roscommon, Ireland.
Elphin Windmill is a fully restored 18th-century tower mill in Elphin, County Roscommon, viewed as a rare piece of Irish industrial architectural heritage, and possibly the oldest operational windmill in Ireland.
The R368 road is a regional road in Ireland, located in County Roscommon.
The R369 road is a regional road in Ireland, located in County Roscommon.
St Mary's Cathedral, Elphin, is a former cathedral in Ireland.
CBS Roscommon (Irish: Meánscoil na mBráithre Críostí) is a Catholic public secondary school for boys, located in Roscommon town, County Roscommon, Ireland.
Carnfree (Irish Carn Fraoich, Fráech's cairn) is a site south of the village of Tulsk in Roscommon that also lies close to the more celebrated ancient landscape of Rathcroghan. The chief feature here is the bronze-age mound of Carnfree itself, believed to be the cairn of the Connacht warrior Fráech, that was used as an inauguration place up to late medieval times. It also encompasses an area known as Selc featuring Duma Selga (The mound of Selc) and the ecclesiastical site where Saint Patrick baptised the Ui Brian princes of Connacht, who according to the saint's biography may have resided in or administrated from this area.
The National Famine Museum (Irish: Músaem Náisiúnta an Ghorta Mhóir) is located at Strokestown Park, County Roscommon, Ireland. The museum contains records from the time of Ireland's Great Famine of 1845–1852.
Street address: Strokestown Park, Strokestown, Roscommon, Ireland (from Wikidata)
website: http://www.strokestownpark.ie/national-famine-museum/, https://www.strokestownpark.ie/famine/museum/
Strokestown Gaelic Athletic Association is a Gaelic football and ladies' Gaelic football club based in Strokestown, County Roscommon, Ireland.
Ballymoe (Irish: Béal Átha Mó) is a barony in County Roscommon, Ireland.
Roscommon University Hospital (Irish: Ospidéal Ollscoile Ros Comáin) is a general hospital based in County Roscommon, Ireland. It is situated on the N61 just outside Roscommon town. It is managed by Saolta University Health Care Group.
website: http://www.hse.ie/eng/services/list/3/acutehospitals/hospitals/Roscommon/
Smith Hill or Smithhill is an early nineteenth-century house situated about 1.5 km east of Elphin, County Roscommon, in Ardnagowan. It is believed that the poet, playwright and novelist Oliver Goldsmith may have been born in an earlier house on the site while his mother, Ann Goldsmith (née Jones), was visiting her parents, the Rev. Oliver Jones and wife.
Oran Hurling Club (Irish: Uarain) is a Gaelic Athletic Association club located in the parishes of Oran in mid County Roscommon, Ireland. They club, which plays in Green and Yellow colours, fields underage teams from U-12 to U-21 as well as Senior and Junior teams. In 2016, the club won their sixth Roscommon Senior Hurling Championship title. Their home pitch is in Clooneenbaun townland. Oran Football GAA club is based at the same ground.
Natura 2000 site ID: IE0000592
Natura 2000 site ID: IE0000612
Natura 2000 site ID: IE0000614
Natura 2000 site ID: IE0001626
Natura 2000 site ID: IE0004105