St. Stephen's Church, Coleman Street, also called "St Stephen's in the Jewry", was a church in the City of London, at the corner of Coleman Street and what is now Gresham Street (and in Coleman Street Ward), first mentioned in the 12th century. In the middle ages it is variously described as a parish church, and as a chapel of ease to the church of St Olave Old Jewry; its parochial status was defined (or re-established) permanently in 1456.
The Hospital of St Thomas of Acre was the medieval London headquarters of the Knights of Saint Thomas. It was founded as a church in 1227 in the parish of St Mary Colechurch, birthplace of the order's patron saint, Saint Thomas Becket. In the 14th century and after it was the main headquarters of the military order.
The Humanitarian Futures Programme (HFP) was originally initiated at King’s College, London, as an action research programme based within the School of Social Science and Public Policy at King's College London and over a decade worked with a wide range of social and natural scientists, representatives of governments, international and non-governmental organisations, as well as the private and humanitarian sectors. Its purpose was to identify future humanitarian challenges and solutions.
The Department of Psychological and Behavioural Science at the London School of Economics, England was founded in 1964, is an independent department within the London School of Economics. Prior to 2009, it used to be located within the Department of Sociology. It has one of the largest concentrations of social psychologists in Europe with 11 members of staff. Work undertaken at the Department strives to understand, through theoretical development and empirical research, the social processes that emerge at the intersection between the individual and wider societal contexts. Research focuses on social representations, health, community, culture, racism, ethnicity, communications and the media, organisational psychology, the social construction of technology, gender, economic psychology, sexuality, social identity, risk and society, and innovation and creativity in organisations and business.
London Knowledge Lab was a transhumanist research centre in Bloomsbury, London. It was founded in 2004 as a collaboration between the Institute of Education and Birkbeck, University of London. It was an interdisciplinary research centre, bringing together over 50 researchers from both social sciences and computer science backgrounds. The Institute of Education and Birkbeck announced the end of their collaboration in February 2016. Both institutions are continuing the work in their own separate Knowledge Lab research centres.
Kingsway telephone exchange was a Cold War-era hardened telephone exchange underneath High Holborn in London. Initially built as a deep-level air-raid shelter in the early 1940s, it was instead used as a government communications centre. In 1949 the General Post Office (GPO) took over the building, and in 1956 it became the UK termination point for TAT-1, the first transatlantic telephone cable. Closure of the facility began in the 1980s.
The Inner Temple Library is a private law library in London, England, serving barristers, judges, and students on the Bar Professional Training Course. Its parent body is the Honourable Society of the Inner Temple, one of the four Inns of Court.
The Mermaid Tavern was a tavern on Cheapside in London during the Elizabethan era, located east of St. Paul's Cathedral on the corner of Friday Street and Bread Street. It was the site of the so-called "Fraternity of Sireniacal Gentlemen", a drinking club that met on the first Friday of every month that included some of the Elizabethan era's leading literary figures, among them Ben Jonson, John Donne, John Fletcher and Francis Beaumont, Thomas Coryat, John Selden, Robert Bruce Cotton, Richard Carew, Richard Martin, and William Strachey. A popular tradition has grown up that the group included William Shakespeare, although most scholars think that was improbable.
Multimap.com was a United Kingdom based provider of mapping and location-based services. It was acquired by Microsoft in 2007 and merged into Bing Maps in 2010.
The New Prison was a prison located in the Clerkenwell area of central London between c.1617 and 1877. The New Prison was used to house prisoners committed for examination before the police magistrates, for trial at the sessions, for want of bail, and occasionally on summary conviction.
The King's Weigh House today serves as the Ukrainian Catholic Cathedral of the Holy Family in Exile and was formerly the name of a Congregational Church in London.
Norton Folgate was a liberty within the metropolitan area of London, England, located between the Bishopsgate ward of the City of London to the south, the parish of St Leonard, Shoreditch to the north and the parish of Spitalfields to the east. It was grouped into the Whitechapel District in 1855 and, following boundary changes in the 1990s, its former area is now divided between the City of London and the London Borough of Tower Hamlets.
The Liberty of the Rolls was a liberty, and civil parish from 1866, in the metropolitan area of London, England.
The London Centre for Arts and Cultural Exchange (LCACE) is a university initiative promoting the exchange of knowledge and expertise with the capital's arts and cultural sectors. The initiative was formed in 2004 to encourage collaboration between its partner universities and London's arts and cultural sectors. LCACE was initially funded from the Higher Education Funding Council of England's HEIF 2 Fund (Higher Education Innovation Fund). The initiative is based at Somerset House and aims to produce networking and information-based events to highlight formal Knowledge transfer initiatives such as those supported by the Arts and Humanities Research Council.
The Cancer Research UK London Research Institute (LRI) was a biological research facility which conducted research into the basic biology of cancer. The LRI officially became a part of the Francis Crick Institute ("the Crick") in April 2015, and research is transferring to the new Crick building from autumn 2015 to spring 2016.
The London Silver Vaults is a large subterranean market that opened as The Chancery Lane Safe Deposit on 7 May 1885. Originally renting out strong rooms to hold household silver, jewellery and documents, it transitioned to housing silver dealers in secure premises a few years later. It is located on Chancery Lane, London, WC2A 1QS. One vault was used to store a farthing, with the owner paying over GB£100 over the years for the vault.
Maison Novelli was a restaurant in Clerkenwell, Central London, located opposite the Old Session House. It was opened by chef proprietor Jean-Christophe Novelli, and held a single Michelin star in the 1997 Michelin Guide. The restaurant's holding company went into liquidation in 2000, and the restaurant was sold to JJ Restaurants with Novelli remaining on the staff as a consultant and advisor. Maison Novelli was closed in 2003.
L-13 Light Industrial Workshop is a contemporary art space that opened in May 2009 in Clerkenwell, London. Operated by Steve Lowe, it is a revised incarnation of his previous galleries and small presses, ‘the aquarium’ and The Aquarium L-13, and works with a small group of artists known for their unorthodox stances, in developing, exhibiting and publishing their work.
The Old Artillery Ground is an area of land in Spitalfields, London formerly designated one of the Liberties of the Tower of London and Crown Land.
Bishopsgate Library is an independent, charity-funded library located within the Bishopsgate Institute in the City of London.
Fisher's Folly was a large mansion in Bishopsgate Street, in Bishopsgate Ward Without built by Jasper Fisher in the 16th century. It earned its name because of its extravagance that Fisher could not afford, and was also known as Mount Fisher.
BT Archives is an archive preserving the documentary heritage of BT and its public sector predecessors. It is designated an official place of deposit for Public Records, for those records created prior to BT's privatisation in 1984.
The Giltspur Street Compter was a compter or small prison, mainly used to hold debtors. It was situated in Giltspur Street, Smithfield, close to Newgate, in the City of London, between 1791 and 1853.
The Liberty of Glasshouse Yard was an extra-parochial liberty adjacent to the City of London. The liberty took its name from a glass manufacturing works established there. The area now forms part of the London Borough of Islington.
The Great Conduit was a man-made underground channel in London, England, which brought drinking water from the Tyburn to Cheapside in the City.
Hockley-in-the-Hole was an area of Clerkenwell in central London where bull-baiting and bear-baiting and similar activities took place in the 17th century and 18th century. It was roughly where the Ray Street Bridge stands today, north of the junction of Clerkenwell Road and Farringdon Road.
The Association of Accounting Technicians (AAT) is the world’s leading professional body for Accounting Technicians, with over 140,000 members worldwide.
Article 19 (stylized ARTICLE 19) is a British human rights organization with a specific mandate and focus on the defense and promotion of freedom of expression and freedom of information worldwide founded in 1987. The organization takes its name from Article 19 of the Universal Declaration of Human Rights, which states:
Christ Church Greyfriars, also known as Christ Church Newgate Street, was a church in Newgate Street, opposite St Paul's Cathedral in the City of London. Established as a monastic church in the thirteenth century, it became a parish church after the Dissolution of the Monasteries. Following its destruction in the Great Fire of London of 1666, it was rebuilt to the designs of Sir Christopher Wren. Except for the tower, the church was largely destroyed by bombing during the Second World War. The ruins are now a public garden.
Coldbath Fields Prison, also formerly known as the Middlesex House of Correction and Clerkenwell Gaol and informally known as the Steel, was a prison in the Mount Pleasant area of Clerkenwell, London. Founded during the reign of James I (1603–1625), the prison was completely rebuilt in 1794 and extended in 1850. It was used to house prisoners on short sentences of up to two years. There were separate blocks for felons, misdemeanants and vagrants.
Clifford's Inn is a former Inn of Chancery in London. It was located between Fetter Lane, Clifford's Inn Passage, leading off Fleet Street and Chancery Lane in the City of London. The Inn was founded in 1344 and refounded 15 June 1668. It was dissolved in 1903, and most of its original structure was demolished in 1934. It was both the first Inn of Chancery to be founded and the last to be demolished.
The Boar's Head Inn was a tavern in Eastcheap in the City of London which is supposed to be the meeting place of Sir John Falstaff, Prince Hal and other characters in Shakespeare's Henry IV plays.
St Michael Cornhill War Memorial is a First World War memorial by the entrance to the church of St Michael Cornhill, facing Cornhill in the City of London. The memorial became a Grade II* listed building in December 2016 ; the church itself is Grade I listed.
Mondial House was a main telecommunications hub in central London on the banks of the River Thames. It was known as an international switching centre (ISC). Built in 1978 the building was seen as controversially modern-looking. It was demolished in 2006.
Surrey Street in the City of Westminster, London, runs from Strand in the north to Temple Place in the south. It was built on land once occupied by Arundel House and its gardens.
22 Bishopsgate is a commercial skyscraper under construction in London, United Kingdom. It will occupy a prominent site on Bishopsgate, in the City of London financial district, and is set to stand 278 m (912 ft) tall with 62 storeys. The project replaces an earlier plan for a 288 m (945 ft) tower named The Pinnacle, on which construction was started in 2008 but suspended in 2012 following the Great Recession, with only the concrete core of the first seven storeys. The structure was later subjected to a re-design, out of which it became known by its postal address, 22 Bishopsgate.
All-Hallows-the-Less (also known as All-Hallows-upon-the-Cellar) was a church in the City of London. Of medieval origin, it was destroyed in the Great Fire of London in 1666 and not rebuilt.
The Company of Watermen and Lightermen (CWL) is a City Guild without Grant of Livery who historically licensed Thames Watermen (now licensed by the Maritime and Coastguard Agency).
The Minerva Building was a skyscraper once planned for the eastern edge of London's main financial district, the City of London. If built, it would have been the first building in the City of London to contain more than 1,000,000 sq ft (100,000 m2) of office space.
Mitre Square is a small square in the City of London. It measures about 77 feet (23 m) by 80 feet (24 m) and is connected via three passages with Mitre Street to the SW, to Creechurch Place to the NW and, via St James's Passage (formerly Church Passage), to Duke's Place to the NE.
The Chartered Society of Physiotherapy (CSP) is the professional body and trade union for physiotherapists in the United Kingdom.
The City of London Club was established in 1832 and is the oldest of the gentlemen's clubs based in the City of London. Its Italian Palladian-style building was designed by English architect Philip Hardwick. Prince Philip, Duke of Edinburgh, is its current royal patron.
Clerkenwell Priory was a priory of the Monastic Order of the Knights Hospitallers of St John of Jerusalem, in Clerkenwell, London. Run according to the Augustinian rule, it was the residence of the Hospitallers' Grand Prior in England, and was thus their English headquarters. Its great landholding near London until Protestant monarch Edward VI of England was in the former north of Marylebone: St John's Wood which it had farmed out on agricultural tenancies as a source of produce and income.
Farringdon Market was a market erected in 1829 to replace the Fleet Market, which had been cleared for the widening of Farringdon Street and Farringdon Road. The market was between Farringdon Street east and Shoe Lane west, north of Stonecutter Street, in the City of London ward of Farringdon Without.
The London School of Business and Finance (informally LSBF) is a for-profit private business school based in the United Kingdom. It is owned by the corporate group Global University Systems. LSBF was founded in 2003 by the entrepreneur Aaron Etingen. By 2015 it had become one of England's largest private colleges.
Childreach International (formerly Global Development Links) is a London based children's charity Set up in 2003 and registered as a charity in 2004.
Clerkenwell (old) Prison, also known as the Clerkenwell House of Detention or Middlesex House of Detention was a prison in Clerkenwell, London. It held prisoners awaiting trial.
Farm Africa is a UK-based charitable organization set up in 1985 that works with farmers, pastoralists and forest communities in eastern Africa. The charity provides training to help these groups to grow more food, look after their livestock and make a living using their natural resources sustainably. Farm Africa has offices in the United Kingdom, Kenya, Tanzania and Ethiopia.
The Capture of London was a major event of the Despenser Wars. Isabella of France, the wife of King Edward II, took the City of London, the principal city of the Kingdom of England, after her husband the King abandoned the Tower and fled to the west.
Clare Market is a historic area in central London located within the parish of St Clement Danes to the west of Lincoln's Inn Fields, between the Strand and Drury Lane, with Vere Street adjoining its western side. It was named after the food market which had been established in Clement's Inn Fields, by John Holles, 2nd Earl of Clare. Much of the area and its landmarks, such as the Old Curiosity Shop, were immortalized by the famous author Charles Dickens.
The Minor Canons of St Paul's Cathedral, London, whose origins predate the Norman conquest of England, unusually were independent of the senior canons and, as priests, of higher status than the lay vicars choral. Medieval Hereford furnishes the only other example of such a structure. The College of Minor Canons of St Paul's Cathedral, and the two historic titles "Senior Cardinal" and "Junior Cardinal", were abolished with effect from 1 February 2016.
Drury House was a historic building on Wych Street, London. It was the house of Sir Robert Drury, after whom Drury Lane was named. It was a meeting place for Robert Devereux, 2nd Earl of Essex and his accomplices in 1601, when they were plotting against Elizabeth I.
Enon Chapel was a building located on Clement's Lane (today St. Clement's Lane) off Aldwych near the Strand in London and it was built around 1823. The upper part was dedicated to the worship of God, with the dead buried in a vault beneath, separated by a board floor. The chapel was notorious for allegations that thousands of bodies had been packed into the vault room in the space of 20 years.
The Faraday Building was the GPO's first telephone exchange in London. It started life as the Central telephone exchange at the Savings Bank building in Queen Victoria Street, opening for business on 1 March 1902 with just 200 subscribers. The Faraday Building is erected on the former site of Doctors' Commons, which had been the location of the Admiralty, Probate, and principal Ecclesiastical Court in England.
Terrence Higgins Trust is a British charity that campaigns on and provides services relating to HIV and sexual health. In particular, the charity aims to end the transmission of HIV in the UK; to support and empower people living with HIV; to eradicate stigma and discrimination around HIV; and to promote good sexual health (including safe sex).
Albion Chapel was a Scottish Presbyterian chapel in the City of London, near Finsbury Circus, on the corner of London Wall and Finsbury Pavement. It was established by Reverend Alexander Fletcher on the site of the old Bethlem Royal Hospital in 1815 and demolished in 1879. It was designed by the noted architect William Jay (1792/3-1837), who later became a leading architect in the United States.
Clerkenwell Bridewell was a prison and correctional institute for prostitutes and vagrants located in the Clerkenwell area, immediately north of the City of London (in the modern London Borough of Islington), between c.1615 and 1794, when it was superseded by the nearby Coldbath Fields Prison in Mount Pleasant. It was named 'Bridewell' after the Bridewell Palace, which during the 16th century had become one of the City of London's most important prisons.
Crosswall is a street in the City of London.
The Faculty of General Dental Practice (FGDP(UK)) was formed in 1992 as the academic home for general dental practitioners in the United Kingdom. It opened its membership up to Dental Care Professionals (DCPs) in 2005, and now supports the whole dental team. As of December 2015 there are approximately 5000 members of the FGDP(UK). It is based at the Royal College of Surgeons of England. Around 95% of the dental care in the UK is provided in the primary dental care setting. The FGDP(UK) looks after the continuing professional development (CPD) and training needs of both dentists and dental care professionals (DCPs) working in this field. Membership of the FGDP(UK) is open to all dentists, dental surgeons and dental care professionals registered with the General Dental Council.
Newgate was one of the historic seven gates of the London Wall around the City of London and one of the six which date back to Roman times. From it, a Roman road led west to Silchester, Hampshire. Excavations in 1875, 1903 and 1909 revealed the Roman structure and showed that it consisted of a double roadway between two square flanking guardroom towers.
St Benet Fink was a church and parish in the City of London located on what is now Threadneedle Street. Recorded since the 13th century, the church was destroyed in the Great Fire of London of 1666, then rebuilt to the designs of Sir Christopher Wren. The Wren church was demolished between 1841 and 1846.
St Clement Danes was a civil parish in the metropolitan area of London, England; an ecclesiastical version remains (see its Anglican church, St Clement Danes). The parish was split between the Liberty of Westminster and the Liberty of the Duchy of Lancaster (also known as of the Savoy). The area is colloquially split between Aldwych and Adelphi areas associated with the larger Strand area in the extreme east of the City of Westminster. It includes hotels, restaurants, the Indian and Australian High Commissions and the London School of Economics. To its west is Charing Cross station which faces Trafalgar Square.
St Margaret Pattens is a Church of England church in the City of London, located on Eastcheap near the Monument. The dedication is to St. Margaret of Antioch.
St Margaret, New Fish Street, was a parish church in the City of London.
St Mary Magdalen, Milk Street, was a parish church in the City of London, England. It was destroyed in the Great Fire of London in 1666 and not rebuilt.
St. Mary Staining was a parish church in Oat Lane, northeast of St. Paul's Cathedral, in the City of London. First recorded in the 12th century, it was destroyed in the Great Fire of London in 1666 and not rebuilt.
St Mary Woolchurch Haw was a parish church in the City of London, destroyed in the Great Fire of London of 1666 and not rebuilt. It came within the ward of Walbrook.
St. Michael Bassishaw a.k.a. Michael Basinshaw, was a parish church in Basinghall Street in the City of London, on land now occupied by the Barbican Centre complex. Recorded since the 12th century, the church was destroyed in the Great Fire of 1666, then rebuilt by the office of Sir Christopher Wren. The rebuilt church was demolished in 1900.
A former church in the City of London, on the west side of Bread Street Hill in Queenhithe Ward.
The Mortality Bill for the year 1665, published by the Parish Clerk’s Company, shows 97 parishes within the City of London. By September 6 the city lay in ruins, 86 churches having been destroyed in the Fire of London. In 1670 a Rebuilding Act was passed and a committee set up under the stewardship of Sir Christopher Wren to decide which would be rebuilt. Fifty-one were chosen, but not St Nicholas Olave. Its unusual dedication refers to the earlier amalgamation between two parishes: St Nicholas and St Olave Bradestrat, which was removed by the Austin Friars for the erection of their monastic buildings. Described by John Stow as a “convenient church” the parish had strong connections with the Fishmongers, many of whom were buried in the churchyard. Its eminent organist William Blitheman also lay here. Following the fire it was united with St Nicholas Cole Abbey and partial records survive and are available in the International Genealogical Index.
St Olave, Old Jewry sometimes known as Upwell Old Jewry was a church in the City of London located between the street called Old Jewry and Ironmonger Lane. Destroyed in the Great Fire of London in 1666, the church was rebuilt by the office of Sir Christopher Wren. The church was demolished in 1887, except for the tower and west wall, which remain today.
St Swithin, London Stone, was an Anglican Church in the City of London. It stood on the north side of Cannon Street, between Salters' Hall Court and St Swithin's Lane, which runs north from Cannon Street to King William Street and takes its name from the church. Of medieval origin, it was destroyed by the Great Fire of London, and rebuilt to the designs of Sir Christopher Wren. It was badly damaged by bombing during the Second World War, and the remains demolished in 1962.
St Antholin, Budge Row, or St Antholin, Watling Street, was a church in the City of London. Of medieval origin, it was rebuilt to the designs of Sir Christopher Wren, following its destruction in the Great Fire of London in 1666. The 17th-century building was demolished in 1874.
St Botolph's, Billingsgate was a Church of England parish church in London. Of medieval origin, it was located in the Billingsgate ward of the City of London and destroyed by the Great Fire of London in 1666.
St John's Chapel, Bedford Row, in Bloomsbury, London, was a proprietary chapel and the home of a large evangelical Anglican congregation in the 19th century. According to The Eclectic Review it was built for people who seceded from the congregation of St Andrew's, Holborn after Henry Sacheverell was forced on them by Queen Anne in 1713. It was located at the northwest corner of Millman Street and Chapel Street (now Rugby Street), Holborn, London, in the proximity of Bedford Row.
St Mary Colechurch was a parish church in the City of London destroyed in the Great Fire of London in 1666 and not rebuilt.
St Mary Mounthaw or Mounthaut was a parish church in Old Fish Street Hill in the City of London. Of medieval origin, it was destroyed in the Great Fire of London in 1666 and not rebuilt.
St Sepulchre was an ancient parish partly within the City of London and partly within Middlesex, England.
St Audoen within Newgate (also known as St Ewan within Newgate and St Ewin within Newgate) was a mediaeval church in the City of London situated on the corner of Newgate Street and Eldeness Lane (now Warwick Lane). It was first mentioned as Parochia sancti Audoeni in around 1220.
St Augustine Papey was a mediaeval church in the City of London situated just south of London Wall opposite the north end of St. Mary Axe Street. First mentioned as "Sci augustini pappey", it originally belonged to the Priory of Holy Trinity. By 1430, the emoluments had become so small that it was united with All Hallows-on-the-Wall and in 1442 was appropriated as an almshouse for elderly clergy. At the time of the Dissolution of the Monasteries it was demolished and the site built over. The churchyard was acquired by St Martin Outwich in 1539, and survives to this day on Camomile Street
St Augustine, Watling Street was an Anglican church which stood just to the east of St Paul's Cathedral in the City of London. First recorded in the 12th century, it was destroyed by the Great Fire of London in 1666 and rebuilt to the designs of Christopher Wren. This building was destroyed by bombing during the Second World War, and its remains now form part of St Paul's Cathedral Choir School.
St. Matthew Friday Street was a church in the City of London located on Friday Street, off Cheapside. Recorded since the 13th century, the church was destroyed in the Great Fire of 1666, then rebuilt by the office of Sir Christopher Wren. The rebuilt church was demolished in 1885.
The church of St Mildred, Bread Street, stood on the east side of Bread Street in the Bread Street Ward of the City of London. It was dedicated to the 7th century Saint Mildred the Virgin, daughter of Merewald, sub-king of the West Mercians. Of medieval origin, the church was rebuilt to the designs of Sir Christopher Wren following its destruction in the Great Fire of London in 1666. One of the few City churches to retain Wren's original fittings into the 20th century, St Mildred's was destroyed by bombs in 1941.
Furnival's Inn was an Inn of Chancery which formerly stood on the site of the present Holborn Bars building (the former Prudential Assurance Company building) in Holborn, London, England.
Austin Friars, London was an Augustinian friary in the City of London from its foundation, probably in the 1260s, until its dissolution in November 1538. It covered an area of about 5.5 acres (2.2 hectares) a short distance to the north-east of the modern Bank of England and had a resident population of about 60 friars. A church stood at the centre of the friary precinct, with a complex of buildings behind it providing accommodation, refreshment and study space for the friars and visiting students. A large part of the friary precinct was occupied by gardens that provided vegetables, fruit and medicinal herbs.
The Boar's Head Inn refers to a number of former and current taverns in London, most famously a tavern in Eastcheap that is supposedly the meeting place of Sir John Falstaff, Prince Hal and other characters in Shakespeare's Henry IV plays. An earlier tavern in Southwark used the same name, and an inn of the name in Whitechapel was used as a theatre.
Hicks Hall (1611–1778) was a building in St John Street, Clerkenwell, London. It was the first purpose-built sessions house for Justices of the Peace of the county of Middlesex (including the City of Westminster), and became the main court of petty sessions and arraignment for more serious offences, including cases involving plots, attacks and minor transgressions against the state.
Holy Trinity, Minories, was a Church of England parish church outside the eastern boundaries of the City of London, but within the Liberties of the Tower of London. The liberty was incorporated in the Metropolitan Borough of Stepney in 1899, and today is within the City of London. Converted from the chapel of a nunnery, Holy Trinity was in use from the 16th century until the end of the 19th century.
The Bartholomew Fair was one of London's pre-eminent summer Charter fairs. A charter for the fair was granted to Rahere by Henry I to fund the Priory of St Bartholomew; and from 1133 to 1855 it took place each year on 24 August within the precincts of the Priory at West Smithfield, outside Aldersgate of the City of London. The fair continued, after the Dissolution within the Liberty of the parish of St Bartholomew-the-Great.
In London, the Greyfriars was a Conventual Franciscan friary that existed from 1225 to 1538 on a site at the North-West of the City of London by Newgate in the parish of St Nicholas in the Shambles. It was the second Franciscan religious house to be founded in the country. The establishment included a conventual church that was one of the largest in London; a studium or regional university; and an extensive library of logical and theological texts. It was an important intellectual centre in the early fourteenth century, rivaled only by Oxford University in status. Members of the community at that time included William of Ockham, Walter Chatton and Adam Wodeham. It flourished in the fourteenth and fifteenth century, but was dissolved in 1538 at the instigation of Henry VIII as part of the dissolution of the monasteries. Christ's Hospital was founded in the old conventual buildings, and the church was rebuilt completely by Christopher Wren as Christ Church after the original church was almost completely destroyed in the Great Fire of London. The building currently standing on the site, designed by Arup, is currently occupied by Merrill Lynch International.
HMS Saxifrage was launched in 1918 as a Flower-class anti-submarine Q-ship. She was renamed HMS President in 1922 and moored permanently on the Thames as a Royal Navy Reserve drill ship. In 1982 she was sold to private owners, and having changed hands twice, now serves as a venue for conferences and functions, and serves as the offices for a number of media companies. She is now called HQMS President (1918) to distinguish her from HMS President, the Royal Naval Reserve base in St Katharine Docks. She is one of the last three surviving Royal Navy warships of the First World War. She is also the sole representative of the first type of purpose built anti-submarine vessels, and is the ancestor of World War II convoy escort sloops, which evolved into modern anti-submarine frigates.
St John Clerkenwell is a former parish church in Clerkenwell, London, its original priory church site retains a crypt and has been given over to the London chapel of the modern Order of St John. It is a square, light-brick resurrection of the small church of Clerkenwell Priory — the crypt of which is beneath — without a spire or tower. Its three centuries of former decline reflected the disbandment of the medieval Order of St John, or Knights Hospitaller.
Essex House was a house that fronted the Strand in London. Originally called Leicester House, it was built around 1575 for Robert Dudley, 1st Earl of Leicester, and was renamed Essex House after being inherited by his stepson, Robert Devereux, 2nd Earl of Essex, after Leicester's death in 1588. The poet Philip Sidney lived in Leicester House for some time.
Jonathan's Coffee-House was a significant meeting place in London in the 17th and 18th centuries, famous as the original site of the London Stock Exchange.
Lloyd's Coffee House was a significant meeting place in London in the 17th and 18th centuries.
Montfichet's Tower (also known as Montfichet's Castle and/or spelt Mountfitchet's or Mountfiquit's) was a Norman fortress on Ludgate Hill in London, between where St Paul's Cathedral and City Thameslink railway station now stand. First documented in the 1130s, it was probably built in the late 11th century. The defences were strengthened during the revolt of 1173–1174 against Henry II.
The Worshipful Company of Armourers and Brasiers is one of the Livery Companies of the City of London. The Armourers' Guild was established in 1322; it received a Royal Charter in 1453. Other Companies, including the Armour Repairers, merged with the Armourers. In 1708, brass workers joined the Company, which was renamed as the Armourers' and Brasiers' Company. The Company does support the metallurgy industry, but does not retain a close association with its original trade, as is the case with a majority of Livery Companies. It exists primarily as a charitable establishment.
Saint Vedast Foster Lane or Saint Vedast-alias-Foster, a church in Foster Lane, in the City of London, is dedicated to St. Vedast (Foster is an Anglicisation of the name "Vaast", as the saint is known in continental Europe), a French saint whose cult arrived in England through contacts with Augustinian clergy.
The Wayout is a nightclub venue in London. Formed in 1993, it is one of London's best known transgender venues and was the first to hold a regular Saturday night event.
The University of London Society of Change Ringers (ULSCR) is the official society dedicated to change ringing in London universities and was founded just after the end of the Second World War. The objectives of the Society are the promotion of the art and science of change ringing and ringing for church services.
Newcastle House is a mansion in Lincoln's Inn Fields in central London, England. It was one of the two largest houses built in London's largest square during its development in the 17th century, the other being Lindsey House. It is the northernmost house on the western side of the square.
The Wood Street Compter (or Wood Street Counter) was a small prison within the City of London in England. It was primarily a debtors' prison, and also held people accused of such misdemeanours as public drunkenness, although some wealthier prisoners were able to obtain alcohol through bribery. The prison was built and opened in 1555, replacing the earlier Bread Street Compter, from which many prisoners were transferred.
The Worshipful Company of Cutlers is one of the ancient Livery Companies of the City of London. It ranks 18th in the order of precedence of the Companies.
The Guilford Place drinking fountain is a Grade II listed drinking fountain at Guilford Place, London WC1, built in about 1870, and designed by the architect Henry Darbishire, for the Misses Whiting to commemorate their mother.
The Goldsmiths’ Company Assay Office in London (also known as Assay Office London or the London Assay Office) is the oldest assay office in the United Kingdom. The company has provided hallmarking services since The Goldsmiths Company was founded in the 14th century. The company received its royal charter in 1327 and ranks 5th in order of precedence of the 12 Great Livery Companies of the City of London.
The Worshipful Company of Carpenters is a livery company of the City of London. The Carpenters were traditionally different from a fellow wood-crafting company, the Worshipful Company of Joiners and Ceilers, in that carpenters utilised nails while joiners used adhesives to attach wood.
Guilford Place is a Grade II listed Georgian terrace of four houses in Guilford Place, London WC1, built in about 1791 to 1793 by J. Tomes and W. Harrison.
The Guilford Place public conveniences are Grade II listed former public toilets at Guilford Place, central London, built in the late 19th century.
The Fortune of War was an ancient public house in Smithfield, London. It was located on a corner originally known as Pie Corner, today at the junction of Giltspur Street and Cock Lane where the Golden Boy of Pye Corner resides, the name deriving from the magpie represented on the sign of an adjoining tavern. It is allegedly the place where the Great Fire of London stopped, after destroying a large part of the City of London in 1666. The statue of a cherub, initially built in the front of the pub, commemorates the end of the fire.
Finsbury Chapel, originally known as Fletcher's Chapel, was a Congregational chapel on the south side of East Street, Finsbury, London. It was founded by the Church of Scotland minister Alexander Fletcher in 1825.
The Great Synagogue of London was, for centuries, the centre of Ashkenazi synagogue and Jewish life in London. It was destroyed during World War II, in the Blitz.
The Centre for Economic Policy Research (CEPR) is a network of over 1300 researchers who are based mainly in universities throughout Europe and collaborate through CEPR in research and its dissemination. It is a registered, UK charity founded in 1983 by Richard Portes, FBA, CBE. CEPR's office is located in London.
The News of the World Snooker Tournament was one of the leading professional tournaments of the 1950s and widely considered as being more important than the world championship due to the involvement of Joe Davis. The event was sponsored by the Sunday newspaper News of the World. The highest break of the tournament was four times 140 or more, which was unusual at that time.
Cancer Research UK is a cancer research and awareness charity in the United Kingdom and Isle of Man, formed on 4 February 2002 by the merger of The Cancer Research Campaign and the Imperial Cancer Research Fund. Its aim is to reduce the number of deaths from cancer. As the world's largest independent cancer research charity it conducts research into the prevention, diagnosis and treatment of the disease. Research activities are carried out in institutes, universities and hospitals across the UK, both by the charity's own employees and by its grant-funded researchers. It also provides information about cancer and runs campaigns aimed at raising awareness of the disease and influencing public policy.
At the 1908 Summer Olympics, five boxing events were contested. All of the boxing was conducted on 27 October. The event was held in the Northampton Institute in Clerkenwell, East London.
Occupy Berlin was a collaboration in Berlin, Germany that has included peaceful protests and demonstrations against unregulated financial markets and other alleged social injustices. It began as a part of the 15 October 2011 global protests. The protest began in solidarity with the Occupy Wall Street protests in New York, United States. It has established three encampments: outside the church Parochialkirche, in Boxhagener Platz and the biggest one on the Bundespressestrand.
The Strand Underpass is a one-way vehicle tunnel in central London connecting Waterloo Bridge to Kingsway near Holborn. Opened in 1964, it was built within the former Kingsway tramway subway, which closed in the 1950s.
All-Hallows-the-Great was a church in the City of London, located on what is now Upper Thames Street, first mentioned in 1235. Destroyed in the Great Fire of London of 1666, the church was rebuilt by the office of Sir Christopher Wren. All-Hallows-the-Great was demolished in 1894 when many bodies were disinterred from the churchyard and reburied at Brookwood Cemetery.
88 Wood Street is a commercial skyscraper in London, located on Wood Street in the City of London.
The Domus Conversorum (House of the Converts) was a building and institution in London for Jews who had converted to Christianity. It provided a communal home and low wages. It was needed because all Jews who converted to Christianity forfeited all their possessions.
Riceyman Steps is a novel by British novelist Arnold Bennett, first published in 1923 and winner of that year's James Tait Black Memorial Prize for fiction. It follows a year in the life of Henry Earlforward, a miserly second-hand bookshop owner in the Clerkenwell area of London.
The Royal Wardrobe (also known as the King's Wardrobe) was a building located between Carter Lane and St Andrew's Church, just to the north of what is now Queen Victoria Street in the City of London, near Blackfriars. It was used as a storehouse for royal accoutrements, housing arms and clothing among other personal items of the Crown.
Alsatia was the name given to an area lying north of London's River Thames once privileged as a sanctuary. It spanned from the Whitefriars monastery to the south of the west end of Fleet Street and adjacent to the Temple. Between the fifteenth and seventeenth centuries it was proofed against all but a writ of the Lord Chief Justice or of the Lords of the Privy Council, becoming a refuge for perpetrators of every grade of crime.
Rhodes Twenty Four was a Michelin-starred restaurant located in the City of London. Run by celebrity chef Gary Rhodes, the restaurant was located on the 24th floor of Tower 42, formerly known as the Natwest Tower and operated between 2003 and 2014.
The Farmiloe Building is a Grade II listed building in Clerkenwell, London, in the London Borough of Islington.
The Walbrook Club is a social and business dining club near the Bank of England and the Mansion House located in the Ward of Walbrook in London.
The John Donne Memorial is a bronze bust of John Donne by Nigel Boonham, installed in the garden to the south of St Paul's Cathedral in London, United Kingdom. Donne faces east towards his birthplace on Bread Street. Below the bust is an inscription with the text
80 Fetter Lane is a Grade II listed building at 78–81 Fetter Lane, London. The building was designed by architects Treadwell & Martin for Buchanan's Distillery.
The bronze statue of Isambard Kingdom Brunel, also known as Brunel Monument or the Isambard Brunel Monument, is installed near the Temple on the Victoria Embankment in London, England.
Fishmongers' Hall is a Grade II* listed building on London Bridge, London EC4. It is the headquarters of the Worshipful Company of Fishmongers, one of the livery companies of the City of London.
Principal Tower is a 50-storey residential tower under construction in Worship Street, Shoreditch, London. Its completion is expected in March 2019.
The St Lawrence and Mary Magdalene Drinking Fountain is a drinking fountain on the eastern side of Carter Lane Gardens near St Paul's Cathedral in London, United Kingdom.
The statue of Thomas Becket (1970) by Edward Bainbridge Copnall is installed in St Paul's Churchyard in London, United Kingdom.
Icarus, also known as Icarus III, is an outdoor 1973 sculpture depicting the Greek mythological figure of the same name by Michael Ayrton, installed in Old Change Court in the City of London, in the United Kingdom.
Forum for the Future is a registered charity and non-profit organisation that works in partnership with business, government and civil society to accelerate the shift toward a sustainable future. It works by catalysing change in key global systems (energy, food, apparel, shipping). It has an annual turnover of around £5.2 million and employs 66 staff. The current CEO is Sally Uren OBE and the offices are based in the United Kingdom, United States, India and Singapore.
MQ: Transforming Mental Health is an international mental health research charity. The charity was created in 2013, with initial funding from the Wellcome Trust, to raise funds from the general public for research.
The Gold Smelters, also known as the Barbican Frieze, Bryer's Frieze, Gold Refiners, or abridged as Gold Smelters, is an outdoor frieze relief by J. Daymond, installed along Aldersgate Street in London, United Kingdom. It was saved from a building demolished in the 1960s and re-erected in its present location by the Corporation of London in 1975.
Bryanston Square is a long, rectangular, terraced square in Marylebone, Westminster, London, originally of 50 sequentially numbered houses. (Some of them have subsequently been combined in bigger units, such as the Swiss Embassy.) The Bryanston suburb of Johannesburg, South Africa, is named after Bryanston Square.
The St Martin's Lane Academy, a precursor of the Royal Academy, was organised in 1735 by William Hogarth, from the circle of artists and designers who gathered at Slaughter's Coffee House at the upper end of St Martin's Lane, London. The artistic set that introduced the Rococo style to England was centred on "Old Slaughter's" and the drawing-classes at the St. Martin's Lane Academy were inextricably linked in the dissemination of new artistic ideas in England in the reigns of George II and George III.
Advision Studios was a recording studio in Fitzrovia, Central London, England.
The Albemarle Club was a private members' club at 13 Albemarle Street, London, founded in 1874 and open to both men and women.
Aura Mayfair was a nightclub located on St James's Street in Mayfair, London.
The Exeter Exchange (popularly known as Exeter Change) was a building on the north side of the Strand in London, with an arcade extending partway across the carriageway. It is most famous for the menagerie that occupied its upper floors for over 50 years, from 1773 until it was demolished in 1829.
The Foundation for Liver Research is a UK medical research charity dedicated to hepatology. It funds the Institute of Hepatology in central London.
The Portman Estate, covering 110 acres of Marylebone in London’s West End, was founded in 1532 when the land was first leased to Sir William Portman.
The Penn Club is a private members' club in Bloomsbury in central London. It was established in 1920 and has strong bonds with the Quaker community.
The London Beer Flood happened on 17 October 1814 in the parish of St. Giles, London, England. At the Meux and Company Brewery in Tottenham Court Road, a huge vat containing over 135,000 imperial gallons (610,000 L) of beer ruptured, causing other vats in the same building to succumb in a domino effect. As a result, more than 323,000 imperial gallons (1,470,000 L) of beer burst out and gushed into the streets. The wave of beer destroyed two homes and crumbled the wall of the Tavistock Arms pub, killing teenage employee Eleanor Cooper under the rubble. Within minutes neighbouring George Street and New Street were swamped, seriously injuring a mother, and killing a daughter and young neighbour who were taking tea. The beer also surged through a room of people gathered for a wake, killing five of them.
Oxford Music Hall was a music hall located in Westminster, London at the corner of Oxford Street and Tottenham Court Road. It was established on the site of a former public house, the Boar and Castle, by Charles Morton, in 1861. In 1917 the music hall was converted into a legitimate theatre, and in 1921 it was renamed the New Oxford Theatre. In May 1926 it closed and was demolished.
Evans Music-and-Supper Rooms was an entertainment venue for music and singing in early nineteenth century, located at 43 King Street, Covent Garden, London. The venue provided the type of entertainment which later evolved into music hall. What would later be known as the Evans Music and Supper Rooms was initially known as the Thomas Archer House. The house was built by Thomas Archer in 1712 for Admiral Edward Russell, the fourth Earl of Bedford's grandson. The House would later be sold to a man named Joy and turned into The Grand Hotel. Formerly the dining room of the Grand Hotel, a 'song and supper' room was established in the 1840s by W. H. Evans. It was also known as Evans Late Joy's, the venue previously being owned by a man named Joy. In 1842 the rooms were taken over by John Paddy Green, who had been one of Evans's entertainers. Green reconstructed the rooms and maintained their popular reputation. The room was 113 feet (34.4 m) long by 56 feet (17.1 m) wide.
The Precinct of the Savoy, also known as Savoy St John the Baptist, was a component of the Liberty of the Savoy in the metropolitan area of London, England. It was located between the Strand and the River Thames. Formerly extra-parochial, it was a civil parish between 1866 and 1922. It now forms part of the City of Westminster in Greater London.
Will's Coffee House was one of the foremost coffeehouses in England in the decades after the Restoration. It was situated in Russell Street in London, at the northwest corner of Bow Street, between the City and Westminster. According to the Methuen Drama Dictionary of the Theatre, it was also known as the Rose Tavern, the Russell Street Coffee House, and the Wits' Coffee House. It was founded by Will Unwin.
Home was a music venue and nightclub located at 1 Leicester Square in central London. It was closed by Westminster Council in late March 2001 due to alleged evidence of open drug-dealing occurring within the club despite its famously tough door checks. The club went into receivership shortly after it was closed. It was part of the Home (nightclub chain) owned by Big Beats (Inc.), including the clubs in Sydney and London, as well as the Homelands outdoor festivals. The decline of the club started earlier however due to Westminster council denying the club a 6am licence.
The Poetry Bookshop operated at 35 Devonshire Street (now Boswell Street) in the Bloomsbury district of central London, from 1913 to 1926. It was the brainchild of Harold Monro, and was supported by his moderate income.
Hibiscus was a London restaurant which was owned and run by French chef Claude Bosi. It was opened in 2000 in Ludlow, Shropshire, and won its first Michelin star within a year, and a second in the 2004 Guide. In July 2006, Bosi and his wife Claire announced that they were to sell the location in Ludlow and move closer to London. The property was sold to Alan Murchison, and Bosi purchased a new site on Maddox Street in London. The restaurant closed in 2016.
The Oxford Circus fire occurred on Friday 23 November 1984 at 9.50pm at Oxford Circus station on the London Underground. Oxford Circus station is in the heart of London's shopping district and is served by three deep-level tube lines: the Bakerloo line, Central line and Victoria line. The three lines are linked by a complex network of tunnels and cross-passages which all converge to a common booking hall situated beneath the junction of Oxford Street and Regent Street.
The Astoria 2, subsequently known as the LA2 then the Mean Fiddler, was a nightclub at 165 Charing Cross Road in London, England.
Better Books was an independent bookstore. It was founded by Tony Godwin and was located at 94 Charing Cross Road, London. The shop was a significant location in the 1960s counterculture movement in London, and included a stage, a cinema and a gallery area.
Dress Circle is a British specialist store that sells products related to the musical theatre, including cast albums, books, merchandise, and memorabilia. From 1978 until 2013, it operated a store near Covent Garden, London; since 2013 it has been an online-only retailer.
Connaught Hall is a fully catered hall of residence owned by the University of London and situated on Tavistock Square, Bloomsbury, London, UK. It is an intercollegiate hall, and as such provides accommodation for full-time students at constituent colleges and institutions of the University of London, including King's College, University College London(UCL), Queen Mary, the London School of Economics(LSE) and the School of Oriental and African Studies and others.
Dark They Were, and Golden Eyed was a science fiction bookshop and comic book retailer in London during the 1970s; the largest of its kind in Europe. Specialising in science fiction, occultism, and Atlantis, the central-London shop also played a key role in bringing American underground comics to the United Kingdom. It also sold American editions of mainstream science fiction books that were not easily obtained anywhere else.
De Hems is a café, pub and oyster-house in the Chinatown area of London just off Shaftesbury Avenue. It made its name purveying oysters and now sells beers from the Low countries such as Grolsch and Heineken with Dutch food such as bitterballen and frikandellen.
Chappell of Bond Street (aka Chappell's) was the former name of Yamaha Music London, a piano, musical instrument, musical equipment and sheet music retail store in Wardour Street, Soho, London.
Christie’s Education is a specialist provider of postgraduate higher education, continuing education and online learning in the fields of art history, art business, art law, contemporary art and art-world practice. Christie’s Education has a global footprint with locations in London (UK), New York City (US), Hong Kong and Dubai.
Egton House in Langham Street in Central London was home to BBC Radio 1 for many years from 1985 until 1996.
St. James's Hall was a concert hall in London that opened on 25 March 1858, designed by architect and artist Owen Jones, who had decorated the interior of the Crystal Palace. It was situated between the Quadrant in Regent Street and Piccadilly, and Vine Street and George Court. There was a frontage on Regent Street, and another in Piccadilly. Taking the orchestra into account, the main hall had seating for slightly over 2,000 persons. It had a grand hall 140 feet (43 m) long and 60 feet (18 m) broad, the seating was distributed between ground floor, balcony, gallery and platform and it had excellent acoustics. On the ground floor were two smaller halls, one 60 feet (18 m) square; the other 60 feet (18 m) by 55 feet (17 m). The Hall was decorated in the 'Florentine' style, with features imitating the great Moorish Palace of the Alhambra. The Piccadilly facade was given a Gothic design, and the complex of two restaurants and three halls was hidden behind Nash's Quadrant. Sir George Henschel recalled its 'dear old, uncomfortable, long, narrow, green-upholstered benches (pale-green horse-hair) with the numbers of the seats tied over the straight backs with bright pink tape, like office files.'
The 43 Club or "The 43" was a nightclub at 43 Gerrard Street in Soho, London that became notorious during the roaring twenties for outrageous parties frequented by the decadent rich and famous. Local myth provides many tales of provocative, licentious and sometimes criminal goings on. The proprietor, Kate Meyrick, was eventually gaoled five times before the club finally closed. Occasionally modern nightclub ventures in London and elsewhere call themselves "Club 43" and other variations of the name in honour of this infamous 1920s venue.
64 Baker Street is a commercial property in central London. It was the address of the headquarters of the Special Operations Executive.
Cecil House refers to two historical mansions on The Strand, London, in the vicinity of the Savoy. The first was a 16th-century house on the north side, where the Strand Palace Hotel now stands. The second was built in the early 17th century on the south side nearly opposite, where Shell Mex House stands today.
The Centre for History in Public Health (CHiPH) is an academic research centre at the London School of Hygiene & Tropical Medicine (LSHTM), University of London. It specializes in historical research into public health and health services, and advocates the use of history within public health policy making.
Amora London was a European touring exhibition dedicated to love, relationships and sexual wellbeing.
The Cleveland Street Workhouse is a Georgian property in Cleveland Street, Marylebone, built between 1775 and 1778 for the care of the sick and poor of the parish of St Paul Covent Garden under the Old Poor Law. From 1836, it became the workhouse of the Strand Union of parishes. The building remained in operation until 2005 after witnessing the complex evolution of the healthcare system in England. After functioning as a workhouse, the building became a workhouse infirmary before being acquired by the Middlesex Hospital and finally falling under the NHS. It the last century it was known as the Middlesex Hospital Annexe and the Outpatient Department. It closed to the public in 2005 and it has since been vacated. On 14 March 2011 the entire building became Grade II Listed.
The Diplomatic Academy of London (DAL) is a British institution associated with the British Government's Foreign and Commonwealth Office, that provides MA, MPhil and PhD Degrees and training programmes in Diplomatic Studies and International Relations on-line. It is little known among experts in the field, but attained a certain notoriety in the USA due a claimed association by Joseph Mifsud, who reportedly had sought to connect Donald Trump's 2016 presidential campaign with Russian governmental officials. Mr Mifsud's claimed association with the DAL has not been independently verified.
The Hospital for Tropical Diseases (HTD) is a specialist tropical disease hospital located in London, United Kingdom. It is part of the University College London Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust and is closely associated with University College London and the London School of Hygiene & Tropical Medicine. It is the only NHS hospital dedicated to the prevention, diagnosis and treatment of tropical diseases and travel-related infections. In addition it employs specialists in major tropical diseases such as malaria, leprosy and tuberculosis. It also provides an infectious disease treatment service for University College Hospital.
Marks & Co, also incorrectly referred to as "Marks & Company" or colloquially as "84", was a well-known antiquarian bookseller located at Cambridge Circus - 84, Charing Cross Road, London.
Nag Nag Nag was an influential London club night at Simon Hobart's Ghetto nightclub. Founded by DJ, promoter and musician Jonny Slut in 2002, it ran for six years. The night is commonly associated with the ambisexual post-electroclash scene.
International Hall is a Hall of Residence owned by the University of London and situated on Brunswick Square and Lansdowne Terrace in the Bloomsbury district of London. It is an intercollegiate hall, and as such provides accommodation for full-time students at institutions such as University College, King's College, Queen Mary, School of Oriental and African Studies, the London School of Economics, and other such constituent colleges of the University of London. It is the largest single hall of the University of London.
Nemo Studios was a recording studio in London, planned, built and used by Greek composer Vangelis between 1975 and 1987. Numerous highlights of Vangelis' career were composed in Nemo, including soundtracks for Ridley Scott's Blade Runner, and Hugh Hudson's Chariots of Fire (the soundtrack for which he won an Oscar).
Huron University USA in London, also referred to as Huron University, was a private university located on Russell Square, Bloomsbury, London. The school offered American-style higher education. The university had over 350 students from more than 50 countries and offered a range of undergraduate and graduate programs in Central London. It is now the London campus of Hult International Business School.
Independent Radio News provides a service of news bulletins, audio and copy to commercial radio stations in the United Kingdom and beyond. The managing director, Tim Molloy, succeeded long-term MD John Perkins in November 2009. Perkins had been MD of IRN since 1989. IRN's shareholders are Global (54.6%), Bauer Radio (22.3%), ITN (19.7%) and The Wireless Group (3.4%).
The Savoy was a manor and liberty located between the Liberty of Westminster and the City of London in the county of Middlesex. The Savoy formed part of the Duchy of Lancaster, and was also known as the Liberty of the Duchy of Lancaster. The duchy continues to have land holdings within the area. The manor and liberty included parts of the parishes of St Clement Danes, St Mary le Strand and the whole of the precinct of the Savoy.
The London School of Philosophy is an independent adult education college located in London, United Kingdom. It offers part-time non-degree courses on a wide range of topics within philosophy. It was founded in 2010 by lecturers from Birkbeck College. It is based within Conway Hall, in Bloomsbury.
Maria Grey Training College was a training college in London, England, for teachers from 1878–1976. When it opened, it was the first teacher training college for women in Great Britain. It was named for Maria Georgina Grey.
Marylebone Gardens or Marybone Gardens was a London pleasure garden sited in the grounds of the old manor house of Marylebone and frequented from the mid-17th century, when Marylebone was a village separated from London by fields and market gardens, to the third quarter of the 18th century.
Mont Blanc Restaurant is a former restaurant in London where leading writers including Hilaire Belloc, GK Chesterton, Joseph Conrad and Galsworthy met regularly in the early years of the 20th century.
King's Cross is a ward of the London borough of Camden, in the United Kingdom. The ward has existed since the creation of the borough on 1 April 1965 and was first used in the 1964 elections. The population of the ward at the 2011 Census was 11,843.
Les Cousins was a folk and blues club in the basement of a restaurant in Greek Street, in the Soho district of London, England. It was most prominent during the British folk music revival of the mid-1960s and was known as a venue where musicians of the era met and learnt from each other. As such, it was influential in the careers of, for example, Jackson C. Frank, Al Stewart, Marc Brierley, Davey Graham, Bert Jansch, John Renbourn, Sandy Denny, John Martyn, Alexis Korner, The Strawbs, Roy Harper, The Young Tradition and Paul Simon. Several albums were recorded there.
The National Survey of Health & Development is a Medical Research Council (MRC) longitudinal survey of people born in Britain in March 1946. It is "the longest continually running major birth cohort study in the world and is one of the longest-running studies of human development. "
Lamb's Conduit Field was an open area of Holborn, London, that was a noted cricket venue in the first half of the 18th century.
Murder One was from 1988 to 2009 a bookshop in the Charing Cross Road, "catering to readers interested in hard-to-find and collectable crime, mystery, romance and science fiction literature". It was the first UK bookshop to specialize in the crime and mystery genres, and at its opening in 1988 the largest specialist "genre" bookshop in Europe. It was owned by the novelist Maxim Jakubowski.
Bloomsbury Institute is a higher education institution offering undergraduate and postgraduate degree courses in business management, accounting and finance, and law, awarded by the University of Northampton. It is located in central London, United Kingdom.
The Avenue of Stars was a version of the Hollywood Walk of Fame in London, England. It opened in 2005 with one hundred names, and was a temporary installation to accompany a TV show to celebrate ITV's 50th birthday. The Avenue of Stars was a walkway through Covent Garden passing St Paul's Church, commonly known as the "Actors' Church". It honoured individuals or groups from the entertainment industry with notable achievements. As on the Hollywood Walk of Fame, the individual or group was represented by a five-pointed star containing the name set into the walkway. To qualify for a star, the individual or group had to have been from the United Kingdom, the Republic of Ireland, or a Commonwealth nation.
Gimpel Fils is a London art gallery previously located at 30 Davies Street in Westminster just off Grosvenor Square and has since moved. The gallery was founded by Charles and Peter Gimpel, sons of the celebrated Parisian art dealer, René Gimpel, author of the Diary of an Art Dealer. Throughout its history it has maintained a commitment to contemporary British and International art.
Luxury beauty retailer Space NK was founded by Nicky Kinnaird in Covent Garden in 1993. Space NK became a Manzanita company in 2002 and as of April 2017 the brand has over 60 stores across the UK and Ireland and 29 stores in the US including free-standing stores and boutiques at Bloomingdale's and Nordstrom.
The Regent Palace Hotel was a large hotel in central London close to Piccadilly Circus between 1915 and 2006. It was designated as a Grade II listed building by English Heritage in 2004.
Rhodes W1 was a restaurant located in London, England. Opened in 2007, it gained a Michelin star within a year of opening in January 2008. It served European cuisine, and was one of two Rhodes restaurants in London to hold a Michelin star. It is now closed.
The Savile Club is a traditional London gentlemen's club founded in 1868. Though located somewhat out of the way from the main centre of London's gentlemen's clubs, closer to the residences of Mayfair than the clubs of Pall Mall and St James's Street, it still contains prominent names among its members. It was originally formed after a division of opinion within the old Eclectic Club as to whether to accept an offer of rooms by the Medical Club and cease to be simply a "night club" (in its 19th-century sense).
Somerset House, Park Lane (built 1769–70; demolished 1915), was an 18th-century town house on the east side of Park Lane, where it meets Oxford Street, in the Mayfair area of London. It was also known as 40 Park Lane, although a renumbering means that the site is now called 140 Park Lane.
42–44 Mortimer Street is an architecturally notable former youth hostel in Mortimer Street, in the City of Westminster, London. It was designed by Arthur Beresford Pite and is grade II listed with Historic England. A London County Council plaque on the building records that the sculptor Joseph Nollekens once lived on a house on the site.
Wimpole House at 28–29a Wimpole Street is a group of Grade II listed town houses on the corner of Wimpole Street and New Cavendish Street in the City of Westminster, London.
Purple Radio was an internet and British digital radio station for a gay, lesbian and gay-friendly audience. It was available on a DAB multiplex in London and also online. It was the first full-time gay and lesbian radio station and broadcast 24 hours a day, with live broadcasts from a different nightclub every night.
Madame Tussaud's Rock Circus (August 1989 – September 2001), was a walk-through exhibition celebrating the history of rock and pop music, featuring its major figures recreated in wax. It was located at the top four floors of the then-newly refurbished London Pavilion building at Piccadilly Circus, London. Predominantly British artists featured, but many American artists were also included. The attraction told the story of rock and pop from the 1950s to the then-present day by using videos, music, narration and audio-animatronic figures.
The Russell Institution (fuller titles: Russell Institution for the Promotion of Literary and Scientific Knowledge, and the Russell Literary and Scientific Institution) was an organisation devoted to scientific, literary and musical education, based in London. It was founded by private subscription in 1808, taking as models the Royal Institution and the London Institution, both at the time popular.
The Seven Dials Jazz Club opened its doors in 1980 as a venue for live music in Covent Garden, London. It hosted a range of artists and styles of jazz and began to attract a regular audience. Starting in 1983, a series of saxophone festivals was held on the premises each year.
Cranbourn Street is a street in Central London. It connects Leicester Square to Long Acre via Charing Cross Road.
9 and 11 Duke Street are grade II listed terraced townhouses in Duke Street, Marylebone, in the City of Westminster, London. The houses are on the east side of the street on the corner with Duke's Mews. They were built around 1776–88 when the Duke of Manchester developed Manchester Square on Portman Estate land. Built of stock brick with slate roofs, they later had shop fronts added which were altered in the Victorian period. The buildings were extensively renovated in 2011–12 by Richardsons (Nyewood) Limited.
Rococo club was an R&B nightclub in Leicester Square, central London, England. It was home to several funky house and R&B nights including the VIP guestlist R&B, Bashment and Hip Hop Cinnamon Fridays nights.
The Royal College of Chemistry (RCC) was a college originally based on Oxford Street in central London, England. It operated between 1845 and 1872.
The Royal Panopticon of Science and Art, to give the full title, was one of the grand social institutions and architectural splendours of Victorian London, that is now lost. It was given a Royal Charter in 1850 and in July 1851 a lease was taken out on a premium site for 60 years, and building could commence. The Panopticon was built on the eastern side of Leicester Square, opening on 18 March 1854. As a showcase venue for the very best achievements in Science and Arts of the time, it attracted 1,000 visitors per day. Two years later however it closed, obtained a licence for theatrical performances and was re-opened as the Alhambra Theatre. The site is now occupied by the Odeon Leicester Square.
The High Commission of Rwanda in London is the diplomatic mission of Rwanda in the United Kingdom and also the home of the Rwanda diplomatic mission to Ireland. The High Commission is located at 120 to 122 Seymour Place, London, near to Marylebone and Baker Street underground stations.
The High Commission of the United Republic of Tanzania in London is the diplomatic mission of Tanzania in the United Kingdom. It is located in Stratford Place, a small cul-de-sac just off Oxford Street which it shares with the High Commission of Botswana. It was the former residence of Alice Liddell, the heroine of the children's book Alice's Adventures in Wonderland.
The Tivoli Theatre of Varieties was a popular English theatre based in the Strand, West London. It was designed by Charles Phipps and was built during 1889–90 at a cost of £300,000. It was constructed on the former site of the Tivoli Beer Garden and Restaurant. In the consortium that financed the project was the actor Edward O'Connor Terry. The hall opened on 24 May 1890 and was located opposite the Adelphi Theatre.
The Institute of Education building is a Grade II* listed building in the London Borough of Camden used by the University College London Institute of Education.
St Christopher's Chapel is the chapel of Great Ormond Street Hospital in London, England. It is a grade II* listed building and is noted for its highly decorated interior.
The High Commission of Belize in London is the diplomatic mission of Belize in the United Kingdom. It shares the building with the High Commission of Antigua and Barbuda.
The Kenya High Commission in London was established in 1963 to pursue Kenya’s national interest in the United Kingdom. The diplomatic mission in London is also accredited to the International Maritime Organization, and the Commonwealth of Nations.
The Embassy of Liberia in London is the diplomatic mission of Liberia in the United Kingdom. It is currently located next to the embassies of Mozambique and Croatia on Fitzroy Square.
The High Commission of Namibia in London is the diplomatic mission of Namibia in the United Kingdom.
The Embassy of the Maldives in London is the diplomatic mission of the Maldives in the United Kingdom. It was established in 1995 by upgrading the existing Maldives Government Trade Representative's Office; it was formally opened by former Maldivian President Maumoon Abdul Gayoom.
Westminster Business School (WBS) is the business school of the University of Westminster. It is located at the Marylebone campus of the University in central London, opposite Baker Street station and Madame Tussauds. It is one of London’s leading centres for business education and has a large and diverse staff base with extensive business, consultancy and research achievements.
The Embassy of Croatia in London is the diplomatic mission of Croatia in the United Kingdom. It is located next to the embassies of Mozambique and Liberia on Fitzroy Square.
The Embassy of Cuba in London is the diplomatic mission of Cuba in the United Kingdom. The Ambassador is Her Excellency Teresita Vicente Sotolongo.
The High Commission of Antigua and Barbuda in London is the diplomatic mission of Antigua and Barbuda in the United Kingdom. It shares the building with the High Commission of Belize.
The St Giles's Roundhouse was a small roundhouse or prison, mainly used to temporarily hold suspected criminals.
The Embassy of Haiti in London is the diplomatic mission of Haiti in the United Kingdom. It is located in Swedenborg House in the Bloomsbury district.
The Embassy of Honduras in London is the diplomatic mission of Honduras in the United Kingdom.
The Representative of North Cyprus in London is the diplomatic mission of North Cyprus in the United Kingdom. It is not a fully-fledged embassy owing to the ongoing Cyprus dispute; however, it is the highest-level representation of the North Cypriot government in the United Kingdom. The office has been at its current location on Bedford Square since 1996; prior to this it was located at Great Marlborough Street.
Samarqand Restaurant (also known as Samarqand Restaurant and Bar) is a restaurant-bar situated in Marylebone, London that specializes in Central Asian cuisine. The restaurant opened in 2009 and has gained a reputation among Asians in London. Russian news corporation Russia Today, has recorded the restaurant and many celebrities have dined in Samarqand, including football players Didier Drogba and Andrey Arshavin. Reviews have been mixed for the unfamiliar cuisine served but director Iskandarbek Narzibekov stated that Samarqand was a chance for Central Asian cuisine to "make a name for itself" in mainstream cookery in a recent interview.
The Embassy of East Timor in London is the diplomatic mission of East Timor in the United Kingdom.
La Mitrailleuse is a painting by British Futurist artist Christopher Nevinson, made in 1915 while he was on honeymoon leave from service as an ambulance driver with the RAMC on the Western Front in the First World War. In an article in the Burlington Magazine in 1916, artist Walter Sickert called the work "the most authoritative and concentrated utterance on the war in the history of painting".
50 Carnaby Street in London's Soho district was the site of several important music clubs in the 20th century. These clubs were often run for and by the black community, with jazz and calypso music predominating in the earlier years. From 1936, it was the Florence Mills Social Parlour. In the 1940s it was the Blue Lagoon Club. In 1950, it was briefly Club Eleven, and from the early 1950s it was the Sunset Club. From 1961, it was occupied by the Roaring Twenties nightclub. In the 1970s it was Columbo's. It is now a Ben Sherman shop.
Truslove & Hanson was a minor independent publishing firm that ran a number of fashionable bookshops in the West End of London. They also printed personalized stationery and bookplates, offered a bookbinding service, and acted as London agents for the State Library of New South Wales. There was a New York branch, Truslove, Hanson & Comba, from 1899 to 1903.
Whitefield's Tabernacle, also called Tottenham Court Road Chapel, is a church on Tottenham Court Road, London, England. It is now the home of the American International Church.
The British Pain Society (BPS) is a multidisciplinary community that brings together a diverse group of clinicians, nurses, physiotherapists, scientists, patients and other professionals to improve the knowledge of pain, and implement new public policies and clinical practices to alleviate pain related suffering. The society was founded in 1967. The BPS has a wide range of activities, from setting standards in clinical care, offering conferences, meetings, courses for special interest groups as well as publishing the British Journal of Pain. Patients are also actively involved with the work of the society.
The Davies Street drill hall is a former military installation in Davies Street, London.
Keppel Street is a street in the London Borough of Camden that runs from the junction of Store Street and Gower Street in the west to Malet Street in the east. Before the construction of Senate House, it continued on to join Russell Square.
UK Sport is the government agency responsible for investing in Olympic and Paralympic sport in the UK. It is an executive non-departmental public body sponsored by the Department for Digital, Culture, Media & Sport.
The West Street Chapel is a former chapel at 26 West Street, London WC2. It was John Wesley’s first Methodist chapel in London’s West End.
Angela Hartnett at The Connaught, also known as MENU, was a restaurant owned by Gordon Ramsay Holdings and run by chef Angela Hartnett. It was located within The Connaught in Mayfair, London. The restaurant was opened following Ramsay's successful opening of Gordon Ramsay at Claridge's, within the Claridge's hotel, which is owned by the same equity group. Ramsay had originally been asked to move Restaurant Gordon Ramsay into the space, but suggested that Hartnett should run a new operation there instead. The restaurant was awarded a Michelin star in the 2004 guide and held it until it closed in 2007.
Paddington Street Gardens are two small public gardens located either side of Paddington Street in the Marylebone area of London.
The Church of the Good Shepherd & The St. Marylebone Church Institute & Club is a grade II listed building in Paddington Street in the City of Westminster.
Trash was a popular London indie and electro nightclub run by Erol Alkan.
Tzedek is a UK-based registered charity organization which aims to provide a Jewish response to the problem of global poverty. It is founded in 1990 and its initiatives reflect many Jewish values.
The Hotel Cecil was a grand hotel built 1890–96 between the Thames Embankment and the Strand in London, England. It was named after Cecil House (also known as Salisbury House), a mansion belonging to the Cecil family, which occupied the site in the 17th century. The hotel was largely demolished in 1930, and Shell Mex House now stands on its site.
St George's Barracks was a military installation in Orange Street, behind the National Gallery, in London.
8 and 9 Bentinck Street are adjacent grade II listed terraced houses in Bentinck Street, in the City of Westminster, London. Number 8 was completed around 1780, and number 9 in 1780–90. A blue plaque notes the fact that James Smithson, founder of the Smithsonian Institution, once lived at number 9.
Henrietta Place, originally known as Henrietta Street, is a street in Marylebone in the City of Westminster in central London that runs from Marylebone Lane in the east to Cavendish Square in the west. It is joined on the north side by Welbeck Street and Wimpole Street, and on the south side by Vere Street, Chapel Place, and Old Cavendish Street.
The UCL Jill Dando Institute of Security and Crime Science (informally the Jill Dando Institute or the JDI) is an institute of crime science located in London, United Kingdom and a part of University College London (UCL). It was founded in 2001, becoming the first university institute in the world devoted specifically to crime science.
The London Women's Clinic is a private healthcare centre situated in London's Harley Street. Owned by Dr Kamal Ahuja, and founded in 1992, the centre has a reputation for helping single women and lesbian couples conceive. The clinic is closely associated with the London Sperm Bank and the London Egg Bank.
The Mercers' Arms was a pub at 17 Mercer Street, in London's Covent Garden, at the corner with Shelton Street. It closed as a pub in about 1973, and is now a private dining club.
The Yorkshire Stingo was a public house in Marylebone in the 18th and 19th centuries, and served as a significant landmark just outside central London.
140 Gower Street was the headquarters of MI5 from 1976 to 1994. The site was acquired by the Wellcome Foundation in 1998.
Tom King's Coffee House (later known as Moll King's Coffee House) was a notorious establishment in Covent Garden, London in the mid-18th century. Open from the time the taverns shut until dawn, it was ostensibly a coffee house, but in reality served as a meeting place for prostitutes and their customers. By refusing to provide beds, the Kings ensured that they never risked charges of brothel-keeping, but the venue was nevertheless a rowdy drinking den and a favourite target for the moral reformers of the day.
Museum Mile is a collection of museums in London, England, in the area between King's Cross on Euston Road to the north and the Embankment on the River Thames to the south. The area is located in the London Borough of Camden. The route includes Woburn Place, Russell Square, Southampton Row, Kingsway, and the Aldwych.
The Gargoyle was a private members' club (dodging alcohol laws that pubs had to observe) on the upper floors of 69 Dean Street, Soho, London (at the corner with Meard Street), founded on 16 January 1925 by the aristocratic socialite David Tennant, son of the Scottish 1st Baron Glenconner. David was the brother of Stephen Tennant who was called "the brightest" of the "Bright Young People" and of Edward Wyndham Tennant, the poet who was killed in action in World War I.
St Anne's Churchyard, also known as St Anne’s Gardens, is a public park on Wardour Street in Soho, London. Formerly the churchyard of St Anne's, Soho, it was closed to burials in 1853. It was laid out as a garden by the Metropolitan Public Gardens Association in 1891. It is managed by Westminster City Council and has received the Green Flag Award. The gardens contain a memorial to the victims of the 1999 Admiral Duncan pub bombing.
Lady Jane was the first women's fashion boutique on London's Carnaby Street. It was opened by Harry Fox and Henry Moss in May 1966 and was seen as a counterpart to Warren Gold's Lord John chain.
The West End Central Police Station is a police station at 27 Savile Row, in London's West End, on the junction with Boyle Street.
The St James Workhouse opened in 1725 on Poland Street in the Soho area of London, England, in what was then the parish of Westminster St James, and continued well into the nineteenth century.
The equestrian statue of George Stuart White is a Grade II listed outdoor bronze sculpture depicting Field Marshal Sir George Stuart White, an officer of the British Army, located in Portland Place, London, England. The sculptor was John Tweed and the statue was unveiled in 1922.
The statue of Henry Irving is located on the grounds of the National Portrait Gallery along Charing Cross Road in London, United Kingdom. It was erected on 12 May 1910 by English actors and actresses and others related to theatre in country in a campaign organized by the Irving Memorial Committee. It was installed on land donated by the City of Westminster. The Irving Society hosts a wreath-laying ceremony at the statue on 6 February each year, commemorating the actor's birth.
54 Mount Street is a grade II* listed building in Mount Street in the City of Westminster. It is the residence of the Brazilian ambassador in London. The main embassy building is located at Cockspur Street.
St. Pancras Library is in the London Borough of Camden located just off the Euston Road in the King's Cross area of the borough. It is situated on the ground floor of Camden Council's Town Hall complex. With a separate children's library it provides a wide selection of books, CDs and DVDs available to borrow, and free internet access, making it central to provide a library service and gateway to other Council services to the local community.
The Bedford Estate is an estate in central London that is owned by the Russell family, which holds the peerage title of Duke of Bedford. The estate was originally based in Covent Garden, then stretched to include Bloomsbury in 1669. The Covent Garden property was sold for £2 million in 1913 by Herbrand Russell, 11th Duke of Bedford, to the MP and land speculator Harry Mallaby-Deeley, who sold his option to the Beecham family for £250,000; the sale was finalised in 1918.
The Cave of the Golden Calf was a night club in London. In existence for only two years immediately before the First World War, it epitomised decadence, and still inspires cultural events. Its name is a reference to the Golden Calf of the Biblical story, an icon of impermissable worship.
The Arrow is a British digital radio station playing classic and contemporary rock music. It broadcasts on DAB Digital Radio (in London) and is also streamed over digital satellite TV and online. The station is operated by Global; prior to Global's formation it was owned by their predecessor Chrysalis Radio.
The Box Soho is a cabaret nightclub located at 11-12 Walker's Court in Soho, London, on the premises formerly occupied by the Raymond Revuebar.
The Kashmir Klub was a non-profit making, live music club that operated in central London, England between 1997 and 2003. It was located at 6 Nottingham Place, in the basement of a restaurant and bar called "Fabrizio" at the "Baker and Oven".
Sumarria Lunn Gallery is a commercial contemporary art gallery based in the Mayfair district of London which represents and exhibits artists from the United Kingdom, Korea, and those based in the United States.
The Green Man and Still was a tavern in Oxford Street, London, much favoured during the 18th & 19th centuries by cricketers – such as William Beldham, Tom Walker and David Harris – playing at Thomas Lord's grounds nearby, and also patronised by the leading bookmakers of the day.
St George Hanover Square was a civil parish in the metropolitan area of London, England. The creation of the parish accompanied the building of the Church of St George's, Hanover Square, constructed by the Commission for Building Fifty New Churches to meet the demands of the growing population. The parish was formed in 1724 from part of the ancient parish of St Martin in the Fields in the Liberty of Westminster and county of Middlesex. It included some of the most fashionable areas of the West End of London, including Belgravia and Mayfair. Civil parish administration, known as a select vestry, was dominated by members of the British nobility until the parish adopted the Vestries Act 1831. The vestry was reformed again in 1855 by the Metropolis Management Act. In 1889 the parish became part of the County of London and the vestry was abolished in 1900, replaced by Westminster City Council. The parish continued to have nominal existence until 1922. As created, it was a parish for both church and civil purposes, but the boundaries of the ecclesiastical parish were adjusted in 1830, 1835 and 1865.
St Paul Covent Garden was a civil parish in the metropolitan area of London, England. The former area of the parish now corresponds to the Covent Garden market and surrounding streets in the City of Westminster.
System Simulation (SSL) is a software engineering company now specialising in text and multimedia information systems, based in Covent Garden, central London, England, and founded in 1970.
The Westminster Meeting House is a Friends meeting house (a Quaker place of worship) at 52 St Martin's Lane in Covent Garden, London WC1. It shares its frontage with an adjoining shop. The Westminster friends have been meeting at this location since 1883.
Fitzroy Square is one of the Georgian squares in London and is the only one found in the central London area known as Fitzrovia.
The German Historical Institute London (GHIL) is one of the nine independent academic research institutes of the German Historical Institute (German: Deutsche Historische Institute) that are part of the Max Weber Foundation.
Clareville House is a grade II listed office building with retail premises on the ground floor on the north side of Panton Street, in the City of Westminster, London. It also borders Oxenden Street and Whitcomb Street. The narrow and pedestrianised Whitcomb Court is on the north side of the building. It was designed in 1955 by Albert Richardson and built in 1961-3 for Stone's Chop House which closed in 1981.
Aeolian Hall, at 135–137 New Bond Street, London, began life as the Grosvenor Gallery, being built by Coutts Lindsay in 1876, an accomplished amateur artist with a predeliction for the aesthetic movement, for which he was held up to some ridicule. In 1883, he decided to light his gallery with electricity. An outhouse became a substation, and equipment was installed in the basement, which upset some of the neighbours, and caused others to buy electricity from him. Thus began the system of electrical distribution in use today, but the threat of fire ended these activities, and by 1890, Lindsay was forced to sell out to the Grosvenor Club. By 1903 the whole building was taken over by the Orchestrelle Company of New York (the Aeolian Company). As manufacturers of musical instruments, and especially the mechanical piano-player known as the pianola, they converted the space into offices, a showroom, and a concert hall.
Food for Thought was a vegetarian and vegan restaurant in the Seven Dials district of London's Covent Garden. Founded in 1971 in a former banana warehouse, it later closed in 2015.
Old Slaughter's Coffee House was a coffee house in St Martin's Lane in London. Opened in 1692 by Thomas Slaughter, it was the haunt of many of the important personages of the period. The building was demolished in 1843 when Cranbourn Street was constructed.
The Washington Mayfair is a four star hotel in London, England at 5 Curzon Street in London Mayfair W1J 5HE
The High Commission of Tonga in London is the diplomatic mission of Tonga in the United Kingdom. Tonga and the United Kingdom established diplomatic relations in June 1970 after the Treaty of Friendship and Tonga's protection status ended.
The Roman Catholic Church of Saint Charles Borromeo is a Roman Catholic church on Ogle Street in the Diocese of Westminster, London.
The Horses of Helios, also known as The Four Bronze Horses of Helios, is a bronze sculpture of four horses by Rudy Weller. It is one half of a commission installed in 1992 when the adjacent Criterion Theatre was refurbished. The other half, the Daughters of Helios or Three Graces, is a sculpture of three women leaping off the building six stories above.
The Conscientious Objectors' Commemorative Stone is on the north side of Tavistock Square, Bloomsbury, in the London Borough of Camden.
United Kingdom House at 164–182 Oxford Street in the City of Westminster, London, is a grade II listed former Waring and Gillow's department store designed in 1905–1906 by Frank Atkinson with advice from Richard Norman Shaw. It is now used as retail and offices premises.
22 Weymouth Street is a grade II listed building in Weymouth Street, London, in the City of Westminster. The house was built in 1934 by Bovis Ltd to a design by Giles Gilbert Scott and his brother Adrian Gilbert Scott. It is notable for the combination of traditional and modernist architectural elements.
Monmouth House was a 17th-century mansion built for the Duke of Monmouth, the oldest illegitimate son of King Charles II. After the Duke's execution for attempting to lead a rebellion against the unpopular Catholic successor to Charles, James II, the house was owned by the Bateman family and loaned to various important people including the French ambassador before being demolished in 1773.
Burleigh House is a historic building in the City of Westminster, London, United Kingdom. It is located at 355 on The Strand. It was built in the 18th century. It has been Grade II listed since May 1, 1986.
Debenham & Freebody was a department store at 27–37 Wigmore Street, London, part of what is now the Debenhams chain. The building is now used by a variety of occupiers and is grade II listed by Historic England.
7 and 8 Balfour Place are a pair of Grade II listed houses in Balfour Place, Mayfair, London W1, on the corner with Mount Street. No 7 is also known as Balfour House.
English National Opera (ENO) is an opera company based in London, resident at the London Coliseum in St Martin's Lane. It is one of the two principal opera companies in London, along with The Royal Opera, Covent Garden. ENO's productions are sung in English.
The Omega Workshops Ltd. was a design enterprise founded by members of the Bloomsbury Group and established in July 1913. It was located at 33 Fitzroy Square in London, and was founded with the intention of providing graphic expression to the essence of the Bloomsbury ethos. The Workshops were also closely associated with the Hogarth Press and the artist and critic Roger Fry, who was the principal figure behind the project, believed that artists could design, produce and sell their own works, and that writers could also be their own printers and publishers. The Directors of the firm were Fry, Duncan Grant and Vanessa Bell.
The International Headache Society (IHS) is a charity membership organisation founded in 1981 for those with a professional commitment to helping people affected by headache.
West End theatre is a common term for mainstream professional theatre staged in the large theatres of "Theatreland" in and near the West End of London. Along with New York City's Broadway theatre, West End theatre is usually considered to represent the highest level of commercial theatre in the English-speaking world. Seeing a West End show is a common tourist activity in London.
One Nation Under CCTV was a 2007 mural by graffiti artist Banksy on Newman Street in London. Painted on the wall of a building used by the Royal Mail, it depicts a child in a red hooded top painting the phrase, while being watched by a police officer and a dog. The mural was situated adjacent to a CCTV camera.
Mayfair Recording Studios was a recording studio located in Primrose Hill, London, England. The studio was originally established in Mayfair, London in the 1960s thus giving the studio its name. Many notable artists and musicians such as Bucks Fizz, Tina Turner, Cliff Richard, The Clash, Pink Floyd, Bee Gees, Blur, Nigel Kennedy and Kroke, and The Smiths have all recorded music at Mayfair.
The International Surrealist Exhibition was held from 11 June to 4 July 1936 at the New Burlington Galleries, near Savile Row in London's Mayfair, England.
The Cathedral of the Holy Family in Exile (Ukrainian: Українська Католицька Катедра "Пресвятої Скитальчої Родини") is the cathedral of the Ukrainian Greek Catholic Eparchy of Holy Family of London. Though independent from the authority of the Latin Rite hierarchy in England and Wales, and instead under the jurisdiction of the Ukrainian Catholic Eparchial bishop, territorially, the cathedral is considered to be part of the Marylebone deanery of the Latin Rite Catholic Archdiocese of Westminster.
The Hanover Square Rooms or the Queen's Concert Rooms were assembly rooms established, principally for musical performances, on the corner of Hanover Square, London, by Sir John Gallini in partnership with Johann Christian Bach and Carl Friedrich Abel in 1774. For exactly one century this was the principal concert venue in London. The premises were demolished in 1900.
The Oriental Club in London is a Gentlemen's club established in 1824 that now admits ladies (since 2010). Charles Graves describes it as fine in quality as White's but with the space of infinitely larger clubs. It is located in Stratford Place, near Oxford Street and Bond Street, London W1.
The Silver Moon Bookshop was a feminist bookstore on Charing Cross Road in London founded in 1984 by Jane Cholmeley and Sue Butterworth, its name derived from the two symbols of womanhood from a poem by Sappho.
The Academy was a cinema located at 165 Oxford Street, Westminster, at the junction of Poland Street. Films (in the shape of Hale's Tours of the World) were shown at the address from at least 1906, and it opened in January 1913 as the Picture House to show The Miracle, with the intention of becoming "the home of the world's most realistic films". The Picture House continued to show films throughout the 1920s.
Blades was a London fashion boutique established in 1962 by Rupert Lycett Green.
Marsyas is a 150-meter-long, ten storey high sculpture designed by Anish Kapoor and Cecil Balmond. It was on show at Tate Modern gallery, London in 2003 and was commissioned as part of the Unilever Series. Marsyas was the third in a series of commissions for Tate Modern’s Turbine Hall and the first to make use of the entire space.
Nonsuch House was a four-storey house on London Bridge, completed in 1579. It is the earliest documented prefabricated building. Originally constructed in the Netherlands, it was taken apart and shipped to London in pieces in 1578, where it was reassembled, with each timber being marked so that it could be reconstructed correctly. It was assembled in the manner later typical of an American barn or modern prefab housing. The name Nonsuch may have referred to Henry VIII's now vanished Nonsuch Palace outside London; it meant there was "none such" anywhere else, that it was an unequalled paragon of its kind.
Southwark St Olave was an ancient civil and ecclesiastical parish on the south bank of the River Thames, covering the area around where Shard London Bridge now stands in the modern London Borough of Southwark. The boundaries varied over time but in general the parish stretched east from London Bridge past Tower Bridge to St Saviour's Dock. Southwark St Olave and St Thomas replaced the civil parish in 1896. It was abolished in 1904 and absorbed by Bermondsey parish.
Metro Central Heights is a group of residential buildings in the London Borough of Southwark. It was originally known as Alexander Fleming House, a multi-storey office complex designed by Hungarian-born modernist architect Ernő Goldfinger and constructed in the early 1960s for Arnold Lee of Imry Properties. The design was favoured both by the property developer Imry and by the London County Council as it promised the largest amount of lettable space and therefore the best financial return for the site. Some 55 m tall at its highest point, the original scheme consisted of three freestanding blocks, two of seven storeys and one of eighteen, grouped around a central piazza.
The New Local Government Network (NLGN) is an independent think tank focused on local government reform. It was founded in 1996, and is currently based in Victoria, London. Its research and thought leadership programme seeks both practical impact for local government and partners, and to influence national policy priorities as they relate to places and public services.
The Shot Tower at the Lambeth Lead Works was a shot tower that stood on the South Bank of the River Thames in London, England, between Waterloo Bridge and Hungerford Bridge, on the site of what is now the Queen Elizabeth Hall. It was a prominent landmark on the river and featured in a number of paintings, including by J. M. W. Turner.
Restless Development is a youth-led development agency, known previously as Students Partnership Worldwide (SPW.) It was founded in 1985 by Jim Cogan. Its mission is to place young people at the forefront of change and development.
seOne was a nightclub in London, United Kingdom. It claimed to be London's largest licensed nightclub with a capacity of 3,000 people. It was located on Weston Street underneath the London Bridge transit centre. The licensing authority required the nightclub to scan and retain clubbers' ID details. seOne used Clubscan for this purpose. On 22 February 2010 it officially closed down due to financial difficulties.
The Skylon was a futuristic-looking, slender, vertical, cigar-shaped steel tensegrity structure located by the Thames in London, that gave the illusion of 'floating' above the ground, built in 1951 for the Festival of Britain.
Southwark Christchurch was a parish in the metropolitan area of London, England. It was the manor and liberty of Paris Garden until 1670.
Southwark St George the Martyr was a civil parish in the metropolitan area of London, England and part of the ancient Borough of Southwark. In 1855 the parish vestry became a local authority within the area of responsibility of the Metropolitan Board of Works. It comprised 284 acres (1.15 km2) and had a population in 1881 of 59,712.
Bermondsey Abbey was an English Benedictine monastery. Most widely known as an 11th-century foundation, it had a precursor mentioned in the early eighth century, and was centred on what is now Bermondsey Square, the site of Bermondsey Market, Bermondsey, in the London Borough of Southwark, southeast London, England.
Bermondsey Square is located on Tower Bridge Road in Bermondsey, part of the London Borough of Southwark, in south London, England. The location was formerly the site of the 11th century Bermondsey Abbey.
The Beargarden or Bear Pit was the facility for bear-baiting, bull-baiting, and other "animal sports" in the London area during the 16th and 17th centuries, from the Elizabethan era to the English Restoration period. Samuel Pepys visited the venue in 1666 and described it as "a rude and nasty pleasure". The last recorded event at the Beargarden was the baiting of "a fine but vicious horse" in 1682.
The Purcell Room is a concert and performance venue which forms part of the Southbank Centre, one of central London's leading cultural complexes. It is named after the 17th century English composer Henry Purcell and has 370 seats. The Purcell Room has hosted a wide range of chamber music, jazz, mime and poetry recitals. In the context of the Southbank Centre it is the smallest of a set of three venues, the other two being the Royal Festival Hall, a large symphony hall, and the QEH, which is used for orchestral, chamber and contemporary amplified music.
The Aeolian Tower was an art installation on the South Bank of the River Thames in London, consisting of a 15-metre (49 ft) steel tower covered in 1200 wind-powered LEDs. It was in place beside the Waterloo Bridge for three days, 14–16 November 2008.
Bishop's ward is an administrative division of the London Borough of Lambeth, United Kingdom. It is located in the north of the borough, bounded by the river Thames, and contains many well known London sites including the Southbank Centre, the London Eye, the Old and New Vic theatres, County Hall and Lambeth Palace. It also contains Waterloo station and St Thomas Hospital.
The King's Bench Prison was a prison in Southwark, south London, England, from medieval times until it closed in 1880. It took its name from the King's Bench court of law in which cases of defamation, bankruptcy and other misdemeanours were heard; as such, the prison was often used as a debtor's prison until the practice was abolished in the 1860s. In 1842, it was renamed the Queen's Prison, and later became the Southwark Convict Prison.
Blackfriars Bridge railway station was on the City branch of the London, Chatham and Dover Railway (LC&DR) in London, England. It was opened on 1 June 1864 and, for its first six months, was the northern terminus of a line from Herne Hill via Loughborough Junction.
The Blackfriars Rotunda was a building in Southwark, near the end of Blackfriars Bridge across the River Thames in London, that existed from 1787 to 1958 in various forms. It initially housed the collection of the Leverian Museum after it had been disposed of by lottery. For a period it was home to the Surrey Institution. In the early 1830s it notoriously was the centre for the activities of the Rotunda radicals. Its subsequent existence was long but less remarkable.
Cardboard City was the name for an area of cardboard boxes near Waterloo station in London, England, lived in by homeless people from 1983 until 1998.
Bermondsey Market (also known as New Caledonian Market and Bermondsey Square Antiques Market) is an antiques market located at Bermondsey Square on Tower Bridge Road in Bermondsey, part of the London Borough of Southwark, in South London, England. The location was formerly the site of Bermondsey Abbey. The site underwent redevelopment in 2006 and the market remained open during this period.
The Canterbury Music Hall was established in 1852 by Charles Morton on the site of a former skittle alley adjacent to the Canterbury Tavern at 143 Westminster Bridge Road, Lambeth. It was the first purpose-built music hall in London, and Morton came to be dubbed the Father of the Halls as hundreds of imitators were built within the next several years. The theatre was rebuilt three times, and the last theatre on the site was destroyed by bombing in 1942.
CentreComm is Transport for London's emergency control room for London Buses. CentreComm's primary purpose is to provide an emergency control centre for London Buses contracted bus network. It is co-located with Transport for London's LSTCC centre which control London's traffic lights and traffic flow.
Alaska Studio is a recording and rehearsal studio, located in Waterloo, in central London. Alaska Studio was founded by Pat Collier of The Vibrators in 1977; initially as rehearsal rooms; and was so successful that he also founded Greenhouse Studio in London a few years later. As of October 2017 it was announced the studio might possibly close December 2017.
The National Poetry Library is a free public collection housed at Royal Festival Hall in London's Southbank Centre. Situated on the fifth floor of the Royal Festival Hall, overlooking the river Thames, the library aims to hold all contemporary UK poetry publications since 1912. It houses the largest collection in Britain, numbering over 200,000 items, including works by small presses. It also holds audio and video materials, critical texts and works for children for loan and reference.
Muscular Dystrophy UK is a UK charity focusing on muscular dystrophy and related conditions. They seek to cure or find treatments for muscular dystrophy and other muscle-wasting conditions, and to improve the lives of those affected.
The Lincoln Memorial Tower or Lincoln Tower is a Gothic revival tower in Lambeth, London, housing small meeting rooms, that was opened in 1876 in memory of Abraham Lincoln, and paid for partly by Americans. Once part of a complex of nineteenth century philanthropic institutions sited alongside a Congregational chapel, it is all that now remains of the original design. It is located at the corner of Westminster Bridge Road and Kennington Road close to Waterloo station and Lambeth North tube station in London, and is today a listed building associated with, and close to, Christ Church and Upton Chapel.
The William Curtis Ecological Park was the United Kingdom's first urban ecology park.
The London School of Musical Theatre (LSMT) is an academy of performing arts that has provided training since 1995.
The Massacre of St George's Fields occurred on 10 May 1768 when government soldiers opened fire on demonstrators that had gathered at St George's Fields, Southwark in south London. The protest was against the imprisonment of the radical Member of Parliament John Wilkes for writing an article that severely criticised King George III. After the reading of the Riot Act telling the crowds to disperse within the hour, six or seven people were killed when fired on by troops. The incident in Britain entrenched the enduring idiom of "reading the Riot Act to someone", meaning a clear ultimatum which has survived the repeal of the Act.
Vauxhall City Farm is a city farm located in Vauxhall in the London Borough of Lambeth. The farm is run as a charity focusing on education, youth work, animal care and horticulture and is a centre for Riding for the Disabled.
St Peter's School is a former school at 38 St Oswald's Place, Vauxhall, London SE11.
The 1935 Summer Deaflympics officially known as 4th International Games for the Deaf was an international multi-sport event that was held from 17 August 1935 to 24 August 1935. It was hosted by London, England, with events held at White City Stadium.
The St Saviours Southwark War Memorial is a war memorial on Borough High Street, in the former parish of Southwark St Saviour, to south of the River Thames in London. It became a Grade II listed building in 1998, upgraded to Grade II* in 2018.
Suffolk Place was a mansion located on the west side of Borough High Street in Southwark belonging to the Dukes of Suffolk. It was built in the fifteenth century and rebuilt in fine Renaissance style in 1522 by Charles Brandon, Duke of Suffolk and boyhood friend of King Henry VIII of England. In about 1536-1543, it was taken over by the King Henry VIII who exchanged it with Brandon for Norwich Place on the Strand, London.
St Saviour's and St Olave's Church of England School is a secondary school and sixth form for girls located on New Kent Road near Elephant and Castle, in the London Borough of Southwark, England. It is a voluntary aided Church of England school in the Anglican Diocese of Southwark and is affiliated to the Woodard Schools group.
Southwark Playhouse is a theatre in London, located between Borough and Elephant and Castle tube stations.
The Scoop is an outdoor amphitheatre situated on the south side of the River Thames near Tower Bridge in London, located underneath City Hall, providing seating for approximately 800 people. Designed by Townshend Landscape Architects, it is a venue used during the summer to show films, musical performances and theatre productions by such companies as The Steam Industry and The Pantaloons. In June 2008, films shown at The Scoop included The Dam Busters, Atonement and Withnail and I. The Scoop has been used as a performance venue since 2002.
The Museum of Life Sciences is a life science and natural history museum that is part of King's College London in London, England. It is housed on the Guy's Campus, adjacent to the Gordon Museum of Pathology in the Hodgkin Building. It was founded in 2009 and is the first new museum in King's College for over 100 years. It exists to explain the diversity of animal and plant life in the context of the biological and health sciences. The current curator is Dr Gillian Sales.
The Liberties of the Tower, or the Tower Liberty, was a liberty around and including the Tower of London.
The Multiple Sclerosis International Federation (MSIF) was established in 1967 as an international body linking the activities of National MS societies around the world. The Federation seeks to work in worldwide partnership with Member Societies and the international scientific community to eliminate multiple sclerosis and its consequences, and to speak out globally on behalf of those affected by multiple sclerosis.
St Ann Blackfriars was a church in the City of London, in what is now Ireland Yard in the ward of Farringdon Within. The church began as a medieval parish chapel, dedicated to St Ann, within the Dominican Black Friars church. The new parish church was established in the 16th century to serve the inhabitants of the precincts of the former Dominican monastery, following its dissolution under King Henry VIII. It was near the Blackfriars Theatre, a fact which displeased its congregation. It was destroyed in the Great Fire of London of 1666.
Merrick Square is a garden square in Newington, London. The square is named after Christopher Merrick who in 1661 left land to Trinity House. There are 32 houses that were built from 1853 to 1872, and they overlook a private garden in the centre, which is still enclosed by its original 19th-century cast-iron railings.
Trinity Church Square, formerly known as Trinity Square, is a garden square in Newington in the London Borough of Southwark.
Southwark Coroner's Court is the Coroner's Court for inner south London. It is located at Tennis Street, London. The court covers cases for the London boroughs of Greenwich, Lambeth, Lewisham and Southwark.
Revolving Torsion is a 1972–73 kinetic sculpture and fountain by the Russian-born Constructivist artist Naum Gabo. It was commissioned for the Tate Gallery and has been on long-term loan to the Guy's and St Thomas' Charity for display at St Thomas' Hospital in Lambeth, London, since 1975. It was designated a Grade II*-listed building in January 2016.
The Lambeth Workhouse was a workhouse in Lambeth, London. The original workhouse opened in 1726 in Princes Road (later, Black Prince Road). From 1871-1873 a new building was constructed in Renfrew Road, Lambeth. The building was eventually turned into a hospital. The workhouse's former master's house and chapel are now occupied by the Cinema Museum.
The Telecinema was a small cinema built specially for the Festival of Britain's London South Bank Exhibition in the summer of 1951. It was situated between Waterloo station and the Royal Festival Hall.
A Room for London is a temporary structure located on the roof of the Queen Elizabeth Hall on London's South Bank. The structure, designed by architect David Kohn is described as "a one-bedroom installation" and is shaped to appear like a boat perched on top of a building.
The Gordon Museum of Pathology is a medical museum that is part of King's College London in London, England. It is one of the largest pathology museums in the world and is the largest medical museum in the United Kingdom. Its primary function is to train medical, dental, biomedical and healthcare students and professionals to diagnose diseases.
The statue of Robert Clayton stands at the entrance to the North Wing of St Thomas' Hospital, Lambeth, London. The sculptor was Grinling Gibbons, and the statue was executed around 1700–1714. Sir Robert was a banker, politician and Lord Mayor of London. As President of St Thomas', he was responsible for the complete rebuilding of the hospital, and associated church in the late 17th century. The statue was designated a Grade I listed structure in 1979.
The National Youth Theatre of Great Britain is a registered charity in London. It is committed to the development of young people through the medium of creative arts, and aims to use theatre to aid in this objective. It was founded in 1956 as the world's first youth theatre and has built a reputation as a breeding ground for renowned actors such as Daniel Craig, Daniel Day-Lewis, Timothy Dalton, Chiwetel Ejiofor, Idris Elba, Colin Firth, Derek Jacobi, Ben Kingsley, Ian McShane, Helen Mirren, Rosamund Pike, and Kate Winslet, as well as musicians such as Sophie Ellis-Bextor and Ed Sheeran (see here for a full list).
Lambeth Magistrates' Court is a former magistrates' court building in Renfrew Road, Kennington SE11, in the London Borough of Lambeth. It was originally known as Lambeth Police Court. It is now home to the Jamyang Buddhist Centre.
Blackwing Studios was an English recording studio, most notable for early Depeche Mode and Yazoo recordings in the early 1980s.
The Dome of Discovery was a temporary exhibition building designed by architect Ralph Tubbs for the Festival of Britain celebrations which took place on London's South Bank in 1951, alongside the River Thames. The consulting engineers were Freeman Fox & Partners, in particular Oleg Kerensky (later Dr. Oleg) and Gilbert Roberts (later Sir Gilbert).
Horsemonger Lane Gaol (also known as the Surrey County Gaol or the New Gaol) was a prison close to present-day Newington Causeway in Southwark, south London.
The statue of Edward VI by Peter Scheemakers at St Thomas' Hospital, Lambeth, London is one of two statues of the king at the hospital. Both commemorate Edward's re-founding of the hospital in 1551. It was moved to its current location inside the North Wing of the hospital in the 20th century. It was designated a Grade II* listed structure in 1979.
The statue of Edward VI by Thomas Cartwright at St Thomas' Hospital, Lambeth, London is one of two statues of the king at the hospital. Both commemorate Edward's re-founding of the institution in 1551. The statue was designed by Nathaniel Hanwell and carved by Thomas Cartwright in 1682, during the rebuilding undertaken by Sir Robert Clayton when President of the hospital. The statue originally formed the centrepiece of a group of figures which adorned the gateway on Borough High Street. It was moved to its current location at the north entrance to the North Wing on Lambeth Palace Road in the 20th century. It was designated a Grade II* listed structure in 1979.
Hopton's Almshouses are almshouses and a committee room in Southwark, London, SE1 at Hopton Gardens, 10–11 Hopton Street, all of which are Grade II* listed.
Her Majesty's Prison and Probation Service is an executive agency of the Ministry of Justice (MOJ) responsible for the correctional services in England and Wales. It was created in 2004 as the National Offender Management Service (NOMS) by combining parts of both of the headquarters of the National Probation Service and Her Majesty's Prison Service with some existing Home Office functions. In 2017, some of the agency's functions transferred to the Ministry of Justice and it received its current name.
The London School of Medicine for Women established in 1874 was the first medical school in Britain to train women as doctors.
The Academia Europaea is an independent learned society and European Union’s Academy of Humanities and Sciences.
Southwark St John Horsleydown was a small parish on the south bank of the River Thames in London, opposite the Tower of London. The name Horsleydown, apparently derived from the "horse lie-down" next to the river, is no longer used. The parish was created by splitting St Olave's parish in 1733.
Southwark St Saviour ( SUDH-ərk) was a civil parish in the metropolitan area of London, England, and part of the ancient Borough of Southwark. It was formed in 1541 from the union of the parishes of St Margaret and St Mary. It was abolished in 1930, however residents of the former parish receive a rebate against local taxation because of the presence of Borough Market.
The Liberty of the Clink was an area in Southwark, on the south bank of the River Thames, opposite the City of London. Although situated in Surrey the liberty was exempt from the jurisdiction of the county's high sheriff and was under the jurisdiction of the Bishop of Winchester who was usually either the Chancellor or Treasurer of the King.
Prince's ward is an administrative division of the London Borough of Lambeth, England. It is located in the North of the borough, bounded by the River Thames on the west and Kennington Park Road on the east. It is made up of much of Kennington and Vauxhall.
The Revolving Doors Agency (RDA), also known as Revolving Doors, is a charitable organisation in the United Kingdom which works across England and Wales. Through research, policy and campaigning work, the organisation aims to improve services for people with multiple needs who are in repeat contact with the criminal justice system.
The Royal Pharmaceutical Society of Great Britain (RPSGB) existed from its founding as the Pharmaceutical Society of Great Britain in 1841 until 2010. The word "Royal" was added to its name in 1988. It was the statutory regulatory and professional body for pharmacists and pharmacy technicians in England, Scotland and Wales. In September 2010, the regulatory powers of the Society were transferred to the newly formed General Pharmaceutical Council (GPhC). The RPSGB became the Royal Pharmaceutical Society (RPS) at that time and retained its professional leadership role; the "Great Britain" part of the name was dropped for day-to-day purposes.
Lambeth School of Art was founded in 1854 by Reverend William Gregory. In 1879 it became the South London Technical School of Art. In 1937 it changed its name to the City and Guilds of London Art School.
Westminster St James (or St James Piccadilly) was a civil parish in the metropolitan area of London, England. The creation of the parish followed the building of the Church of St James, Piccadilly in 1684. After several failed attempts, the parish was formed in 1685 from part of the ancient parish of St Martin in the Fields in the Liberty of Westminster and county of Middlesex. It included part of the West End of London, taking in sections of Soho, Mayfair and St James's. Civil parish administration was in the hands of a select vestry until the parish adopted the Vestries Act 1831. The vestry was reformed again in 1855 by the Metropolis Management Act. In 1889 the parish became part of the County of London and the vestry was abolished in 1900, replaced by Westminster City Council. The parish continued to have nominal existence until 1922.
St Margaret was an ancient parish in the City and Liberty of Westminster and the county of Middlesex. It included the core of modern Westminster, including the Palace of Westminster and the area around, but not including Westminster Abbey. It was divided into St Margaret's and St John's in 1727, to coincide with the building of the Church of St John the Evangelist, constructed by the Commission for Building Fifty New Churches in Smith Square to meet the demands of the growing population, but there continued to be a single vestry for the parishes of St Margaret and St John. This was reformed in 1855 by the Metropolis Management Act, and the two parishes formed the Westminster District until 1887. St Margaret and St John became part of the County of London in 1889. The vestry was abolished in 1900, to be replaced by Westminster City Council, but St Margaret and St John continued to have a nominal existence until 1922.
Hungerford Market was a produce market in London, at Charing Cross on the Strand. It existed in two different buildings on the same site, the first built in 1682, the second in 1832. The market was first built on the site of Hungerford House, next to Durham Yard, the town house of the Hungerford family. The house had burned down in 1669 as is recorded in the Diary of Samuel Pepys. It was replaced by a new Italianate market building by Charles Fowler, which opened in 1833. The new market was unsuccessful. It was damaged when the adjoining Hungerford Hall burned down in 1854, and was sold to the South Eastern Railway in 1862. Charing Cross railway station was built on the site and opened in 1864.
The Waterloo Vase is a 15-foot (4.6 m) stone urn, fashioned from a single piece of Carrara marble. Since 1906, it has been used as a garden ornament in the garden of Buckingham Palace, London.
The Westminster School of Art was an art school in Westminster, London.
York House is a historic wing of St James's Palace, London, built for Frederick, Prince of Wales on his marriage in 1736. It is in the north-western part of the palace on the site of a former suttling-house (canteen) for the Guards; it overlooks Ambassadors' Court and Cleveland Row to the west of the old Chapel Royal. Prince Frederick occupied it for about a year, until his quarrel with the his father drove him from Court.
The Institute of Directors (IoD) is a business organisation for company directors, senior business leaders and entrepreneurs. It is the UK’s longest running organisation for professional leaders, having been founded in 1903 and incorporated by Royal Charter in 1906. The IoD, per its mission statement, stands for "free enterprise, entrepreneurialism, wealth creation and good corporate governance," and represents "the views of businesses and IoD members in the media and with government."
Westminster Hospital was a hospital in London, England, founded in 1719. In 1834 a medical school attached to the hospital was formally founded. In 1939 a newly built hospital and medical school opened in Horseferry Road, Westminster. In 1994 the hospital closed, and its resources were moved to the new Chelsea and Westminster Hospital at the old St Stephen's Hospital site in Fulham Road.
The Westminster Abbey Muniments is a collection of muniments and manuscripts comprising archives of Westminster Abbey from the tenth century to the present day. The core of the collection contains accounts, manuscripts, and court records of the large estate. Before they were put together in the archives, they were scattered across southern and mid-England.
The Westminster Hospital Medical School was formally founded in 1834 by George Guthrie, an ex-military surgeon – although students had been taken on at Westminster Hospital almost from the hospital's foundation in 1719 (the traditional name at the Westminster was "cubs").
The High Commission of Canada in the United Kingdom (French: Haut-commissariat du Canada au Royaume-Uni) is the diplomatic mission of Canada to the United Kingdom. Until mid-December 2014, it was housed in two separate buildings in central London – Canada House on Trafalgar Square and Macdonald House in Mayfair – with an additional Regional Service Centre at 3 Furzeground Way, Stockley Park, Uxbridge. Additionally, the Government of Quebec maintains a representative office at 59 Pall Mall.
New Palace Yard is an open courtyard northwest of the Palace of Westminster in Westminster, London, England. It forms part of the Palace estate and is not open to the public. The yard has existed since around the year 1100, but it has been considerably reduced in size over the years due to the construction of new streets and buildings, most notably the current palace, which was built across the eastern end of the yard in the 19th century. An underground car park used by Members of Parliament is located beneath the yard. Prior to the construction of the present Palace of Westminster, the yard was an open public space used for a variety of purposes including speeches, tournaments, pilloryings, and executions. It has twice been the scene of terrorist attacks.
Old Palace Yard is a paved open space in the City of Westminster in Central London, England. It lies between the Palace of Westminster to its north and east and Westminster Abbey to its west. It is known as the site of executions, including those of Sir Walter Raleigh, Guy Fawkes and other conspirators of the Gunpowder Plot, and James Hamilton, 1st Duke of Hamilton, following the Battle of Preston.
The Fourth plinth is the northwest plinth in Trafalgar Square in central London. It was originally intended to hold an equestrian statue of William IV, but remained bare due to insufficient funds. For over 150 years the fate of the plinth was debated; in 1998, the Royal Society for the encouragement of Arts, Manufactures and Commerce (RSA) commissioned three contemporary sculptures to be displayed temporarily on the plinth. Shortly afterwards, Chris Smith, Secretary of State for Culture, Media and Sport, commissioned Sir John Mortimer to seek opinions from public art commissioners, critics and members of the public as to the future of the plinth.
25 Park Lane was the London residence of Sir Philip Sassoon who also owned Port Lympne Mansion and Trent Park.
The Earl Haig Memorial is a bronze equestrian statue of the British Western Front commander Douglas Haig, 1st Earl Haig on Whitehall in Westminster. It was created by the sculptor Alfred Frank Hardiman and commissioned by Parliament in 1928. Eight years in the making, it aroused considerable controversy, the Field Marshal's riding position, his uniform, the anatomy and stance of the horse all drawing harsh criticism. The inscription on the statue base reads 'Field Marshal Earl Haig Commander-in-Chief of the British Armies in France 1915–1918'.
Eland House is an office building on Bressenden Place in Westminster, London. It was designed by EPR Architects and built by Mowlem for Land Securities, and although finally completed in 1998, staff of the former Department of the Environment had moved in in late 1995/early 1996.
The Royal Society of British Artists (RBA) is a British art body established in 1823 as the Society of British Artists, as an alternative to the Royal Academy.
Queen Anne's Mansions was a block of flats in Petty France, Westminster, London at grid reference TQ296795. In 1873, Henry Alers Hankey acquired a site between St. James's Park and St. James Park Station. Acting as his own architect, and employing his own labour, he proceeded to erect the first stage of the block. At twelve stories, later increased to fourteen, it was the loftiest residential building in Britain.
22 Jermyn Street the site of several former hotels, including the Eyrie Mansion and an eponymously named luxury hotel in London, England. It is located in St James's in the centre of London's West End, 75 yards from Piccadilly Circus.
The Royal Ocean Racing Club is a gentleman's club in London. It was established in 1925 as the Ocean Racing Club, as a result of a race to the Fastnet Rock from Cowes, finishing in Plymouth. The RORC is the principal organiser of offshore yacht races in the United Kingdom, including the Fastnet Race, the Admiral's Cup and the Commodores' Cup. RORC was founded to encourage long distance yacht racing and the design, building and navigation of sailing vessels in which speed and seaworthiness are combined.
Hamilton Place, City of Westminster is a side street off Piccadilly close to Hyde Park Corner, London.
HMS St Vincent was a shore establishment of the Royal Navy, located in London during the 1990s.
The High Commission of Cyprus is the diplomatic mission of Cyprus in the United Kingdom. It is located on St James's Square next to the London Library and very close to Chatham House.
The Naval and Military Club, known informally as The In & Out, is a private members club located in St James's Square, London, originally for gentlemen of the British Armed Forces. It now accepts both female and male members.
Friary Court is a part of St James's Palace in London, England.
The House of Lords Library is the library and information resource of the House of Lords, the upper house of the Parliament of the United Kingdom. It provides Members of the House and their staff with books, Parliamentary material and reference and research services.
9 Downing Street is one of the buildings situated on Downing Street in the City of Westminster in London, England.
Altitude London is a collection of venues in the 387 ft (118 m)-high Millbank Tower, a skyscraper in central London. Covering over 30,000 sq ft (2,800 m2), of event space. Altitude 360 London, along with The River Room London, The MillBank Cinema & Media Centre and The View Collection make up London's largest riverside venue as well as London's largest venue located in a skyscraper. The concept and design was the brainchild of Hong Kong born entrepreneur Justin Etzin who is The Global Brand Owner. The venue was opened in three phases, with the first phase opened in September 2007 by the then Leader of the Opposition David Cameron, the second phase was opened by Mayor Boris Johnson and the final third phase opened in May 2010 by Prime Minister David Cameron.
The Big 4 is a sculpture made of steel bars located outside the headquarters of the Channel Four Television Corporation in London. It is designed to represent the logo of Channel 4 while providing a basis for a number of art installations. As of November 2012 seven installations have been made on the statue's steel framework, including those to coincide with the 2012 Summer Paralympics, covered with both newsprint and umbrellas, and a design to simulate the statue breathing.
Hungerford Hall was a lecture theatre built beside Hungerford Market near Charing Cross in London in 1851. It was used for public entertainments, including demonstrations of magic, mesmerism and optical illusions. It burned down in 1854, badly damaging the adjoining Hungerford Market.
St Stephen's Club was a private member's club in Westminster, London, founded in 1870.
The Anglo-Belgian Club (formerly the Royal Anglo-Belgian Club) was a private members' club located in Northumberland Avenue, London.
EEF, formerly the Engineering Employers' Federation, works with manufacturing, engineering and technology-based businesses in the UK.
The High Commission of Swaziland in London is the diplomatic mission of Swaziland in the United Kingdom.
Inner London is the name for the group of London boroughs which form the interior part of Greater London and are surrounded by Outer London. With its origins in the Bills of mortality, it became fixed as an area for statistics in 1847 and was used as an area of local government from 1855 to 1965 principally as the County of London or earlier as the Metropolitan Board of Works Area (metropolis). It now has two common definitions. The first is the statutory definition delineated in the London Government Act 1963, coming into force on 1 April 1965, comprising twelve Inner London boroughs and almost identical to the County of London that was abolished at the same time. The second is the current definition used by the Office for National Statistics comprising eleven of the statutory Inner London boroughs and two of the statutory Outer London boroughs, and the City of London.
The British Dam Society was established in London, UK, in 1965 and is a learned 'Associated Society' of the Institution of Civil Engineers and a registered charity in England and Wales (No. 1113476).
The High Commission of The Bahamas in London is the diplomatic mission of The Bahamas in the United Kingdom. It was first established in the 1970s.
The Embassy of Burundi in London is the diplomatic mission of Burundi in the United Kingdom. It is located in Uganda House, next to Admiralty Arch on Trafalgar Square; it shares the building with the High Commission of Uganda. There is no plaque or sign signifying that Uganda House also houses the Burundian embassy, the only sign of this being the flag flying above the building.
The British Geotechnical Association is a learned 'Associated Society' of the Institution of Civil Engineers, based in London, England, and a registered UK charity (No. 284131). It provides a focal point for organisations and individuals interested in geotechnical engineering.
The British Hydrological Society (BHS) was formed in 1983 to advance interest and scholarship in scientific and applied aspects of hydrology and encourage member involvement in relevant national and international professional activities, drawing its membership from academic (universities and research institutes) and operational sectors. It is a learned 'Associated Society' of the Institution of Civil Engineers, based in London, and a registered charity.
The High Commission of Papua New Guinea in London is the diplomatic mission of Papua New Guinea in the United Kingdom. In line with other Papuan diplomatic missions it is also referred to as Kundu London, after the traditional Papuan kundu drum. The High Commission was established in 1975, the year of Papua New Guinea's independence from Australia.
The House of Commons Library is the library and information resource of the lower house of the British Parliament. It was established in 1818, although its original 1828 construction was destroyed during the burning of Parliament in 1834.
Bath House in Piccadilly was the London residence of the Barons Ashburton in the 19th century. Formerly the site of the Pulteney Hotel, the property was acquired by Mr. Alexander Baring from William Pulteney, 1st Earl of Bath in 1821 and rebuilt and renamed after the Earl.
The High Commission of Nigeria in London is the diplomatic mission of Nigeria in the United Kingdom.
The Board of Invention and Research (BIR) was a British expert-level committee, initiated by the Admiralty of the Royal Navy. Established in 1915, the board was responsible for soliciting expert scientific assistance to solve tactical and technical problems.
The Embassy of Kazakhstan in London is the diplomatic mission of Kazakhstan in the United Kingdom. The embassy was formerly located in South Kensington before moving to its current location on Pall Mall in 2013.
The Embassy of Macedonia in London is the diplomatic mission of the Republic of Macedonia in the United Kingdom.
Canon Row Police Station in Canon Row, Westminster, was one of the Metropolitan Police's better known central London police stations and formed part of the New Scotland Yard building designed by Norman Shaw. The code for the station was "AD", police phonetic code "Alpha Delta".
The Clinical Practice Research Datalink (CPRD) is an observational and interventional research service that operates as part of the UK Department of Health. It is jointly funded by the National Institute for Health Research (NIHR) and the Medicines and Healthcare products Regulatory Agency (MHRA). CPRD is working closely with the extensive primary care, topic specific and comprehensive NIHR research networks and with NHS Digital.
The Carlton Hotel was a luxury hotel that operated from 1899 to 1940. It was designed by the architect C. J. Phipps as part of a larger development that included the rebuilding of Her Majesty's Theatre, which is adjacent to the hotel site. The Carlton was originally run by the Swiss hotelier César Ritz, with Auguste Escoffier as the head chef. In its early days it was one of London's most fashionable hotels and drew some customers away from the Savoy Hotel, which Ritz and Escoffier had previously managed.
The Proclamation Gallery is a part of St James's Palace in London, England. It is used after the death of a reigning monarch. The Accession Council meets to declare the new monarch from the deceased monarch's line. Once the monarch makes a sacred oath to the council, the Garter King of Arms steps onto the Proclamation Gallery, which overlooks Friary Court to announce the new monarch.
The Royal Archives, also known as the Queen's Archives, is a division of the Royal Household of the Sovereign of the United Kingdom. It is operationally under the control of the Keeper of the Royal Archives, who is customarily the Private Secretary to the Sovereign.
The British grave of The Unknown Warrior (often known as 'The Tomb of The Unknown Warrior') holds an unidentified British soldier killed on a European battlefield during the First World War. He was buried in Westminster Abbey, London on 11 November 1920, simultaneously with a similar interment of a French unknown soldier at the Arc de Triomphe in France, making both graves the first to honour the unknown dead of the First World War. It is the first example of a tomb of the Unknown Soldier.
The Carlton Theatre was a London West End cinema owned by Paramount Pictures and operated by them until 1954 when it was leased to Twentieth Century Fox as their West End showcase for CinemaScope films. Significant productions were Lady Luck by Frith Shephard in 1927 and Bitter Sweet by Noël Coward, 1933.
The Civil Service Club is a London social club, founded in 1953, for current and former members of the UK civil service.
The Parliamentary Archives of the United Kingdom preserves and makes available to public the records of the House of Lords and House of Commons back to 1497, as well as some 200 other collections of Parliamentary interest. The present title was officially adopted in November 2006, as a change from the previous title, House of Lords Record Office.
The Social Market Foundation (SMF) is an independent British public policy think-tank based in Westminster, London. It is one of the 'Top 12 Think Tanks in Britain' and was named 'UK Think Tank of the Year' by Prospect in 2012. Its purpose is to "advance the education of the public in the economic, social and political sciences" and to "champion ideas that marry a pro-market orientation with concern for social justice". Policy ideas are based on the concept of the social market economy.
Thorney Island was the eyot (or small island) on the Thames, upstream of medieval London, where Westminster Abbey and the Palace of Westminster (commonly known today as the Houses of Parliament) were built. It was formed by rivulets of the River Tyburn, which entered the Thames nearby. In Roman times (and presumably before), Thorney Island may have been part of a natural ford where what was later called Watling Street crossed the Thames, of particular importance before the construction of London Bridge.
Sadie Coles HQ is a contemporary art gallery in London, owned and directed by Sadie Coles. The gallery focuses on presenting the work of established and emerging international artists. It was at the forefront of the Young British Artists movement.
Pembroke House, located on Whitehall, was the London residence of the earls of Pembroke.
The President, Council and Fellows of the Royal Society of London for Improving Natural Knowledge, commonly known as the Royal Society, is a learned society. Founded in November 1660, it was granted a royal charter by King Charles II as "The Royal Society". It is the oldest national scientific institution in the world. The society is the United Kingdom's and Commonwealth of Nations' Academy of Sciences and fulfils a number of roles: promoting science and its benefits, recognising excellence in science, supporting outstanding science, providing scientific advice for policy, fostering international and global co-operation, education and public engagement.
The Royal United Services Institute for Defence and Security Studies (RUSI), sometimes still referred to by its pre-2004 name, the Royal United Services Institution, is a British defence and security think tank. It was founded in 1831 by the Duke of Wellington, Sir Arthur Wellesley.. RUSI is an independent, non-government and non-partisan organisation registered with the UK's Charity Commission.
The Savage Club, founded in 1857, is a gentlemen's club in London. An associated Masonic lodge was established in 1887.
Millbank Prison was a prison in Millbank, Pimlico, London, originally constructed as the National Penitentiary, and which for part of its history served as a holding facility for convicted prisoners before they were transported to Australia. It was opened in 1816 and closed in 1890.
The Henry VII Lady Chapel, now more often known just as the Henry VII Chapel, is a large Lady chapel at the far eastern end of Westminster Abbey, paid for by the will of Henry VII. It is separated from the rest of the abbey by brass gates and a flight of stairs.
The Attorney General's Office (AGO) is a United Kingdom government department that supports the Attorney General and his deputy, the Solicitor General (the Law Officers). It is sometimes referred to as the Legal Secretariat to the Law Officers.
The British Ministry of Defence Architecture Framework (MODAF) is an architecture framework which defines a standardised way of conducting enterprise architecture, originally developed by the UK Ministry of Defence.
The Global Warming Policy Foundation (GWPF) is a think tank in the United Kingdom, whose stated aims are to challenge "extremely damaging and harmful policies" envisaged by governments to mitigate anthropogenic global warming. While their position is that the science of global warming or climate change is "not yet settled," the GWPF claims that its membership comes from a broad spectrum ranging from "the IPCC position through agnosticism to outright scepticism." The GWPF as well as some of its prominent members have been characterized as promoting climate change denial.
The Canadian Pacific Building at 62–65 Trafalgar Square (formerly 62–65 Charing Cross) is an office building in Westminster in London, England. It was constructed as the London offices of the Canadian Pacific Railway Company and its affiliated steamship line (CP Ships), hotel chain (Canadian Pacific Hotels) and other subsidiary companies. It is faced with Portland stone and features prominent CANADIAN PACIFIC signage and a small clock tower.
The Eurovision Song Contest 1960 was the fifth edition of the Eurovision Song Contest. It was held on Tuesday 29 March 1960 in London. Although the Netherlands had won the contest in 1959, the Netherlands Television Foundation declined to host another contest so soon after staging the event in 1958. The honour of hosting the contest therefore passed to the United Kingdom, which had come second in 1959. Therefore, the BBC chose Catherine Boyle (as she was then known) to be the mistress of ceremonies at the contest for the first time. France's win this year was their second in the contest. The contest was won by France with the song "Tom Pillibi", performed by Jacqueline Boyer, who at 18 years and 341 days of age, became the first teenager and the youngest artist yet to win the contest.
The statue of James Outram, a work by Matthew Noble, stands on Victoria Embankment Gardens in London, south of Hungerford Bridge. It is a Grade II listed structure.
79 Pall Mall is a grade II listed building in Pall Mall, London. It was designed by David Brandon for the Eagle Insurance Company in 1866–68. There formerly stood on the site a brick townhouse occupied by Nell Gwyn after her retirement from the stage and a blue plaque notes the fact.
Vauxhall glassworks was a plate glass factory off what is now the Albert Embankment in the Vauxhall area of Lambeth, London, just to the north of Vauxhall Gardens. The site is now commemorated in the name of Glasshouse Walk.
1 Palace Street is a 302,377 sq ft (28,091.7 m2) development on Palace Street in Victoria, London, opposite Buckingham Palace.
Horse and Rider (FCR 242) is a 1974 bronze equestrian sculpture by Elisabeth Frink. The work was commissioned for a site in Mayfair; another cast is in Winchester. It was described by Frink as "an ageless symbol of man and horse".
The Diana Fountain, also known as Diana of the Treetops, is a fountain and statue by Jim Clack that stands in Green Park. The park and statue are located within the boundaries of the City of Westminster in central London.
The statue of Florence Nightingale is an outdoor Grade II-listed sculpture in London, United Kingdom. It was sculpted in 1915 by Arthur George Walker, and is a subsidiary part of the Guards Crimean War Memorial.
Two Chairmen is thought to be the oldest public house in Westminster. Its pub sign, featuring two men carrying a sedan chair, can be traced back to 1729. The pub is near Birdcage Walk, where James I had aviaries for exotic birds, and close to St. James's Park tube station. It has been called 'The hidden gem of Dartmouth Street' by The London Evening Standard.
The Westminster Archives Centre is the archive centre for the City of Westminster, London, located at 10 St Ann's Street, London SW1P 2DE England.
89 Albert Embankment (informally known as Charity Towers) is a landmark building in Vauxhall on the River Thames in London. It is home to various British charities such as Comic Relief and Macmillan Cancer Support.
Goose-Pie House was a small English Baroque house built by John Vanbrugh in Whitehall, London, in 1701. The house was demolished in 1898. The site now lies under the southeast corner of the Old War Office Building on Whitehall, near the Gurkha Memorial statue on Horse Guards Avenue.
The statue of Sir Wilfrid Lawson (1829–1906) is an outdoor sculpture by David McGill, installed in Victoria Embankment Gardens in London, United Kingdom. The monument's allegorical sculptures depicting Charity, Fortitude, Peace, and Temperance were stolen in 1979.
The equestrian statue of Prince George, Duke of Cambridge is a life-size memorial by Adrian Jones, installed in Whitehall, London.
The statue of Mahatma Gandhi in Parliament Square, Westminster, London, is a work by the sculptor Philip Jackson.
The Honours Committee is a committee within the Cabinet Office of the Government of the United Kingdom formed to review nominations for national honours for merit, exceptional achievement or service. Twice yearly the Honours Committee submits formal recommendations for the British monarch's New Years and Birthday Honours. Members of the Honours Committee—which comprises a main committee and nine subcommittees in speciality areas—research and vet nominations for national awards, including knighthoods and the Order of the British Empire.
A Conversation with Oscar Wilde is an outdoor sculpture by Maggi Hambling in central London. Unveiled in 1998, it is the first public monument dedicated to Oscar Wilde outside his native Ireland. It takes the form of a bench-like green granite sarcophagus, with a bust of Wilde emerging from the upper end, with a hand clasping a cigarette.
A memorial to the British soldiers in the Korean War was unveiled in Victoria Embankment Gardens, between the River Thames and the Ministry of Defence headquarters in London, England, in December 2014. The memorial, a bronze statue of a British soldier by the sculptor Philip Jackson, with a Portland stone obelisk on a Welsh slate base, was a gift from the Government of South Korea and was unveiled in a ceremony led by Prince Richard, Duke of Gloucester.
The Suffragette Memorial is an outdoor bronze cast sculpture, commemorating the individuals who fought for Women's suffrage in the United Kingdom, and is located in the north-west corner of Christchurch Gardens, Victoria, London. The sculptor was Edwin Russell and the statue was unveiled in 1970.
The Bali Bombings Memorial is a permanent memorial in central London to victims of the 2002 bombings in Bali, Indonesia. It was designed by Gary Breeze and the carving was undertaken by Martin Cook and Gary Breeze. It was unveiled on 12 October 2006, the fourth anniversary of the bombings, by the Prince of Wales and the Duchess of Cornwall, at a ceremony attended by relatives and friends of the 28 British victims.
The UK Holocaust Memorial is a planned memorial to the victims of the Holocaust that is intended to be built in the southern part of Victoria Tower Gardens in London, United Kingdom, close to the Houses of Parliament. The memorial is intended to honour the Jewish victims of the Holocaust and all other victims of Nazi persecution, including Roma, LGBT, and disabled people.
The Cádiz Memorial, also known as the "Prince Regent's Bomb", is an early 19th-century French mortar mounted on a brass monster, located in Horse Guards Parade in Westminster, London. It was first "exposed to public view" on 12 August 1816 and has been classified as a Grade II listed building since 1 December 1987. The monument was a feature of many satirical verses and cartoons in the early 19th century, mainly because the word "bomb" – pronounced "bum" – gave it an immediate association with the notoriously profligate Prince Regent's sizeable backside.
Boadicea and Her Daughters is a bronze sculptural group in London featuring Boudica, queen of the Celtic Iceni tribe who led an uprising in Roman Britain. It is located to the north side of the western end of Westminster Bridge, near Portcullis House and Westminster Pier, facing Big Ben and the Palace of Westminster across the road. It is considered the magnum opus of its sculptor, the English artist and engineer Thomas Thornycroft. Thornycroft worked on it from 1856 until shortly before his death in 1885, sometimes assisted by his son William Hamo Thornycroft, but it was not erected in its current position until 1902.
The statue of Benjamin Disraeli is an outdoor bronze sculpture by Mario Raggi, located at Parliament Square in London, United Kingdom. Installed in 1883, it features a bronze statue on a red granite plinth. The memorial is located at the west side of the square, facing the Houses of Parliament, and is Grade II-listed.
The statue of the Duke of Devonshire is a Grade II-listed outdoor bronze sculpture of Spencer Cavendish, 8th Duke of Devonshire, the leader of three British political parties between 1875 and 1903, and is located at the entrance to Horse Guards Avenue, Whitehall, London, England. A work of the sculptor Herbert Hampton, it was unveiled in 1911.
The Holbein Gate was a monumental gateway across Whitehall in Westminster, constructed in 1531-2 in the English Gothic style. The Holbein Gate and a second less ornate gate, Westminster Gate, were constructed by Henry VIII to connect parts of the Tudor Palace of Whitehall to the east and west of the road. It was one of two substantial parts of the Palace of Whitehall to survive a catastrophic fire in January 1698, the other being Inigo Jones's classical Banqueting House. The Holbein Gate was described by Thomas Pennant as "the most beautiful gate at Whitehall". It was demolished in 1759.
A bronze statue of Admiral of the Fleet Louis Mountbatten, 1st Earl Mountbatten of Burma is located on Mountbatten Green, off Horse Guards Road, Whitehall, London, England. The sculptor was Franta Belsky and the work was unveiled in 1983.
Canada Gate forms part of the Queen Victoria Memorial scheme in London. An entrance to the Green Park, one of the four Royal Parks in central London, the gate was presented to London by Canada (then the senior Dominion of the British Empire) as part of a vast memorial scheme dedicated to Queen Victoria, who died in 1901.
The Ministry of Defence Main Building or MOD Main Building also known as MOD Whitehall or originally as the Whitehall Gardens Building, is a grade I listed government office building located on Whitehall in London. The building was designed by E. Vincent Harris in 1915 and constructed between 1939 and 1959 on the site of the Palace of Whitehall. It was initially occupied by the Air Ministry and the Board of Trade before in 1964 becoming the current home of the Ministry of Defence.
26 St James's Place is a grade II* listed block of flats in St James's Place, St James's, London W1.
Childhood Domestic Violence Association is a nonprofit organization dedicated to help children of domestic violence. The organization was formerly named the Makers of Memories Foundation.
The Monument to the Women of World War II is a British national war memorial situated on Whitehall in London, to the north of the Cenotaph. It was sculpted by John W. Mills, unveiled by Queen Elizabeth II and dedicated by Baroness Boothroyd in July 2005.
Starkers! is a monthly naked club night in London since 2003. It says it is the first and only regular night of its kind in England not segregated by gender and open to adults of all ages and sexual orientation. The dress code stipulates both men and women undress except for footwear, required for safety. The undress code extends to most staff.
The Members' Lobby is a hallway in the Palace of Westminster used by members of the House of Commons, the lower house of the Parliament of the United Kingdom. Members of Parliament may congregate here for discussions while not dealing with other business.
The Memorial Gates are a war memorial located at the Hyde Park Corner end of Constitution Hill in London. Also known as the Commonwealth Memorial Gates, they commemorate the armed forces of the British Empire from five regions of the Indian subcontinent (India, Pakistan, Bangladesh, Nepal and Sri Lanka), as well as Africa and the Caribbean, who served for Britain in the First and Second World Wars.
The Pall Mall Restaurant was a hostelry situated at Number 1 Cockspur Street, Westminster, London, just off Pall Mall and near Trafalgar Square. The site was subsequently the offices of the White Star Line, and was then occupied by a Tex Mex restaurant, the Texas Embassy Cantina. Currently the site is unused.
The St James's Club was a London gentlemen's club which operated between 1857 and 1978.
The Venue was a live music club at 160–162 Victoria Street, London, England, owned by Virgin Records. It opened its doors on 1 November 1978 and operated until 1984. The first act to play there was Graham Parker and The Rumour, followed by the last live performances by Alex Harvey before his death. Todd Rundgren played some dates there just before Christmas in 1978, as part of the tour to back up the Back to the Bars album; released for the Christmas market, at the time. Two shows were sometimes played per night, and the ambience was akin to a nightclub, where audience members sat at tables and could have drinks and meals while listening to the acts. It was also popular for use by record companies showcasing new signings to the music media.
Dartmouth House is a Georgian house in Mayfair, central London, England. It now acts at the headquarters for the English-Speaking Union (ESU), an educational charity. It is located at 37 Charles Street, southwest off Berkeley Square. Over 40,000 people use the building each year.
The Painted Chamber was part of the medieval Palace of Westminster. It was gutted by fire in 1834, and has been described as "perhaps the greatest artistic treasure lost in the fire". The room was re-roofed and re-furnished to be used temporarily by the House of Lords until 1847, and it was demolished in 1851.
The Paris Theatre (also known as the Paris Studios) was a former cinema located at 12 Lower Regent Street in central London that was converted into a theatre by the BBC for radio broadcasts. It was used for several decades by the BBC as the main venue for comedy programmes requiring an audience broadcast on BBC Radios 2 and 4.
Tramp is a private, members-only nightclub located on Jermyn Street in central London, England. Founded in 1969 by Johnny Gold with Oscar Lerman and Bill Ofner (Luishek), Tramp is considered to be one of the most exclusive members' clubs in the world and is a regular haunt for celebrities. It was sold by founder Gold in 2003.
The City and Liberty of Westminster was a unit of local government in the county of Middlesex, England. It was located immediately to the west of the City of London. Originally under the control of Westminster Abbey, the local authority for the area was the Westminster Court of Burgesses from 1585 to 1900. The area now forms the southern part of the City of Westminster in Greater London.
The Close of the Collegiate Church of St Peter was an extra-parochial area, and later civil parish, in the metropolitan area of London, England. It corresponded to the area of Westminster Abbey and was an enclave between the parishes of St Margaret and St John, within the City and Liberty of Westminster.
Keith's Chapel also known as Mr Keith's Chapel and the May Fair Chapel, was a private chapel in Curzon Street, Mayfair, London, operated by the 18th century Church of England clergyman Alexander Keith.
St Stephen's Chapel, sometimes called the Royal Chapel of St Stephen, was a chapel in the old Palace of Westminster which served as the chamber of the House of Commons of England and that of Great Britain from 1547 to 1834. It was largely destroyed in the fire of 1834, but the Chapel of St Mary Undercroft in the crypt survived.
Little Dean's Yard, known to Westminster School just as Yard, is a private gated yard at the heart of the school, within the precincts of the ancient monastery of Westminster.
The Marsham Towers were three towers at the corner of Marsham Street and Great Peter Street in Westminster, London. They served as the headquarters of the Department of the Environment.
College Garden is a private garden of Westminster Abbey in London, open to the public every Tuesday, Wednesday and Thursday afternoon throughout the year. The hours are 10 am - 6 pm in summer and 10 am to 4 pm in winter. The Garden can be visited separately from the Abbey and no charge is made to visit the Garden alone. While visiting College Garden, it is also possible to visit the Little Cloister Garden, a small garden with a fountain in the cloisters, and St Catherine's Garden which is in the ruins of the old monastic infirmary. Probably the best time to visit the gardens is in the spring.
The Council of India was the name given at different times to two separate bodies associated with British rule in India.
The London Street Commune was a movement formed during the 1960s in London. The main aim of the movement was to highlight concerns about rising levels of homelessness. They famously took control of, and were evicted from, a mansion at 144 Piccadilly in 1969, in a high-profile Metropolitan Police operation.
The Horseferry Road drill hall is a military installation in Horseferry Road, London.
The Tufton Street drill hall is a former a military installation in Westminster, London.
The Queen Alexandra Memorial on Marlborough Road, London, which commemorates Queen Alexandra of Denmark, was executed by the sculptor Sir Alfred Gilbert between 1926 and 1932. It consists of a bronze screen incorporating allegorical figures, set into the garden wall of Marlborough House. A late example of a work in the Art Nouveau style, it was regarded by the sculptor as his "Swan song".
The Queen Eleanor Memorial Cross is a memorial to Eleanor of Castile erected in the forecourt of Charing Cross railway station, London, in 1864–1865. It is a fanciful reconstruction of the medieval Eleanor cross at Charing, one of several memorial crosses erected by Edward I of England in memory of his first wife. The Victorian monument was designed by Edward Middleton Barry, also the architect of the railway station, and includes multiple statues of Queen Eleanor by the sculptor Thomas Earp. It does not occupy the original site of the Charing Cross (destroyed in 1647), which is now occupied by Hubert Le Sueur's equestrian statue of Charles I.
The Representative of the Falkland Islands in London is the diplomatic mission of the British Overseas Territory of the Falkland Islands in the United Kingdom, also referred to as Falkland House. It was opened in 1983, one year after the Falklands War.
The Representative of Bermuda in London is the diplomatic mission of the British Overseas Territory of Bermuda in the United Kingdom. It is located in a multi-use office building in St James's which also houses the Representative of the Cayman Islands. Unlike most diplomatic missions there is no flag or plaque indicating its existence, only a small label on the door-buzzer.
The Office of the World Bank in London is the diplomatic mission of the World Bank Group in the United Kingdom. It is located in the Millbank Tower, a well-known landmark just south of Westminster.
The Representative of the European Union (specifically the Representative of the European Commission and the Representative of the European Parliament) in London are the diplomatic missions of the European Commission and the European Parliament in the United Kingdom.
The Nine British Art (formerly Paisnel Gallery) is a private art gallery in St James's, central London, England.
The Buckingham Gate drill halls were military installations at 58 and 59 Buckingham Gate, London.
The Woolsack is the seat of the Lord Speaker in the House of Lords, the Upper House of the Parliament of the United Kingdom.
The Royal Institution of Chartered Surveyors (RICS) is a professional body that accredits professionals within the land, property, construction, and infrastructure sectors worldwide.
Vincent Square is a large grass-covered square in Westminster, London, England, covering 13 acres. It provides playing fields for Westminster School, which privately owns it.
The Government Equalities Office (GEO) is part of the Department for International Development (DfID) of HM Government. It was created in October 2007 when the Women and Equality Unit, based within the Department for Communities and Local Government was converted into an independent department. The department was subsequently merged into the Home Office, before transferring to the DCMS on 4 September 2012 following a Cabinet reshuffle. In July 2014, it was transferred to the Department for Education in that Cabinet reshuffle. In January 2018, the Equalities Office was returned to the Home Office under the leadership of Amber Rudd. Since April it has been transferred to the Department for International Development under the leadership of Penny Mordaunt. Its current director is Hilary Spencer.
The East India Club, is a gentlemen's club founded in 1849 and situated at 16 St. James's Square in London. The full title of the club is the East India, Devonshire, Sports and Public Schools' Club due to historic mergers with other clubs.
50 St James's Street is a grade II listed house in St James's Street, St James's, London SW1, opposite White's Club.
Gatehouse Prison was a prison in Westminster, built in 1370 as the gatehouse of Westminster Abbey. It was first used as a prison by the Abbot, a powerful churchman who held considerable power over the precincts and sanctuary. It was one of the prisons which supplied the Old Bailey with information on former prisoners (such as their identity or prior criminal records) for making indictments against criminals
Brooks's is a gentlemen's club in St James's Street, London. It is one of the oldest gentlemen's clubs in London.
4 Cowley Street is a Grade II listed house in Westminster, London SW1.
The University Women's Club, formerly the University Club for Ladies, is a British private members club founded in 1883. As the popular gentlemen's clubs did not accept any women as members, its creation was intended to provide an equivalent club accessible to women. By its own definition, it is a club for "graduate and professional women of varied backgrounds and interests". Members include lawyers, scientists, writers and musicians, as well as businesswomen.
The United University Club was a London gentlemen's club, founded in 1821. It occupied the purpose-built University Club House, at 1, Suffolk Street, London, England, from 1826 until 1971.
The Visitors' Gallery, formally known as the Strangers' Gallery, is set aside for members of the public at the British House of Commons, and is intended for both invited and uninvited members of the public to watch the proceedings of the House. A similar gallery exists in the House of Lords. Members of the public may obtain tickets from their Member of Parliament. It is possible to queue outside St Stephen's Tower and be admitted to the gallery without booking, especially on Fridays, however during popular debates it will be nearly impossible to obtain a place without booking. The name refers to the traditional use of the term strangers to refer to those present in Parliament that are neither members nor staff.
Tothill Fields Bridewell (also known as Tothill Fields Prison and Westminster Bridewell) was a prison located in the Westminster area of central London between 1618 and 1884. It was named "Bridewell" after the Bridewell Palace, which during the 16th century had become one of the City of London's most important prisons. Tothill Fields later became the Westminster House of Correction.
The High Commission of Uganda in London is the diplomatic mission of Uganda in the United Kingdom. It is located in Uganda House, next to Admiralty Arch on Trafalgar Square; it shares the building with the Embassy of Burundi.